Repository for notices under section 12 of An Act Respecting First Nations, Inuit And Métis children, youth and families

Contact information for Indigenous governing bodies and provincial and territorial service providers.

On this page

About the repository

Section 12(1) of An Act Respecting First Nations, Inuit and Metis children, youth and families (the Act) states that:

In the context of providing child and family services in relation to an Indigenous child, to the extent that doing so is consistent with the best interests of the child, before taking any significant measure in relation to the child, the service provider must provide notice of the measure to the child’s parent and the care provider, as well as to the Indigenous governing body that acts on behalf of the Indigenous group, community or people to which the child belongs and that has informed the service provider that they are acting on behalf of that Indigenous group, community or people.

Definition of an Indigenous governing body in the Act

The definition of an Indigenous governing body in the Act is "a council, government or other entity that is authorized to act on behalf of an Indigenous group, community or people that holds rights recognized and affirmed by section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982".

Purpose of the repository

The purpose of the repository is to house a publicly available list of contact information for Indigenous governing bodies that have informed Indigenous Services Canada (ISC) directly that they are authorized by an Indigenous group, community or people to receive notice from service providers for the purposes of section 12 of the Act.

A centralized repository can assist service providers to identify an authorized Indigenous governing body that will be receiving notice of a significant measure taken for an Indigenous child, pursuant to section 12 of the Act.

The repository is a tool to support the implementation of section 12 of the Act. The repository will not list every Indigenous governing body across Canada that has reached out to its service providers in Canada, rather it is for Indigenous governing bodies that wish to be listed. There is no requirement for an Indigenous governing body to send ISC this information.

Note that an Indigenous governing body authorized by an Indigenous group, community or people to receive notice for the purposes of section 12 of the Act does not mean that this same Indigenous governing body is authorized to establish a coordination agreement discussion.

Submit information for publication in the repository

An Indigenous group, community or people can submit the name of their Indigenous governing body authorized to receive notices by email to sac.sefreforme-cfsreform.isc@canada.ca.

Note that the repository does not replace the obligation for the service provider to notify the Indigenous governing body. If you wish to have your Indigenous governing body included in this repository, send the information to the above address once you have informed your service provider.

Updates and changes to the repository

Once received, new or updated information will appear in the repository as soon as feasible. ISC reserves the right to adjust the display of the repository over time as per recommendations made by Indigenous, provincial and territorial partners. If an Indigenous governing body is no longer authorized by an Indigenous group, community or people to receive notice for the purposes of section 12 of the Act, the Indigenous governing body should notify ISC and the relevant service provider as soon as possible, so that their contact information can be removed from the website.

Disclaimer

This disclaimer is in regard to the repository of Indigenous governing bodies for the purposes of section 12 of the Act:

Pursuant to section 12 of the Act, service providers must provide a notice of significant measures in relation to a child belonging to an Indigenous group, community or people to those that assert they are an Indigenous governing body as defined in the Act, and who has informed the service provider that they are acting on behalf of that Indigenous group, community or people.

Despite the existence of the repository on the Indigenous Services Canada website, in order for an Indigenous governing body to receive section 12 notice from a service provider, it will still need to inform the relevant service provider that it is acting on behalf of the Indigenous group, community or people to which the Indigenous child in question belongs. The Indigenous governing body should also provide the service provider with accurate and regularly updated contact information.

If an Indigenous governing body is no longer authorized by an Indigenous group, community or people to receive notice for the purposes of section 12 of the Act, the Indigenous governing body should notify Indigenous Services Canada and the relevant service provider as soon as possible.

The information in this repository is not intended to:

  • serve as a list of which Indigenous governing bodies have provided notice under subsection 20(1) of the Act of their intention to exercise legislative authority in relation to child and family services;
  • serve as a list of which Indigenous governing bodies have made a request under subsection 20(2) of the Act to enter into a coordination agreement in relation to the exercise of such legislative authority;
  • express a position on whether an Indigenous group, community or people holds a right or rights recognized and affirmed by section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982; or,
  • confirm that an Indigenous governing body is authorized by an Indigenous group, community or people to act on its behalf for the purposes of section 12 of the Act.

Repository

The repository contains:

Changes to this information should be sent to ISC.

