Horse Lake First Nation in Alberta celebrates new water treatment system

Horse Lake First Nation celebrated the opening of their new water treatment system in September 2018. The original system in Horse Lake was constructed in the 1980s and required a significant overhaul. Indigenous Services Canada (ISC) worked with First Nation partners throughout the design and construction of the new water treatment system, which was designed specifically to treat groundwater that is under the direct influence of surface water sources.

The M2 Engineering Firm working on the project just received an Award of Excellence in the "small firm – big impact" category from Consulting Engineers of Alberta. ISC Alberta worked in lock-step with this firm and Horse Lake First Nation to work collaboratively toward delivering safe potable water to the community for years to come.

The new water treatment system is critical to the community's efforts to ensure future generations have access to clean water. ISC invested $9.5 million to support construction of the system, and it meets all of the Canadian drinking water quality guideline requirements. The importance of the water treatment plant is explained by Councilor Nathan Horseman: "Our families can finally draw a bath with clean water".

Date modified:

La Première Nation de Horse Lake, en Alberta, célèbre l'inauguration d'un nouveau système de traitement de l'eau

En septembre 2018, la Première Nation de Horse Lake a célébré l'inauguration de son nouveau système de traitement de l'eau. Le système original a été construit dans les années 1980 et nécessitait des réparations considérables. Services aux Autochtones Canada (SAC) a travaillé avec des partenaires de la Première Nation à la conception et à la construction du nouveau système, qui a été conçu expressément pour traiter les eaux souterraines directement touchées par les sources d'eau de surface.

La société d'ingénierie M2 affectée au projet vient de recevoir un prix d'excellence décerné par la Consulting Engineers of Alberta dans la catégorie « petite firme : grandes répercussions ». Le bureau régional de SAC en Alberta a travaillé en étroite collaboration avec cette société et la Première Nation de Horse Lake afin de fournir de l'eau potable salubre à la communauté pour les années à venir.

Le nouveau système de traitement de l'eau est essentiel aux efforts déployés par la communauté pour veiller à ce que les générations futures aient accès à de l'eau propre. SAC a investi 9,5 millions de dollars pour appuyer la construction du système, qui respecte toutes les exigences des lignes directrices canadiennes en ce qui concerne la qualité de l'eau potable. Le conseiller Nathan Horseman explique l'importance de ce nouveau système de traitement de l'eau : « Il est enfin possible pour nos familles de prendre un bain dans de l'eau propre. »

Date de modification :