Working within the territorial health context: a framework to understanding and applying the northern lens

Find out how this framework will improve the understanding of First Nations and Inuit health in the territories.

On this page

Executive summary

Improving the overall health and wellbeing of First Nations and Inuit is an important mandate of Indigenous Services Canada (ISC). Despite progress, the health status of First Nations and Inuit, as measured by most major indicators of health, remains below that of the Canadian population. These discrepancies are rooted in a range of historical, political, cultural, geographical and jurisdictional factors.

Indigenous peoples make up the largest shares of the population of Nunavut and the Northwest Territories. This provides the foundation for great strengths as Indigenous cultures and traditional practices remain strong in communities. The territories rank better in some measures of wellbeing than the rest of Canada, with 71% to 83% of territorial residents feeling a "strong" or "somewhat strong" sense of belonging to their local community compared to only 64% for Canada. However, the legacies of colonization and residential schools and other important factors such as lack of access to adequate housing, high rates of food insecurity and limited resources in small communities, have contributed to high rates of suicide and widespread physical, sexual, verbal and emotional abuse affecting the health of First Nations and Inuit in the North (in this context, "North" refers specifically to the territories). This, as well as the geography and vastness of the territories, has contributed to poor health outcomes and makes health service delivery challenging. For more information on the risk and protective factors related to suicide among Inuit in the North, refer to the National Inuit Suicide Prevention Strategy (PDF).

The territories encompass almost 40% of the land mass of Canada, however, only 0.3% of the Canadian population lives there. Communities are generally small, varying in size from a population of 140 to just over 8,000, with the majority having approximately 500 to 1,000 residents. They tend to also be spread out over hundreds of kilometers, often in remote and isolated areas and only linked to other communities or parts of the country by air transportation and sometimes seasonally by winter road or barge. There is snow and ice cover for 7 to 10 months and permafrost in the soil.

These exceptional conditions create challenges in establishing and maintaining basic infrastructure, such as, transportation, communications, water and sewage. With limited highway access, the transportation of goods, as well as travelling to and from communities, can be costly and time consuming. It also impacts service delivery due to a heavy reliance on travel in and out of the territories.

The health service delivery context in the territories differs from other provinces. Territorial governments are responsible for delivering insured health services to all of their citizens, including First Nations and Inuit. Unlike other provinces, there are no First Nations reserves in the territories. Therefore, the federal government does not have a direct primary health care service delivery function for Indigenous communities. That being said, ISC provides funding for a variety of programs, such as home and community care, health promotion and disease prevention programs, Indian Residential Schools Resolution Health Support Program and the Health Services Integration Fund for First Nations, including those that are self-governing, and Inuit in the territories. There is variation in the delivery of Non-Insured Health Benefits (NIHB). In the Yukon, ISC delivers the full NIHB program to eligible First Nations, whereas in Northwest Territories and Nunavut, a portion of the program is delivered in partnership with territorial governments. In Northwest Territories, the territorial government provides equity of service delivery to Métis.

Purpose of the framework

To support the responsiveness of the federal program and policy development to the unique Northern context, ISC's Northern region developed this document with input from partners. This framework aims to build greater awareness across ISC and other federal departments of the health context across the territories. This is meant to ensure the unique needs and service delivery context of the North are considered in the development of policies and programs and that Indigenous governments, territorial governments and organizations are consulted and included in the development, implementation, enhancement, and evaluation of programs and services. The ultimate purpose of this framework is to reduce barriers to improved health outcomes for First Nations and Inuit in the North.

The framework is an evergreen document, which will be updated every 2 years to ensure its continued relevance.

Developing the framework

This inaugural version of the framework was developed by ISC's Northern region, in consultation with key partners delivering health services in the territories, to describe the unique territorial contexts, roles and responsibilities, program strengths and gaps and opportunities in each territory.