Name of the Indigenous governing body Province or territory of Indigenous governing body Indigenous group, community or people Date notice was received Contact information
Island Lake Anishininew Nation Manitoba Island Lake First Nations July 31, 2020 maclarke@iltc.ca
Lake Babine Nation British Columbia Lake Babine Nation February 10, 2020 To be confirmed
Manitoba Keewatinowi Okimakanak Inc. (MKO) Child Welfare Secretariat (CWS) Manitoba Shamattawa First Nation October 9, 2020 cws@mkonorth.com
(204) 500-0205 or 1-800-442-0488
www.mkonation.com/advocacy-areas/child-welfare-secreatariat
Manitoba Métis Federation Manitoba Manitoba Métis Federation March 3, 2020 cfci-notice@mmf.mb.ca
McLeod Lake Indian Band British Columbia McLeod Lake Indian Band July 5, 2021 familytherapist@mlib.ca
Opaskwayak Cree Nation Manitoba Opaskwayak Cree Nation November 10, 2020 intakeadmin@ocncfs.ca
Pinaymootang First Nation Chief and Council Manitoba Pinaymootang First Nation May 13, 2021 To be confirmed
Sagkeeng First Nation Chief and Council Manitoba Sakgeeng First Nation August 13, 2020 chiefandcouncil@sakgeeng.ca
Simpcw First Nation Chief and Council British Columbia Simpcw First Nation January 27, 2022 administration@simpcw.com
Sioux Valley Dakota Nation Chief and Council Manitoba Sioux Valley Dakota Nation February 4, 2020 carol.mckay@svdngovernance.com
Tsilhqot'in National Government British Columbia
  • Tsilhqot'in National Government:Tl’esqox (Toosey)
  • ʔEsdilagh First Nation
  • Xeni Gwet’in First Nations Government
  • Yuneŝit’in Government
  • Tŝideldel First Nation
February 15, 2022 RRacette@tsilhqotin.ca
West Moberly First Nations Chief and Council British Columbia West Moberly First Nations February 7, 2022 To be confirmed
Peguis First Nation Manitoba Peguis First Nation To be confirmed Clemene Hornbrook
clemene.hornbrook@peguiscfs.org
(204) 645-2049
www.peguiscfs.ca

Key provincial and territorial contacts

Below is a list of key contact information for provinces and territories. The purpose of the list is to help Indigenous governing bodies inform service providers that they are acting on behalf of an Indigenous group, community or people for the purposes of section 12 of the Act.

Note that provinces and territories may choose to maintain their own repositories of Indigenous governing bodies delegated to receive notices from service providers. ISC will work with provinces and territories to ensure that these repositories align as best as possible.

The Government of Canada is not to be held responsible for inaccurate information contained in this list of key provincial and territorial contacts.

