Innovation in Education Program

This program supports innovative programs and projects, which aim to improve outcomes for First Nations communities, schools and students.

On this page

About the program

The investment in this program reaffirms the Government of Canada's commitment to working collaboratively with First Nations to ensure that all First Nations students receive a culturally-responsive, high-quality education that improves student outcomes, while respecting the principle of First Nations control of First Nations education.

The objective of the Innovation in Education Program is to support innovative programs and projects which aim to improve outcomes for:

Guidelines for this program were developed in partnership with the Assembly of First Nations (AFN) and the National Indian Council of Education and are intended to help eligible beneficiaries in the development of their costed work plans.

The Innovation in Education Program replaces the Innovation Activities Program that was offered under the discontinued New Paths for Education. It is one of several contribution programs, along with programs such as the Research and Learning Program and the Education Partnerships Program, which complement Indigenous Services Canada's (ISC) funding efforts towards First Nations elementary and secondary education.

These projects are defined through a regionally-based funding allocation and project approval process led by First Nations.

About the activities

The program supports development and implementation of innovative education program pilots, for example, projects related to:

Eligible activities include:

The program is a small part of broader efforts to improve First Nations elementary and secondary education. Activities are expected to support improving the overall quality of education in First Nations and to contribute to specific results.

Who can apply

Eligible funding recipients are:

Depending on the nature of the regional agreement, funding may be allocated to a First Nations organization to administer the program regionally or to specific projects based on availability of funds and First Nations decisions.

Total program budget is divided amongst Assembly of First Nations-determined regions and based on a First Nations-determined methodology.

If the total costs of identified projects are lower than the approved allocations and additional opportunity exists for collaboration between regions, additional projects may be supported in oversubscribed regions. This process should be completed by May 31 of each year.

Deadline

The deadline to submit a proposal is 11:59 pm Eastern time on April 30, 2022. Additional deadlines may exist in each region. Please contact your regional office for further information.

How to apply

Applicants must fill out the Project or work plan funding application (PDF, 140 KB) and submit their detailed proposals electronically. Follow the instructions in the 2022 to 2023 Innovation in Education program guidelines. We encourage applicants to review these guidelines for all requirements before submitting an application.

Applicants who have access to the ISC's services portal should use the electronic application form by opening a session on the portal. If you do not have access to the portal, please contact your regional office to get access to the portal.

When you open the form, you must save it on your local drive before you begin entering any information. Remember to:

Please ensure that the form is complete and all mandatory fields are filled in. Attach all documents to the supporting documents section of the proposal form. Attached documents should be in Microsoft Word or Microsoft Excel format.

Submission of a proposal does not guarantee its acceptance. Funding decisions are determined on a regional basis according to regional office and First Nations schedules. Funding is allocated based on the number of successful proposals and availability of funds.

First Nations organizations in British Columbia must apply through the First Nations Education Steering Committee.

Guidelines for previous years

Proposal assessment criteria

Regionally-based First Nations organizations are engaged in and in many cases lead the selection of innovation in education proposals, based on an approved regionally-based process. Please contact your regional office for more information.

Related links

Date modified:

Programme innovation en éducation

Soutenir des programmes et des projets novateurs qui visent à améliorer les résultats pour les communautés, les écoles et les élèves des Premières Nations.

Sur cette page

À propos du programme

Le Programme innovation en éducation remplace les activités d'innovation qui étaient auparavant proposées sous la bannière Nouveaux sentiers pour l'éducation. Outre des programmes tels que le Programme de recherche et d'apprentissage et le Programme des partenariats en éducation, le programme Innovation en éducation complète les efforts de financement de Services aux Autochtones Canada (SAC) pour améliorer l'éducation primaire et secondaire des Premières Nations.

L'investissement dans ce programme réitère l'engagement du gouvernement du Canada à travailler en collaboration avec les Premières Nations pour veiller à ce que tous les élèves des Premières Nations bénéficient d'une éducation de haute qualité adaptée sur le plan culturel, et que cette éducation améliore les résultats scolaires des élèves autochtones, tout en respectant le principe du contrôle par les Premières Nations de leur éducation.