The framework is divided into 5 sections:

  1. Northern context: examines the legislative, policy, socio-historical and geographical context and considerations for ISC health services and programs.
  2. Health overview: provides an overview of the health system in the territories, the context for delivering health services and the common challenges for health service delivery amongst the territories that need to be addressed through coordinated action.
  3. Challenges delivering health services in the North: describes challenges shared by all 3 territories.
  4. Territorial profiles: provides a profile for each territory, including demographics, health status, role of key health partners, priorities, unique challenges, gaps and barriers.
  5. Implementation: describes how ISC can work with territorial partners to improve the health status of First Nations and Inuit in the territories. It includes an analytical tool, called the "Northern Lens", which supports consideration of the unique territorial context in policy and program development by policy makers.

Contact us

To obtain a copy of the entire framework or to provide feedback on how it can be improved, please contact ISC's Northern region:

Telephone: 1-866-509-1769
Email: sac.regiondunord-northernregion.isc@canada.ca

Date modified:

Découvrez comment ce cadre permettra de mieux comprendre la santé des Premières Nations et des Inuits dans les territoires.

Découvrez comment ce cadre permettra de mieux comprendre la santé des Premières Nations et des Inuits dans les territoires.

Sur cette page

Résumé

L'amélioration de la santé et du bien-être général des Premières Nations et des Inuits est un mandat important de Services aux Autochtones Canada (SAC). Malgré les progrès réalisés, l'état de santé des membres des Premières Nations et des Inuits demeure moins bon que celui de la population canadienne, selon la plupart des principaux indicateurs de la santé. Ces disparités sont ancrées dans divers éléments historiques, politiques, culturels, géographiques et d'autorité.

Les Autochtones constituent la population la plus importante au Nunavut et dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Cette présence fournit un fondement de forces importantes qui assurent que les pratiques culturelles et traditionnelles demeurent dynamiques dans les communautés. Les territoires se démarquent positivement du reste du Canada dans certaines mesures du bien être, de 71 à 83 % des résidents des territoires ayant un sentiment d'appartenance « fort » ou « plutôt fort » à leur communauté par rapport à seulement 64 % pour le Canada. Toutefois, l'héritage de la colonisation et des pensionnats, ainsi que d'autres facteurs importants comme le manque d'accès à un logement adéquat, les taux élevés d'insécurité alimentaire et les ressources limitées au sein des petites communautés, ont contribué aux taux élevés de suicide et de violence physique, sexuelle, verbale et émotionnelle généralisée qui affectent la santé des membres des Premières Nations et des Inuits du Nord (dans ce contexte, « le Nord » renvoie spécifiquement aux territoires). Ces phénomènes, de même que la géographie et l'immensité des territoires, ont contribué aux faibles résultats en matière de santé et compliquent la prestation des services de santé. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les facteurs de risque et de protection liés au suicide dans le Nord, consultez National Inuit Suicide Prevention Strategy (PDF) (non disponible en français).

Les territoires représentent près de 40 % de la portion continentale du Canada mais seulement 0,3 % de la population canadienne y vit. Les communautés sont généralement petites, leur population variant de 140 habitants à un peu plus de 8 000 habitants, la majorité d'entre elles comptant de 500 à 1 000 habitants. Généralement, elles se disséminent également sur des centaines de kilomètres, sont souvent situées dans des régions éloignées et isolées et sont seulement reliées entre elles ou au reste du pays par transport aérien et parfois par route d'hiver ou barge selon la saison. Les couverts de neige et de glace persistent de 7 à 10 mois, avec présence de pergélisol.

Ces conditions exceptionnelles créent des défis dans l'aménagement et l'entretien de l'infrastructure de base comme le transport, les communications, l'eau et les égouts. Avec un accès routier restreint, le transport des marchandises et les déplacements à destination et en provenance des communautés peuvent être coûteux et longs. Cela affecte également la prestation des services en raison de la grande dépendance aux déplacements à l'intérieur et vers l'extérieur des territoires.

