British Columbia Tripartite First Nations Health Plan

As part of the British Columbia Tripartite Framework Agreement on First Nation Health Governance, on October 1st 2013, the Government of Canada transferred its role in the design, management, and delivery of First Nations health programming in British Columbia to the new First Nations Health Authority (FNHA).

On this page

About the framework agreement

When the federal and provincial governments and the BC First Nations leadership signed the Tripartite First Nations Health Plan Memorandum of Understanding in 2006, which led to the Tripartite First Nations Health Plan in 2007, they committed to changing the way health care for First Nations is structured and delivered in BC. The core of that change is to give First Nations a major role in the design and delivery of health care for their own people while ensuring increased coordination and integration with the provincial health care system.

The BC Tripartite First Nations Health Plan has many aspects. These range from work to improve health services, shift the emphasis to wellness and preventing illness, improve performance tracking and the creation of a new First Nations health governance structure.

Together, the three partners are making progress towards the commitments made in the BC Tripartite First Nations Health Plan. For example, in August 2009, the Minister of Health acknowledged how working in this new tripartite manner proved valuable in developing a proactive response to the H1N1 epidemic.

Significant progress has also been made on the creation of a new health governance structure for BC First Nations and key agreements to begin to implement this new structure are now in place. The Basis for a Framework Agreement, signed in July 2010, led to the negotiation of the landmark Framework Agreement on First Nation Health Governance. BC First Nations voted strongly in favour of a resolution to support the framework a greement at  Gathering Wisdom for a Shared Journey IV, held in May 2011 in Richmond BC. This vote confirmed support from First Nations for the vision and direction of the First Nations Health Council and the First Nations Health Society as well as the framework agreement.

.

Having received the support of First Nations, British Columbia and Canada, the f ramework a greement was signed on October 13, 2011.

The significance of the framework agreement

The framework a greement represents an important milestone for the health of BC First Nations people and communities. It is the legal agreement that sets in motion the process for transferring the Government of Canada's role in designing and delivering health programs and services to First Nations in BC to a new First Nations Health Authority.

The First Nations Health Authority is one component of this new health governance structure. The others are: a First Nations Health Council to provide political leadership, a Tripartite Committee on First Nations Health to support integration, and a First Nations Health Directors' Association to facilitate professional management capacity at the community level and to provide expert advice.

A number of sub-agreements that build on the principles established in the framework agreement have been completed and facilitated the implementation of the framework a greement.

When the f ramework a greement is fully implemented, through this new health governance structure, First Nations will have an important role in determining and defining their own health needs, and the design, delivery and evaluation of health programs to meet these needs at the community, regional and provincial levels.

New relationships for First Nations health

Under the new system, through the First Nations Health Authority and the Tripartite Committee on First Nations Health, First Nations will work closely with the BC Ministry of Health and Regional Health Authorities for better coordination of health programs and services. That will result in a more integrated system, and better health outcomes for First Nations people and communities.

In the ongoing tripartite partnership, Indigenous Services Canada's role will be that of funder and governance partner, which means that the department will continue to be an active participant in the implementation of the First Nations health agenda in BC, but no longer delivering or defining the services as before. We will continue to work with BC First Nations and the Province of BC to realize our shared vision through the ongoing contribution of knowledge, advice, expertise and support.

For information about health services and programming for First Nations in British Columbia contact the First Nations Health Authority.

About our partners

Indigenous Services Canada, the First Nations Health Council, and the British Columbia Ministry of Health are working together to implement the Framework Agreement.

The First Nations Health Council was created by First Nations in February 2007 to implement the Tripartite First Nations Health Plan. You can find out more about this organization and its role at  First Nations Health Council.

You can learn more about the BC Ministry of Health at  BC Ministry of Health.

Related Links

Date modified:

Plan tripartite pour la santé des Premières Nations en Colombie-Britannique

En vertu de l'Accord-cadre tripartite de la Colombie-Britannique sur la gouvernance de la santé par les Premières Nations, le gouvernement du Canada a transféré le 1er octobre 2013 son rôle en matière de conception, de gestion et de prestation des programmes de santé à l'intention des Premières Nations en Colombie-Britannique à la nouvelle Régie de la santé des Premières Nations.

Sur cette page

À propos de l'accord-cadre

Lorsqu'en 2006, les gouvernements fédéral et provincial et le First Nations Leadership Council (FNLC) de la Colombie-Britannique (C.-B.) ont conclu le Protocole d'entente sur le Plan tripartite pour la santé des Premières Nations, qui a mené au Plan tripartite pour la santé des Premières Nations en 2007, ils ont pris l'engagement de changer la façon dont les soins de santé destinés aux Premières Nations sont structurés et dispensés en C.-B. L'objet central de ce changement est d'accorder aux Premières Nations un rôle majeur dans la conception et la prestation de leurs soins de santé, tout en améliorant la coordination et l'intégration avec le système de santé provincial.

