Kit for conducting an engagement session on child and family services

About the engagement kit

The Government of Canada is committed to support the transformation of services provided to First Nations, Inuit and Métis children and families.

This engagement kit was designed for:

This engagement kit contains:

Tips for using the engagement kit

If you or your organization would like to conduct your own meeting, you are encouraged to consult Continuing the conversation: engagement questions for a quick overview of the foundation of the Government of Canada’s work on child and family services reform, as well as for discussion questions to use in your meeting. These discussion questions are available to help frame the dialogue but should not be considered an exhaustive list if you or your participants wish to explore other related subject areas.

The list of existing literature provides useful information that may help to inform you or your participants’ input.

The engagement reporting template provides a framework to document a summary of the discussions, which is critical to ensuring that feedback from your meeting can be included in the Government of Canada’s reporting and analysis. Once completed, please email your reporting template to sac.sefreforme-cfsreform.isc@canada.ca.

Group sessions are encouraged as they can bring out a wealth of knowledge, expertise and wisdom, and allow for active discussion.

We encourage any independent session organizers to include a federal representative as a participant or presenter to ensure that any immediate questions can be addressed. If you would like to include a federal representative at your session, send a request to: sac.sefreforme-cfsreform.isc@canada.ca.

Thank you for your participation in this critical dialogue.

List of existing literature

Engagement reporting template

Once completed, submit this template to sac.sefreforme-cfsreform.isc@canada.ca.

Date of meeting:

Name of note taker:

Type of meeting: community engagement, technical group, other

Location (city, province):

Names of all participants (full name and organization):

Full name Organization Contact
     
     
     

Questions to guide child and family services engagement

The following questions are meant to guide the engagement process for co-creating options for potential federal child and family services legislation.

Engagement process

  • 1) The Government of Canada has proposed a two-stage approach for co-creating options for proposed legislation and addressing other matters that affect First Nations, Inuit, and Métis children, youth, and families. Do you agree with this process, or which process would you recommend?

Principles/values

  • 2) What are some of the core principles that federal legislation on child and family services should include? Why do you think this?

Jurisdiction

  • 3) How could federal legislation enable First Nations, Inuit, and Métis peoples to fully exercise their right to ensure the safety and best interests of the child? What tools or levers are required?

  • 4) How could federal legislation respect the different aspirations, contexts and stages of readiness of First Nations, Inuit, and Métis peoples across Canada regarding child and family services? Why do you think this?

  • 5) Do the roles of provinces and territories need to be reflected in federal legislation? If so, how?

Specific issues

  • 6) Federal legislation on child and family services could include guidance on issues such as funding, training, education and healing. What should be included in the legislation to give guidance on these and other issues?

  • 7) What enforcement measures, if any, should be included in the federal legislation? Why do you think this?

Data and reporting

  • 8) At the Emergency Meeting on Indigenous Child and Family Services in January 2018, participants acknowledged a lack of data on Indigenous children in care (e.g. number of children apprehended, why they are apprehended, where they are placed). Do you think legislation could be a tool to help address this gap? If so, what could this look like? Which indicators are most important and how should they be reported?
Date modified:

Trousse pour mener une séance de mobilisation sur les services à l'enfance et à la famille

À propos de la trousse de mobilisation

Le gouvernement du Canada s’est engagé à appuyer la transformation des services offerts aux enfants et aux familles des Premières Nations, des Inuit et des Métis.

La trousse de mobilisation a été conçue pour :

La trousse de mobilisation contient :

Conseils sur l’utilisation de la trousse de mobilisation

Si vous ou votre organisation souhaitez mener votre propre réunion, nous vous encourageons à consulter Poursuivre la conversation : questions sur la mobilisation afin d’obtenir un aperçu des fondements des travaux du gouvernement du Canada sur la réforme des services à l’enfance et à la famille ainsi que des questions de discussion à utiliser lors de votre réunion. Ces questions aideront à encadrer le dialogue, mais ne devraient pas être considérées comme exhaustives, de façon à vous permettre, à vous ou aux participants, d’explorer d’autres sujets connexes.

