FireSmart call for applications: 2021 to 2022

Apply for funding for wildland fire prevention and preparedness initiatives in First Nations communities.

On this page

A call for proposals for applications for 2021 to 2022 under this program is now open.

About the program

FireSmart builds skills in First Nations communities to prevent and prepare against wildland fires. Programming involves training First Nations teams in wildfire suppression duties, as well as fuel management and vegetation clearing, which reduces the intensity and spread of wildfires. FireSmart also leverages Indigenous knowledge of the local environment and terrain to improve emergency planning, preparation and response to wildfires.

Through the Emergency Management Assistance Program, FireSmart project funding is available for initiatives, such as:

Funding for risk assessments is available through the First Nations Adapt Program. Fire-related infrastructure projects may be eligible under the Capital Facilities and Maintenance Program. Consult your ISC regional office emergency management contact for guidance on which program best suits your needs.

Since 2015, Indigenous Services Canada (ISC) has contributed approximately $3.2 million annually to First Nations to support their participation in FireSmart programs. In 2019 to 2020, FireSmart programs were funded in 53 First Nations communities.

Budget 2019 allocated $47.72 million over 5 years, starting in fiscal year 2019 to 2020, to expand the on-reserve FireSmart programs that support First Nations to enhance capacity around wildfire management.

In British Columbia, FireSmart funding for First Nations communities is administered through the First Nations Emergency Services Society (FNESS). Please contact FNESS directly for any FireSmart-related projects in BC.

The Emergency management Assistance Program (EMAP) allows for the purchase of low-value equipment for emergency preparedness and mitigation projects through the program's proposal-based funding streams: Non-Structural Mitigation and Preparedness (NSMP) and FireSmart.

To learn more, consult the Low-value equipment purchases under EMAP page.

Who can apply

Projects based on Crown land are ineligible.

Deadline

There is currently no deadline to apply.

How to apply

  1. Complete the Emergency Management Non-Structural Mitigation and Preparedness Program project funding application:
  2. Submit the form to your ISC regional office emergency management contact.

If your First Nation community is in British Columbia, please contact FNESS for instructions and the application procedure:

Larry Price, Interim Manager, Forest Fuel Management Department,
Email: lprice@fness.bc.ca
Telephone: 250-320-8580 ext. #502

Date modified:

Appel de demandes dans le cadre du programme Intelli-feu (FireSmart) : 2021 à 2022

Présentez une demande de financement pour des initiatives de prévention des feux de végétation et de préparation en cas d'incendie dans les communautés des Premières Nations.

Sur cette page

Un appel de propositions pour l'exercice de 2021 à 2022 dans le cadre de ce programme est maintenant ouvert.

À propos du programme

Intelli-feu permet aux communautés des Premières Nations d'acquérir des compétences en matière de prévention des feux de végétation et de préparation en cas d'incendie. Les programmes portent notamment sur la formation d'équipes des Premières Nations chargées de la lutte contre les incendies de forêt, ainsi que la gestion des combustibles et le défrichage, qui réduit l'intensité ainsi que la propagation des feux de forêt. Intelli‑feu met aussi à contribution les connaissances autochtones du milieu environnant afin d'améliorer la planification, la préparation et l'intervention en cas d'incendie de forêt.

Dans le cadre du Programme d'aide à la gestion des urgences, un financement de projet est offert au titre du programme Intelli-feu pour certaines initiatives, notamment :

Des fonds pour les évaluations des risques sont également offerts dans le cadre du Programme d'adaptation aux changements climatiques des Premières Nations. Les projets d'infrastructure liées aux incendies peuvent être admissibles au titre du Programme d'immobilisations et d'entretien. Consultez la personne-ressource pour la gestion des urgences de votre bureau régional de SAC afin d'obtenir des conseils pour déterminer le programme qui répond le mieux à vos besoins.

Depuis 2015, Services aux Autochtones Canada (SAC) verse environ 3,2 millions de dollars par année aux Premières Nations afin d'appuyer leur participation aux programmes Intelli-feu. En 2019 et 2020, des programmes Intelli-feu ont été financés dans 53 communautés des Premières Nations.

Dans le Budget de 2019, on prévoit 47,72 millions de dollars sur 5 ans, à compter de l'exercice 2019-2020, afin d'élargir les programmes Intelli-feu dans les réserves pour aider les Premières Nations à renforcer leur capacité en matière de gestion des incendies de forêt.

En Colombie-Britannique, le financement lié au programme Intelli-Feu pour les communautés des Premières Nations est géré par la First Nations Emergency Services Society (FNESS) (site Web non disponible en français). Veuillez contacter directement avec le FNESS pour tout programme Intelli-Feu en Colombie-Britannique.

Qui peut présenter une demande

Les projets basés sur des terres de la Couronne sont inadmissibles.

Date limite

Il n'y a actuellement pas de date limite pour présenter une demande.

Comment présenter une demande

  1. Remplissez la demande de financement de projet en vertu du Programme d'atténuation non structurelle et de préparation aux fins de la gestion des urgences :
  2. Envoyez le formulaire à la personne-ressource pour la gestion des urgences de votre bureau régional de SAC.

Si votre communauté des Premières Nations est en Colombie-Britannique, veuillez communiquer avec la First Nations Emergency Services Society (FNESS) pour obtenir des informations et la procédure à suivre pour présenter une demande :

Jeff Eustache, gestionnaire, Département de gestion du combustible forestier
Courriel : jeustache@fness.bc.ca
Téléphone : 250-377-7600

Date de modification :