Province or territory Children's Aid Society (Society) Executive Director (ED) ED - Email Executive Assistant (EA) EA - Email
BC Ministry of Children and Family Development Denise Devenny, Associate Deputy Minister denise.devenny@gov.bc.ca To be confirmed To be confirmed
NB Mi’gmaq Child and Family Services Samantha Paul samantha.paul2@gnb.ca To be confirmed To be confirmed
NF Innu Roundtable Prevention Services Germaine Benuen gbenuen@irtsec.ca To be confirmed To be confirmed
NS Kwilmu’kw Maw-klusuaqn (KMK) Janice Maloney ed@mikmaqrights.com To be confirmed To be confirmed
ON Ontario Association of Children’s Aid Societies Nicole Bonnie (Chief Executive Officer) nbonnie@oacas.org Kalesha Peters kpeters@oacas.org
ON The Association of Native Child and Family Service Agencies of Ontario Micheal Miller mmiller@ancfsao.ca Eva Medeiros emedeiros@ancfsao.ca
ON Anishinaabe Abinoojii Family Services Barry Smith barry.smith@aafs.ca Anne Perrault anne.perrault@aafs.ca
ON Dilico Anishinabek Family Care Darcia Borg darciaborg@dilico.com Kylie Moffatt kyliemoffatt@dilico.com
ON Kenora-Rainy River Districts Child and Family Services Bill Leonard bill.leonard@krrcfs.ca Mary Ann Reimer maryann.reimer@krrcfs.ca
ON Children’s Aid Society of the District of Sudbury & Manitoulin Elaina Groves elaina.groves@casdsm.on.ca Joline Gaudette joline.gaudette@casdsm.on.ca
ON Children’s Aid Society of the District of Thunder Bay Carmela Hardy carmela.hardy@thunderbaycas.ca Linda Molenda linda.molenda@thunderbaycas.ca
ON Tikinagan Child & Family Services Thelma Morris TikExecDir@tikinagan.org Anne Morgan annem@tikinagan.org
ON Weechi-it-te-win Family Services Laurie Rose lj.rose@weechi.ca Candace Morrisseau candace.morrisseau@weechi.ca
ON Children's Aid Society for the Districts of Nipissing and Parry Sound Gisèle Hébert gisele.hebert@parnipcas.org Brogan Snider brogan.snider@parnipcas.org
ON Payukotayno: James and Hudson Bay Family Services Irene Tomatuk irene.tomatuk@payukotayno.ca Dolores Sutherland Dolores.Sutherland@Payukotayno.ca
ON Nogdawindamin Family and Community Services Kerry Francis kfrancis@nog.ca Pamela Keeshig pkeeshig@nog.ca
ON North Eastern Ontario Family and Children's Services (Can correspond in French) Cleo Charlebois cleo.charlebois@neofacs.org Louise Larose louise.larose@neofacs.org
ON Kunuwanimano Child and Family Services Shirley Gillis-Kendall shirley.gillis-kendall@kunuwanimano.com Jessie St. Jean jessie.st.jean@kunuwanimano.com
ON Kina Gbezhgomi Child and Family Services Denise Morrow dmorrow@kgcfs.org Heidi Krieger hkrieger@kgcfs.org
ON Niijaansinaanik Child and Family Services Joanne Koehler joanne.koehler@niijcfs.com Jennifer Ellis jennifer.ellis@niijcfs.com
ON Child and Family Services of Grand Erie Sally Johnson sally.johnson@cfsge.ca Nancy Dolson nancy.dolson@cfsge.ca
ON Children's Aid Society of Hamilton Bryan Shone bshone@hamiltoncas.com Lisa Wedmann LWedmann@hamiltoncas.com
ON Catholic Children's Aid Society of Hamilton Rocco Gizzarelli rocco.gizzarelli@hamiltonccas.on.ca Kristin Prince gail.gray@hamiltonccas.on.ca
ON Family and Children's Services Niagara Anna Bozza anna.bozza@facsniagara.on.ca Meagan O'Reilly meagan.oreilly@facsniagara.on.ca
ON Bruce Grey Child and Family Services Julie Lipsett julie.lipsett@bgcfs.ca Kim Fleming kim.fleming@bgcfs.ca
ON Chatham-Kent Children's Services Teri Thomas-Vanos teri.thomas-vanos@ckcs.on.ca Lisa Reaume lisa.reaume@ckcs.on.ca
ON Family and Children's Services of St. Thomas and Elgin Brian Flint bflint@caselgin.on.ca Neil Hubert nhubert@caselgin.on.ca
ON Huron-Perth Children's Aid Society Kristian Wilson kristianwilson@h-pcas.ca Angela Simpson angelasimpson@h-pcas.ca
ON Children's Aid Society of London and Middlesex Chris Steven chris.steven@caslondon.on.ca Lee Ann Waton lee-ann.watson@caslondon.on.ca
ON Children's Aid Society of Oxford County Tina Diamond tdiamond@casoxford.on.ca Pepper Shaxon pshaxon@casoxford.on.ca
ON Sarnia-Lambton Children's Aid Society Dawn Flegel dflegel@slcas.on.ca Nicole Hillier nhillier@slcas.on.ca
ON Windsor-Essex Children's Aid Society Derrick Drouillard ddrouillard@wecas.on.ca Nina Lue Pann nluepann@wecas.on.ca
ON Six Nations of the Grand River (Ogwadeni:deo) Karen Hill OGD@sixnations.ca Kristen Staats ogwreceptionist@sixnations.ca
ON Family and Children's Services of Guelph and Wellington County Sheila Markle sheila.markle@fcsgw.org Candace Hurlock candace.hurlock@fcsgw.org
ON Halton Children's Aid Society Janice Robinson