Les lignes directrices de ce programme ont été élaborées en partenariat avec l'Assemblée des Premières Nations (APN) et le Conseil national indien de l'éducation et visent à soutenir les bénéficiaires admissibles à élaborer leurs plans de travail chiffrés.

L'objectif du Programme innovation en éducation est de soutenir des programmes et des projets novateurs qui visent à améliorer les résultats pour les communautés, les écoles et les élèves. Ces projets sont définis dans le cadre d'un processus régional d'affectation des fonds et d'approbation des projets, dirigé par les Premières Nations.

À propos des activités

Le programme appuie l'élaboration et la mise en œuvre de projets pilotes novateurs en matière d'éducation, par exemple, des projets liés à la technologie, à l'apprentissage sur les terres ou à la langue et à la culture autochtones. Les activités admissibles incluent :

Le programme ne représente qu'une petite partie des efforts plus vastes visant à améliorer l'éducation primaire et secondaire des Premières Nations. On s'attend à ce que les activités appuient l'amélioration de la qualité globale de l'éducation dans les écoles des Premières Nations et qu'elles contribuent à des résultats précis.

Qui peut présenter une demande

Les bénéficiaires admissibles au financement de ce programme sont :

Selon la nature de l'entente régionale, le financement peut être alloué à une organisation des Premières Nations pour administrer le programme à l'échelle régionale ou à des projets particuliers, selon la disponibilité des fonds et les décisions des Premières Nations.

Le budget total du programme est théoriquement divisé entre les régions déterminées par l'APN selon une méthodologie déterminée par les Premières Nations.

Si les coûts totaux des projets identifiés sont inférieurs aux allocations approuvées et qu'il existe une possibilité supplémentaire de collaboration entre les régions, des projets supplémentaires peuvent être soutenus dans les régions sursouscrites. Ce processus doit être terminé d'ici le 31 mai de chaque année.

Date limite

La date limite pour présenter une proposition était le 30 avril 2020 à 23 h 59, heure de l'Est. D'autres dates limites peuvent exister dans chaque région. Veuillez communiquer avec votre bureau régional pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

Comment présenter une demande

Les demandeurs doivent utiliser le modèle de demande générique Demande de financement pour l'élaboration d'un projet ou d'un plan de travail et présenter leur proposition électronique détaillée comme il est indiqué dans les lignes directrices du programme Innovation en éducation 2019 à 2020.

On recommande aux demandeurs de passer en revue ces lignes directrices avant de présenter une demande concernant des exigences supplémentaires.

Les demandeurs qui ont accès au Portail de services du ministère doivent utiliser le formulaire électronique en ouvrant une session dans le portail. Si vous n'avez pas accès au portail, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau régional le plus près pour obtenir un accès au portail.

Lorsque vous ouvrez le formulaire, vous devez l'enregistrer sur votre ordinateur avant de commencer à saisir les renseignements. N'oubliez pas :

Veuillez vous assurer que le formulaire est complètement rempli (tous les champs obligatoires) et que tous les documents accompagnant la proposition sont ajoutés dans la section Documents à l'appui du formulaire de proposition. Les documents en pièce jointe doivent être en format MS Word ou MS Excel.

Le fait de présenter une proposition ne garantit pas qu'elle soit acceptée. Les décisions concernant le financement sont communiquées à l'échelle régionale conformément aux échéances des bureaux régionaux et des Premières Nations. Le financement est attribué en fonction du nombre de propositions retenues et de la disponibilité des fonds.

Critères d'évaluation de la proposition

Les organisations régionales des Premières Nations sont mobilisées et dans bien des cas, dirigent la sélection de propositions d'innovation en éducation, fondées sur les critères d'évaluation. Veuillez communiquer avec votre bureau régional pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

Liens connexes

Date de modification :