Departmental Plans and Results for Indigenous Services Canada

The Estimates of the Government of Canada are structured in several parts. Beginning with an overview of total government spending in Part I, the documents become increasingly more specific. Part II outlines spending according to departments, agencies and programs and contains the proposed wording of the conditions governing spending which Parliament will be asked to approve. The Departmental Plans and the Departmental Results Report make up Part III of the Estimates publications. All Estimates documents are prepared to support appropriation acts. The appropriation act is the vehicle through which funds are authorized in order to pay for government programs and services.

The Part I, Part II and Departmental Plans, along with the Minister of Finance's Budget, reflect the government's annual budget planning and resource allocation priorities. In combination with subsequent reporting of financial results in the public accounts and of accomplishments achieved in Departmental Results Reports, this material helps Parliament hold the government to account for the allocation and management of public funds.

On this page

Departmental Plans

These reports provide details on departmental priorities expected results and related resource requirements for the upcoming fiscal year and two subsequent years. They form the basis against which year-end performance is assessed and reported on via Departmental Results Reports and they are tabled by the President of Treasury Board in the House of Commons on a date determined by Parliament.

To learn more about Departmental Plans, visit the Treasury Board's Departmental Plans webpage.

Departmental Results Reports

The Departmental Results Report, which covers the most recently completed fiscal year, is tabled by the President of Treasury Board in Parliament in the fall. This report provides detail on actual results achieved against departments and agencies plans, priorities and expected results set out in their respective Departmental Plan.

To learn about Departmental Results Reports, visit the Treasury Board's Departmental Results Reports webpage.

Departmental Results Framework

The Treasury Board Policy on Results, effective July 1, 2016, was implemented to improve the achievement and tracking of results across the federal government, and to better communicate these results to Parliamentarians and Canadians. It aims to define the goals that the government is trying to achieve, to measure progress toward the achievement of these goals, to track resources used to achieve these goals, and to communicate these measurements in a clear and transparent manner.

As part of the Policy on Results, departments are required to establish a Departmental Results Framework, which tracks expected results (what we aim to achieve) and indicators (how well we are doing in achieving results), articulated around departmental core responsibilities (key domains of intervention) and supported by a program inventory (list of departmental programs).

The Departmental Results Framework provides the structure for annual reports to Parliament, including the Departmental Plan and the Departmental Results Report.

Fees Reports

Related links

Date modified:

Plans et résultats ministériels pour Services aux Autochtones Canada

Le Budget des dépenses du gouvernement du Canada est divisé en plusieurs parties. Commençant par un aperçu des dépenses totales du gouvernement dans la Partie I, les documents deviennent de plus en plus détaillés. Dans la Partie II, les dépenses sont décrites selon les ministères, les organismes et les programmes. Cette partie renferme aussi le libellé proposé des conditions qui s'appliquent aux pouvoirs de dépenser qu'on demande au Parlement d'accorder. Le Plan ministériel (PM) et le Rapport ministériel sur les résultats (RMR) forment la Partie III du budget des dépenses. Tous les documents portant sur le Budget des dépenses sont préparés afin de supporter la loi de crédits. Cette dernière permet au gouvernement de retirer des fonds du Trésor afin de financer ses programmes et services.

La Partie I, la Partie II et les PM, de même que le budget du ministre des Finances, sont le reflet de la planification budgétaire annuelle de l'État et de ses priorités aux fins de l'affectation des ressources. Ces documents, auxquels viennent s'ajouter par la suite les Comptes publics et les RMR, aident le Parlement à s'assurer que le gouvernement est dûment comptable de l'affectation et de la gestion des fonds publics.

Sur cette page

Plans ministériels

Ces rapports définissent les priorités ministérielles par résultats attendus et par exigences en matière de ressources pour l'exercice à venir et les deux années suivantes. On les utilise pour mesurer le rendement à la fin de l'exercice dans le cadre du rapport ministériel sur les résultats et sont déposés par le président du Conseil du Trésor à la Chambre des communes à une date fixée par le Parlement.

Pour en savoir davantage sur les plans ministériels, visitez la page Web Conseil du Trésor sur les plans ministériels.

Rapports ministériels sur les résultats

Le rapport sur les résultats couvre le dernier exercice terminé et ils est déposé par le président du Conseil du Trésor au Parlement à l'automne. Il fournit un compte rendu des accomplissements réels des ministères et organismes en fonction des plans, des priorités et des résultats attendus qui ont été établis dans leur plan ministériel respectif.

Pour en savoir davantage sur les rapports ministériels sur les résultats, visitez la page Web du Conseil du Trésor à ce sujet.

Cadre ministériel des résultats

La Politique sur les résultats du Conseil du Trésor, entrée en vigueur le 1er juillet 2016, a été mise en œuvre pour contribuer à une meilleure réalisation et suivi des résultats à l'échelle du gouvernement fédéral, et pour mieux communiquer ces résultats aux parlementaires et aux Canadiens. Elle vise à définir les objectifs que le gouvernement cherche à atteindre, à mesurer le progrès vers l'atteinte de ces objectifs, à suivre les ressources utilisées pour atteindre ces objectifs et à communiquer ces mesures de façon claire et transparente.

Dans le cadre de la Politique sur les résultats, les ministères sont exigés d'établir un Cadre ministériel des résultats, qui suit les résultats attendus (ce que nous tentons de réaliser) et les indicateurs (à quel point nous obtenons des résultats), articulés autour des responsabilités essentielles du ministère (domaines clés d'intervention) et soutenus par un répertoire des programmes (liste des programmes du ministère).

Le Cadre ministériel des résultats fournit la nouvelle structure pour les rapports annuels au Parlement, y compris le plan ministériel et le rapport sur les résultats ministériels.

Rapports sur les frais

Liens connexes

Date de modification :