Le contexte de la prestation des services de santé dans les territoires diffère de celui des provinces. Les gouvernements territoriaux sont responsables de la prestation des services de santé assurés à tous leurs citoyens, dont les membres des Premières Nations et les Inuits. Contrairement aux provinces, les territoires ne comptent aucune réserve des Premières Nations. Par conséquent, le gouvernement fédéral ne dispense pas directement de soins de santé primaires aux communautés autochtones. SAC finance toutefois divers programmes, comme les soins à domicile et en milieu communautaire, les programmes de promotion de la santé et de prévention des maladies, le Programme de soutien en santé – résolution des questions des pensionnats indiens et le Fonds d'intégration des services de santé pour les Premières Nations, y compris celles qui sont autonomes, et les Inuits des territoires. Le mode de prestation des Services de santé non assurés (SSNA) varie d'un territoire à l'autre. Au Yukon, SAC offre le programme complet des SSNA aux membres des Premières Nations admissibles, tandis que dans les Territoires du Nord Ouest et au Nunavut, une partie du programme est offerte en partenariat avec le gouvernement territorial. Dans les Territoires du Nord Ouest, le gouvernement territorial assure l'équité dans la prestation des services aux Métis.

Objectif du cadre

La région du Nord de SAC a produit le présent document avec le concours de ses partenaires afin que l'élaboration des politiques et des programmes fédéraux tienne compte du contexte particulier du Nord. Le cadre vise à sensibiliser davantage l'ensemble des employés de SAC et d'autres ministères fédéraux à la santé dans les territoires. Il s'agit d'assurer que les besoins et le contexte de prestation des services uniques du Nord soient pris en compte dans l'élaboration des politiques et des programmes et que les gouvernements, les gouvernements territoriaux et les organisations autochtones soient consultés et inclus dans l'élaboration, la mise en œuvre, l'amélioration ou l'évaluation des programmes et des services. L'objectif ultime du présent cadre est de réduire les obstacles à l'amélioration des résultats en matière de santé des membres des Premières Nations et des Inuits dans le Nord.

Le cadre est un document évolutif qui sera mis à jour aux 2 ans pour en assurer la pertinence.

Élaboration du cadre

Cette première version du cadre a été élaborée par la région du Nord de SAC, en consultation avec les partenaires clés fournissant des services de santé dans les territoires, afin de décrire les contextes uniques aux territoires, les rôles et les responsabilités, les forces des programmes ainsi que les lacunes et les possibilités que présente chaque territoire.

Le cadre comporte 5 sections :

  1. Le contexte du Nord : qui examine le contexte législatif, stratégique, sociohistorique et géographique ainsi que les considérations relatives aux services et programmes de santé de SAC.
  2. Survol de la situation en matière de santé : qui présente une vue d'ensemble du système de santé dans les territoires, le contexte entourant la prestation des services de santé, ainsi que les défis communs en matière de prestation des services de santé dans les territoires, qui doivent être relevés au moyen d'une action coordonnée.
  3. Défis de la prestation des services de santé dans le Nord : qui décrit les défis qu'ont en commun les 3 territoires.
  4. Profils des territoires : qui présente le profil de chaque territoire, notamment les données démographiques, l'état de santé, le rôle des principaux partenaires en santé, les priorités, les défis, les lacunes et obstacles uniques.
  5. Mise en œuvre : qui décrit comment SAC peut collaborer avec les partenaires territoriaux pour améliorer l'état de santé des membres des Premières Nations et des Inuits dans les territoires. Elle comprend un outil d'analyse, appelé « Optique du Nord », qui appuie la prise en compte du contexte particulier des territoires dans l'élaboration des politiques et des programmes par les responsables des politiques.

Contactez-nous

Pour obtenir une copie du cadre ou pour formuler des commentaires sur la façon dont celui-ci pourrait être amélioré, communiquez avec la région du Nord de SAC.

Téléphone : 1-866-509-1769
Courriel : sac.regiondunord-northernregion.isc@canada.ca

Date de modification :