Le Plan tripartite pour la santé des Premières Nations de la C.-B. englobe plusieurs volets : travail visant à améliorer les services de santé, transition vers le mieux-être et la prévention des maladies en priorité, amélioration du suivi du rendement et création d'une nouvelle structure de gouvernance de la santé des Premières Nations.

Ensemble, les 3 partenaires progressent dans la réalisation des engagements pris dans le Plan tripartite pour la santé des Premières Nations de la C.-B. Par exemple, en août 2009, la ministre de la Santé a souligné que la nouvelle méthode de travail tripartite s'était révélée utile pour lutter de façon proactive contre la pandémie de grippe H1N1.

D'importants progrès ont également été réalisés dans la création d'une nouvelle structure de gouvernance de la santé des Premières Nations en C.-B., et les accords nécessaires à sa mise en œuvre sont maintenant en place. Le document Fondement d'un accord-cadre sur la gouvernance de la santé, signé en juillet 2010, a mené à la négociation d'un document historique : l'Accord-cadre sur la gouvernance de la santé des Premières Nations. Les Premières Nations de la C.-B. ont soutenu massivement une résolution à l'appui de l'accord-cadre lors du forum  Gathering Wisdom for a Shared Journey IV (non disponible en français), tenu en mai 2011 à Richmond, en C.-B. Ce vote a confirmé que les Premières Nations soutiennent la vision et l'orientation du First Nations Health Council et de la First Nations Health Society, de même que l'accord-cadre.

Ayant reçu l'appui des Premières Nations, de la Colombie-Britannique et du Canada, l'accord-cadre a été signé le 13 octobre 2011.

Importance de l'accord-cadre

L'accord-cadre constitue un jalon important pour la santé des membres et des communautés des Premières Nations de la C.-B. Il s'agit de l'accord juridique qui met en branle le processus de transfert à une nouvelle autorité sanitaire des Premières Nations du rôle du gouvernement du Canada en matière de conception et de prestation des programmes et des services de santé aux Premières Nations de la C.-B.

L'Autorité sanitaire des Premières Nations est l'une des composantes de cette nouvelle structure de gouvernance de la santé. Les autres sont un Conseil de la santé des Premières Nations qui assurera le leadership politique, un Comité tripartite sur la santé des Premières Nations qui soutiendra l'intégration, de même qu'une Association des directeurs de la santé des Premières Nations qui appuiera la capacité de gestion professionnelle dans les communautés et qui fournira des conseils d'expert.

Un certain nombre d'accords auxiliaires qui reposent sur les principes établis dans l'accord-cadre ont été achevés et ont facilité la mise en œuvre de l'accord-cadre.

Lorsque l'accord-cadre sera entièrement mis en œuvre, cette nouvelle structure de gouvernance de la santé permettra aux Premières Nations de tenir un rôle important dans la détermination et la définition de leurs propres besoins en santé, ainsi que dans la conception, la prestation et l'évaluation de programmes de santé qui répondent à ces besoins aux niveaux communautaire, régional et provincial.

Nouvelles relations en santé des Premières Nations

Dans le nouveau système, par le biais de l'Autorité sanitaire des Premières Nations et du Comité tripartite sur la santé des Premières Nations, les Premières Nations collaboreront étroitement avec le ministère de la Santé de la C.-B. et les autorités sanitaires régionales, de façon à mieux coordonner les programmes et les services. Cela rendra possible un système mieux intégré et de meilleurs résultats sur le plan de la santé pour les membres et les communautés des Premières Nations.

Au sein du partenariat tripartite actuel, Services aux Autochtones Canada tiendra le rôle de bailleur de fonds et de partenaire en matière de gouvernance. Le ministère demeurera donc un partenaire actif de la mise en œuvre du programme relatif à la santé des Premières Nations en C.-B., mais sans offrir ou définir les services comme auparavant. Nous continuerons de travailler avec les Premières Nations et la province de la C.-B. en vue de concrétiser notre vision commune, en fournissant sur une base continue connaissances, conseils, expertise et soutien.

Pour obtenir de l'information sur les services et les programmes de santé destinés aux Premières Nations de la Colombie-Britannique, contactez First Nations Health Authority. (span class="small">non disponible en français>)

Au sujet de nos partenaires

Services aux Autochtones Canada, le First Nations Health Council et le ministère de la Santé de la Colombie-Britannique travaillent de concert à la mise en œuvre de l'accord-cadre.

Le First Nations Health Council a été créé par les Premières Nations en février 2007 afin qu'il mette en œuvre le Plan tripartite pour la santé des Premières Nations. Pour apprendre davantage sur cette organisation et son rôle  First Nations Health Council (non disponible en français).

Il est possible d'obtenir davantage d'information sur le ministère de la Santé de la C.-B. sur le site ministère de la Santé de la C.-B (non disponible en français).

Liens connexes

Date de modification :