La liste de la littérature existante contient de l’information utile qui pourra contribuer à orienter vos observations ou celles des participants.

Le modèle de rapport sur la mobilisation fournit un cadre permettant de documenter un résumé des discussions, ce qui est essentiel pour veiller à ce que la rétroaction de votre réunion soit incluse dans l’analyse et les rapports du gouvernement du Canada. Une fois rempli, veuillez envoyer le modèle de rapport par courriel à : sac.sefreforme-cfsreform.isc@canada.ca.

Nous encourageons la tenue de séances de groupe, car elles peuvent donner lieu à l’échange de connaissances, d’expertise et de sages conseils et à des débats animés.

Nous invitons les organisateurs de séances indépendants à inclure un représentant fédéral comme participant ou présentateur afin de s’assurer que toute question immédiate est traitée. Si vous souhaitez la présence d’un représentant fédéral à votre séance, veuillez envoyer une demande en ce sens à : sac.sefreforme-cfsreform.isc@canada.ca.

Je vous remercie de votre participation à cet important dialogue.

Liste de la littérature existante

Modèle de rapport sur la mobilisation

Le modèle de rapport suivant peut être utilisé pour recueillir des informations sur votre séance de mobilisation.

Une fois complété, soumettez ces informations à l'adresse courriel suivante : sac.sefreforme-cfsreform.isc@canada.ca.

Date de la réunion :

Nom du preneur de notes :

Type de réunion : mobilisation communautaire, groupe technique, autre

Lieu (ville, province) :

Noms de tous les participants (Prénom et nom et organisation) :

Prénom et nom Organisation Coordonnées
     
     
     

Questions visant à orienter la mobilisation sur les services à l’enfance et à la famille

Les questions suivantes ont pour but d’orienter le processus de mobilisation en vue de la création conjointe d’options pour une éventuelle loi fédérale sur les services à l’enfance et à la famille.

Processus de mobilisation

  • 1) Le gouvernement du Canada a proposé une approche en deux étapes visant la création conjointe d’options pour une législation proposée et le traitement d’autres questions qui touchent les enfants, les jeunes et les familles des Premières Nations, des Inuit et des Métis. Êtes-vous d’accord avec ce processus ou quel processus recommanderiez-vous?

Principes et valeurs

  • 2) Quels principes de base devraient être inclus dans une loi fédérale sur les services à l’enfance et à la famille? Et pourquoi?

Secteur de compétence

  • 3) Comment la législation fédérale pourrait-elle permettre aux Premières Nations, aux Inuit et aux Métis d’exercer pleinement leur droit afin d’assurer la sécurité et les meilleurs intérêts de l’enfant? Quels sont les outils ou leviers nécessaires?

  • 4) Comment la législation fédérale pourrait-elle respecter les divers contextes, aspirations et étapes de préparation des Premières Nations, des Inuit et des Métis du Canada en ce qui concerne les services à l’enfance et à la famille? Pourquoi?

  • 5) Les rôles des provinces et des territoires doivent-ils être reflétés dans la législation fédérale? Si oui, comment?

Enjeux spécifiques

  • 6) La législation fédérale sur les services à l’enfance et à la famille pourrait comprendre des directives sur des questions comme le financement, la formation, l’éducation et la guérison. Qu’est-ce qui devrait être inclus dans la loi pour fournir une orientation sur ces questions et autres enjeux?

  • 7) Quelles mesures d’application de la loi, s’il en est, devraient être incluses dans la loi fédérale? Pourquoi?

Données et rapports

  • 8) Lors de la réunion d’urgence sur les services à l’enfance et à la famille autochtones, tenue en janvier 2018, les participants ont reconnu un manque de données sur les enfants autochtones pris en charge (p. ex. le nombre d’enfants pris en charge, les raisons pour lesquelles ils le sont, l’endroit où ils sont placés). Pensez-vous qu’une loi pourrait être un outil pour aider à combler cette lacune? Si oui, à quoi cela pourrait-elle ressembler? Quels sont les indicateurs les plus importants et comment devraient-ils être déclarés?
Date de modification :