10-year grant

Please note that the deadline for submitting expressions of interest to ISC on the 10-year grant for 2020 to 2021 is September 3, 2019.

Learn about the 10-year grant.

On this page

About the 10-year grant

The 10-year grant is a funding mechanism that is available to First Nations that provide a written request and that meet the eligibility requirements. These requirements, co-developed with the Assembly of First Nations (AFN) and the First Nations Financial Management Board (FMB), assess the financial performance and governance of recipients. To continue to receive grant funding, recipients will have to demonstrate that they continue to meet these eligibility requirements during the entire term of the grant.

10-year grants provide a number of significant benefits, including:

Administrative and reporting benefits of the 10-year grant include:

Read what other communities have said about the 10-year grant.

Eligibility requirements

ISC will make the final decision on eligibility, based on the following co-developed approach with the AFN and FMB. Eligibility will be based on the following co-developed approach:

1. Financial administration law

A First Nation government wishing to be eligible for the 10-year grant must have in place a financial administration law. A financial administration law is a set of financial and governance practices that assist a First Nation government in making informed financial decisions, and can be passed either under the Indian Act or the First Nations Fiscal Management Act. If the First Nation government chooses to pass a financial administration law under the Indian Act rather than under the First Nations Fiscal Management Act, the law must obtain Ministerial approval. Regardless of whether a First Nation chooses to pass the law under the Indian Act or the First Nations Fiscal Management Act, the same standards for the financial administration law will apply. The FMB will provide reports to ISC on whether First Nations have met the eligibility criteria related to the financial administration law. For more information and to see a sample financial administration law, consult the FMB's 10-year grant eligibility page.

Minimum financial administration law implementation provisions

First Nations applying for the grant would be asked to ensure that certain provisions of their financial administration law are supported by policies and procedures, where required, and have been legally brought into force. More information on the minimal provisions related to the financial administration law can be found on the FMB's 10-year grant eligibility page and is also set out in the sample Comprehensive Funding Agreement model.

2. Financial performance

A First Nation government's financial statements for the preceding 5-year period must be in substantial compliance with certain financial performance standards as of March 31, 2019. To assist ISC in reaching its determination, the FMB will be asked to provide opinions to ISC on whether First Nation governments meet these standards.

Specifically they must demonstrate:

  • an average "fiscal growth ratio" of no lower than minus 5%
  • an average "operating margin ratio" of no lower than minus 5%
  • an average "asset maintenance ratio" of no lower than 100%
  • a weighted average "net debt ratio" of no more than 60%; or a current year "net debt ratio" for the most recent year of no more than 60% and
  • an average "interest expense ratio" of no more than 5%

First Nation governments that express interest in the 10-year grant will be provided with more detailed information on meeting the eligibility requirements based on their unique circumstances. For a First Nation to be eligible for a 10-year grant, it must:

  • provide a written request to be considered for a 10-year grant by September 3, 2019 (for the 2020-2021 agreement cycle)
  • if not already done, create a financial administration law or bylaw under the First Nations Fiscal Management Act or Indian Act, and confirm that that the law is consistent with FMB standards and that minimum implementation standards have been met
  • provide audited financial statements for the past five years to demonstrate that the financial performance provisions listed above are met

FMB will provide reports to ISC confirming that First Nations have met eligibility criteria for the 10-year grant. To support development of funding agreements in time for April 1, 2020, our objective is that First Nations will have completed all steps necessary to meet eligibility criteria and obtained the necessary assessments from the FMB by November 29, 2019.

To ensure all First Nations have a chance to access grants over time, ISC will issue annual calls for written requests to be considered for 10-year grants. First Nations who expressed interest last year but did not complete steps for qualifying, or who qualified but did not opt into the grant for 2019 to 2020, must express interest again in order to be considered for 2020 to 2021. If you met eligibility criteria last year, but did not opt in, ISC will work with you to re-confirm eligibility for 2020 to 2021.

If a First Nation government has a certification from the FMB, are they automatically eligible for a 10-year grant?

While the final decision on the eligibility requirements rests with ISC, the FMB will provide reports on the assessment of the First Nation's financial performance and financial administration law against the co-developed eligibility requirements. The requirements for a 10-year grant are aligned with FMB certification standards:

How is it different from the current block funding approach?

There are some significant differences:

What are the next steps for First Nations interested in the 10-year grant that do not currently meet the eligibility requirements?

First Nations interested in meeting the eligibility requirements for the 10-year grant can continue to work with FMB. All First Nations applying for the 10-year grant have access to FMB-developed tools, as well as advice and support from the FMB in working towards meeting eligibility criteria. First Nations working with the FMB to meet the eligibility requirements for the 10-year grant can also access other FMB services.

All First Nations interested in developing their governance capacity can submit a project proposal through the Professional and Institutional Development Program. This program is administered by ISC at the regional level and funds projects that will help to increase the governance capacity of communities in core functions of governance such as leadership, law-making and financial management. All First Nations are eligible for project-based funding under this Program, regardless of their interest in the 10-year grant.

Will the 10-year grant cover both core and proposal-based funding?

Core funding is program funding that is:

Most programs which provide core funding are covered under the grant. Proposal-based funding is funding that may be provided from time-to-time and requires a successful proposal submission.

First Nations operating under the 10-year grant are able to apply for proposal-based funding outside of the 10-year grant. First Nations receiving the 10-year grant can still receive other contribution funding, through set, fixed, or flexible funding approaches.

What service delivery areas are included in the 10-year grant?

The 10-year grant funding for each recipient is provided through a single Comprehensive Funding (CFA) Agreement. The 11 service delivery areas included in the 10-year grant are:

  1. band support funding
  2. employee benefits
  3. capital facilities and maintenance
    1. operations and maintenance
    2. minor capital
  4. income assistance
  5. assisted living
  6. elementary and secondary education
    1. core elementary and secondary education
  7. post-secondary education
  8. primary health care, except in British Columbia
    1. health promotion and disease prevention
    2. public health protection
    3. primary care
  9. health infrastructure support
    1. health system capacity
  10. lands and economic development services
    1. community economic development
    2. lands and environment
  11. registration administration

Service delivery areas which are not included in the grant:

Will funding from other government departments also be incorporated into the 10-year grant?

This is an objective that will take some time and effort to achieve given the differences in program mandates, objectives and authorities between departments. ISC is working with other departments to identify barriers and to develop approaches to overcome them so that this funding might also be available through the 10-year grant in the future.

Where can I get more information?

Reach out to your regional ISC funding agreement contact to learn more.

Date modified:

Subvention de 10 ans

Veuillez noter que la date limite pour soumettre des expressions d'intérêt à Services aux Autochtones Canada (SAC) sur la subvention de 10 ans pour l'exercice de 2020 à 2021 est le 3 septembre 2019.

Renseignez-vous sur la subvention de 10 ans.

Sur cette page

À propos de la subvention de 10 ans

La subvention de 10 ans est un mécanisme de financement offert aux Premières Nations qui présentent une demande écrite et qui répondent aux critères d'admissibilité. Ces exigences, élaborées conjointement avec l'Assemblée des Premières Nations (APN) et le Conseil de gestion financière des Premières Nations (CGF), permettent d'évaluer le rendement financier et la gouvernance des bénéficiaires. Pour continuer à recevoir du financement provenant de subventions, les bénéficiaires devront démontrer qu'ils continuent de satisfaire aux exigences d'admissibilité pendant toute la période de la subvention.

Les subventions de 10 ans procurent un certain nombre d'avantages importants, notamment :

Les avantages liés à l'administration et à la production de rapports de la subvention de 10 ans comprennent :

Lisez ce que d'autres communautés ont dit au sujet de la subvention de 10 ans.

Conditions d'admissibilité

SAC prendra la décision finale sur l'admissibilité en se fondant sur l'approche suivante élaborée conjointement avec l'APN et le CGF. L'admissibilité sera fondée sur l'approche suivante élaborée conjointement :

1. Loi sur la gestion financière

Le gouvernement d'une Première Nation qui souhaite être admissible à la subvention de 10 ans doit avoir en place une loi sur la gestion financière. Une loi sur la gestion financière est un ensemble de pratiques de gouvernance et de gestion financière qui aident le gouvernement d'une Première Nation à prendre des décisions financières éclairées et qui peuvent être adoptées en vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens ou de la Loi sur la gestion financière des premières nations. Si le gouvernement d'une Première Nation choisit d'adopter une loi sur la gestion financière en vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens plutôt que de le faire en vertu de la Loi sur la gestion financière des premières nations, la loi doit obtenir l'approbation ministérielle. Qu'une Première Nation choisisse d'adopter la loi en vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens ou de la Loi sur la gestion financière des premières nations, les mêmes normes s'appliqueront. Le CGF fournira à SAC des rapports indiquant si les Premières Nations ont satisfait aux critères d'admissibilité liés à la loi sur la gestion financière. Pour de plus amples renseignements et pour voir un exemple de loi sur la gestion financière, consultez la page CGF sur l'admissibilité à la subvention de 10 ans.

Dispositions minimales de mise en œuvre des lois sur la gestion financière

Les Premières Nations qui demandent la subvention devront s'assurer que certaines dispositions de leur loi sur la gestion financière sont appuyées par des politiques et des procédures, s'il y a lieu, et qu'elles sont légalement mises en vigueur. Pour en savoir davantage sur les dispositions minimales relatives à la loi sur la gestion financière, veuillez consulter la page du CGF sur l'admissibilité à la subvention de 10 ans ou le modèle d'entente globale de financement.

2. Rendement financier

Les états financiers d'un gouvernement d'une Première Nation pour les 5 années précédentes doivent respecter dans une large mesure certaines normes de rendement financier au 31 mars 2019. Pour aider SAC à prendre une décision, le CGF devra donner son avis à SAC quant au respect de ces normes par les gouvernements des Premières Nations.

Plus précisément, ils doivent démontrer :

  • un « ratio de croissance budgétaire » moyen d'au moins 5 %;
  • un « ratio de marge d'exploitation » moyen d'au moins 5 %;
  • un « ratio d'entretien des biens » moyen d'au moins 100 %;
  • un « ratio d'endettement net » moyen pondéré d'au plus 60 %; ou un « ratio d'endettement net » de l'année en cours pour l'année la plus récente d'au plus 60 %;
  • un « ratio de frais d'intérêt » moyen d'au plus 5 %.

Les gouvernements des Premières Nations qui manifestent de l'intérêt pour la subvention de 10 ans recevront des renseignements plus détaillés sur le respect des critères d'admissibilité en fonction de leur situation particulière. Pour qu'une Première Nation soit admissible à une subvention de 10 ans, elle doit :

  • présenter par écrit une demande de subvention de 10 ans d'ici le 3 septembre 2019 (pour le cycle de l'entente de l'exercice de 2020 à 2021);
  • si ce n'est déjà fait, créer une loi sur l'administration financière ou un règlement administratif aux termes de la Loi sur la gestion financière des premières nations ou de la Loi sur les Indiens, et confirmer que le texte de loi respecte les normes du CGF et que les normes minimales concernant la mise en œuvre sont respectées;
  • fournir des états financiers vérifiés pour les 5 dernières années afin de démontrer que les dispositions relatives au rendement financier énumérées ci-dessus sont respectées.

Le CGF présentera à SAC des rapports confirmant que les Premières Nations respectent les critères d'admissibilité à la subvention de 10 ans. Pour appuyer l'élaboration d'ententes de financement à temps pour le 1er avril 2020, notre objectif est que les Premières Nations aient réalisé toutes les étapes nécessaires pour satisfaire aux critères d'admissibilité et obtenu les évaluations nécessaires du CGF au plus tard le 29 novembre 2019.

Afin de s'assurer que toutes les Premières Nations ont la possibilité d'obtenir des subventions au fil du temps, SAC lancera des appels annuels pour des demandes par écrit de subventions de 10 ans. Veuillez noter que les Premières Nations qui ont manifesté leur intérêt l'an dernier mais qui n'ont pas réalisé les étapes pour être admissibles ou qui ont rempli les conditions requises mais n'ont pas opté pour la subvention durant l'exercice de 2019 à 2020 doivent faire à nouveau part de leur intérêt pour que leur demande soit prise en considération pour l'exercice de 2020 à 2021. Si vous avez satisfait aux critères d'admissibilité l'an dernier mais n'avez pas opté pour une subvention à ce moment-là, SAC travaillera avec vous pour reconfirmer votre admissibilité pour l'exercice de 2020 à 2021.

Si un gouvernement d'une Première Nation a une certification du CGF, est-il automatiquement admissible à une subvention de 10 ans?

Bien que la décision finale sur les critères d'admissibilité relève de SAC, le CGF fournira des rapports sur l'évaluation du rendement financier et de la loi sur l'administration financière de la Première Nation par rapport aux critères d'admissibilité élaborés conjointement. Les critères d'une subvention de 10 ans sont harmonisés avec les normes de certification du CGF :

En quoi les subventions de 10 ans diffèrent-elles du mode actuel de financement global?

Il y a certaines différences importantes :

Quelles sont les prochaines étapes pour les Premières Nations qui veulent bénéficier de la subvention de 10 ans, mais qui ne répondent pas actuellement aux critères d'admissibilité?

Les Premières Nations qui souhaitent déployer des efforts pour satisfaire aux critères d'admissibilité de la subvention de 10 ans peuvent continuer à collaborer avec le CGF. Toutes les Premières Nations qui présentent une demande pour obtenir la subvention de 10 ans ont accès aux outils conçus par le CGF, ainsi qu'à ses conseils et à son soutien pendant leurs démarches visant à répondre aux critères d'admissibilité. Les Premières Nations qui collaborent avec le CGF pour arriver à satisfaire aux critères d'admissibilité de la subvention de 10 ans peuvent également avoir accès à d'autres services du CGF.

Toutes les Premières Nations qui souhaitent renforcer leur capacité de gouvernance peuvent soumettre une proposition de projet dans le cadre du Programme de développement professionnel et institutionnel. Ce programme est géré par SAC à l'échelle régionale et il finance des projets qui permettront d'améliorer la capacité de gouvernance des communautés pour mener des fonctions de gouvernance de base, comme le leadership, le pouvoir législatif et la gestion financière. Toutes les Premières Nations sont admissibles à du financement pour un projet dans le cadre de ce programme, qu'elles veulent ou non bénéficier de la subvention de 10 ans.

La subvention de 10 ans englobe-t-elle à la fois le financement de base et le financement fondé sur des propositions?

Le financement de base désigne le financement de programme qui est :

La plupart des programmes qui offrent du financement de base sont visés par la subvention. Le financement fondé sur des propositions désigne le financement qui peut être fourni de temps en temps et qui nécessite une proposition retenue.

Les Premières Nations bénéficiaires de la subvention de 10 ans peuvent présenter une demande de financement fondé sur les propositions, financement qui s'ajoutera à la subvention de 10 ans. Les Premières Nations qui reçoivent la subvention de 10 ans peuvent tout de même recevoir un financement sous forme de contribution, selon un mode de financement préétabli, fixe ou souple.

Quels domaines de prestation de services sont inclus dans la subvention de 10 ans?

Le financement de la subvention de 10 ans pour chaque bénéficiaire est offert dans le cadre d'une seule entente de financement global. Les 11 domaines de prestation de services sont les suivants :

  1. Financement du soutien des bandes
  2. Avantages sociaux des employés
  3. Immobilisations et entretien
    1. Fonctionnement et entretien
    2. Petits projets d'immobilisations
  4. Aide au revenu
  5. Aide à la vie autonome
  6. Enseignement primaire et secondaire
    1. Enseignement primaire et secondaire de base
  7. Enseignement postsecondaire
  8. Soins de santé primaires
    1. Promotion de la santé et prévention de la maladie
    2. Protection de la santé publique
    3. Soins primaires
  9. Soutien à l'infrastructure de santé
    1. Capacité du système de santé
  10. Services relatifs aux terres et au développement économique
    1. Développement économique des communautés
    2. Terres et environnement
  11. Administration de l'inscription

Les domaines de prestation suivants ne sont pas compris dans la subvention :

Le financement d'autres ministères sera-t-il également intégré à la subvention de 10 ans?

Il faudra consacrer du temps et des efforts pour atteindre cet objectif, étant donné les différences dans les mandats, les objectifs et les autorisations de programmes des ministères. SAC travaille avec d'autres ministères pour cerner les obstacles et élaborer des approches en vue de les surmonter afin que ce financement puisse également être offert dans le cadre de la subvention de 10 ans à l'avenir.

Où peut-on trouver plus de renseignements?

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, communiquez avec la personne-ressource pour l'entente de financement de votre région.

Date de modification :