Lyn Barker delegate
lbarker@haltoncas.ca Robyn Connolly rconnolly@haltoncas.ca
ON Children's Aid Society of the Region of Peel (Can correspond in French) Mary Beth Moellenkamp (CEO) Mmoellenkamp@peelcas.org Shemina Virjee svirjee@peelcas.org
ON Family and Children's Services of the Waterloo Region Karen Spencer karen.spencer@facswaterloo.org April Moore april.moore@facswaterloo.org
ON Dufferin Child and Family Services Jennifer Moore jennifer.moore@dcafs.on.ca Kristi Bhogal kristi.bhogal@dcafs.on.ca
ON Child and Family Services of York Region Ginelle Skerritt (CEO) ginelles@yorkcas.org Marcelline Ramcharan MarciR@yorkcas.org
ON Simcoe Muskoka Child, Youth and Family Services Geraldine Dooley-Phillips geraldine.dooley-phillips@familyconnexions.ca Kristina Stewart kristina.stewart@familyconnexions.ca
ON Durham Children's Aid Society Steven Woodman steve.woodman@durhamcas.ca Susan McNeil susan.mcneil@durhamcas.ca
ON Kawartha-Haliburton Children's Aid Society Jennifer McLaughlan jennifer.mcLauchlan@khcas.on.ca Amy OConnell amy.oconnell@khcas.on.ca
ON Family and Children's Services of Frontenac, Lennox and Addington Sonia Gentile sonia.gentile@facsfla.ca Christine Power christine.power@facsfla.ca
ON Akwesasne Child and Family Services - Mohawk Council Joseph Morin-Lauzon joseph.morin-lauzon@akwesasne.ca Lisa Benedict lisa.benadict@akwesasne.ca
ON Children's Aid Society of the United Counties of Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry Rachel Daigneault rachel.daigneault@cwcas.ca Lori Loseth lori.loseth@cwcas.ca
ON Family and Children's Services of Renfrew County Kathy Davis kathy.davis@fcsrenfrew.on.ca Isabelle Gamelin D'Amours isabelle.gamelinDAmours@fcsrenfrew.on.ca
ON Children's Aid Society of Ottawa Kelly Raymond kelly.raymond@casott.on.ca Nathalie Wall nathalie.wall@casott.on.ca
ON Valoris for Children and Adults (Can correspond in French) Hélène Fournier hfournier@valorispr.ca Mireille Brasseur mbrasseur@valorispr.ca
ON Highland Shores Children's Aid Tami Callahan tami.callahan@highlandshorescas.com Colleen Thompson colleen.thompson@highlandshorescas.com
ON Family and Children's Services of Lanark, Leeds and Grenville Erin Lee Marcotte erinlee.marcotte@fcsllg.ca Tammy Shepherd tammy.shepherd@fcsllg.ca
ON Dnaagdawenmag Binnoojiiyag Child and Family Services Amber Crowe acrowe@binnoojiiyag.ca Lindy Shearer (acting) lshearer@binnoojiiyag.ca
ON Jewish Family and Child Services Talyah Breslin tbreslin@jfandcs.com Tara David TDavid@jfandcs.com
ON Native Child and Family Services of Toronto Jeffrey Schiffer jschiffer@nativechild.org Valerie Sinclair vsinclair@nativechild.org
ON Children's Aid Society of Toronto Paul Rosebush prosebush@torontocas.ca Clavel Lyttle clyttle@torontocas.ca
ON Catholic Children's Aid Society of Toronto Mark Kartusch m.kartusch@torontoccas.org Colleen Gauthier c.gauthier@torontoccas.org
ON Mnaasged Child and Family Services - West Region Mike George mike.george@mnaasged.com Cheryl Riley cheryl.riley@mnaasged.com
ON Biinjitiwaabik Zaaging Anishinaabek First Nation (BZA/Rocky Bay FN) North Region Ramona Thompson (Director of Service) To be confirmed To be confirmed To be confirmed
PE MCPEI Child and Family Kateri Coade kcoade@mcpei.ca To be confirmed To be confirmed
To note that some provinces such as Ontario do not directly deliver child welfare.
Date modified: