Jordan's Principle: guidance on the best interest of a child

To find out who's covered under Jordan's Principle, visit Who is covered.

This tool provides guidance on the best interests of a child and Canada's implementation of Jordan's Principle. It is intended to help build understanding regarding the term "best interests of a child".

On this page

Summary

As part of the Government of Canada's review of Jordan's Principle requests, the best interests of a child must be considered. This means that requests for needed products, services, and supports are not only about ensuring substantive equality, but also making sure that the child's safety and well-being are considered when making decisions.

Background and definition of a right

The United Nations defines human rights as "rights inherent to all human beings, regardless of race, sex, nationality, ethnicity, language, religion or any other status."

As the Government of Canada seeks to achieve reconciliation with Indigenous peoples, a paradigm shift towards recognition of rights, respect, co-operation and partnership is required. The implementation of Jordan's Principle consistent with Canadian Human Rights Tribunal (CHRT) decisions is foundational to this work as it requires the government to work with First Nations in the co-development of a system of supports and services to consider the best interests of a child.

Jordan's Principle is a legal principle designed to address gaps in government-funded services and discrimination that can result in delay, disruption or denial of services to First Nations children. In 2017, the CHRT ruled that when a government-funded service is not necessarily available to all other children or is beyond the normative standard of care, the government department of first contact will evaluate the individual needs of the child to determine if the requested service should be provided to:

Evaluation of requests must also take into account a child's needs stemming from historical disadvantage, inequities and deficiencies in the availability of culturally informed public services.

Jordan's Principle also considers:

In applying Jordan's Principle, the government must recall and recognize that many of colonization's historical disadvantages and intergenerational impacts were based on a colonial concept of a child's best interests. For example, Canada's "Regulations relating to the education of Indian children" of 1894 allowed Indian agents to issue warrants to commit First Nations children to residential schools when the Indian agent thought the child's parent was "unfit or unwilling to provide for the child's education" or the child was "not properly cared for".

Similar rationales were used to justify the transformation of residential schools into child welfare institutions, on the basis that some First Nations parents would not be able to assume the responsibility for the care of their children. As the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples noted in 1996, these assessments, "were measured, of course, against non-Aboriginal norms." Similarly, in the course of the 60's scoop, which wreaked profound and lasting psychological damage on First Nations children and communities, government employees who placed thousands of First Nations children with non-Indigenous families were making decisions they thought were in the best interests of those children.

The implementation of Jordan's Principle helps First Nations children access the products, services and supports they need, when they need them. In order to consider the best interests of the child, Jordan's Principle recognizes that understanding the impact of intergenerational trauma and the role of the child in the family and community is needed to appropriately take all measures to help First Nations children have an equal chance to live up to their full potential, taking full account of their distinct culture.

Applying the best interests of the child lens

The CHRT has ordered Canada to take into account the best interests of the child in the evaluation of requests under Jordan's Principle.

The 1989 United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child (UNCRC) is the main United Nations human rights treaty on the protection of children. It has 4 general principles:

Canada ratified this convention in 1991, which also creates an obligation to consider the best interests of the child as a cornerstone to the application of Jordan's Principle.

The best interests of the child is a key child rights-based principle, enshrined in article 3(1) of the UNCRC providing:

"In all actions concerning children, whether undertaken by public or private social welfare institutions, courts of law, administrative authorities or legislative bodies, the best interests of the child shall be a primary consideration".

Also relevant in the specific context of Indigenous children, the UNCRC requires in article 30 that the child also:

"shall not be denied the right, in community with other members of his or her group, to enjoy his or her own culture, to profess and practice his or her own religion or to use his or her own language."

As a substantive right and guiding principle that aims to ensure the enjoyment of all rights in the UNCRC, the best interests of the child speaks to the child's holistic development and requires a rights-based approach that promotes the child's human dignity. As recognized in the United Nations Committee on the Rights of Child General, Comment 11, Indigenous children and their rights under the Convention, Indigenous children, "require special measures in order to fully enjoy their rights."

The UNCRC is a binding international human rights treaty ratified by Canada that requires governments to take all appropriate measures to ensure children have the full enjoyment of all rights under the convention. In order to meet its obligations, it is important for the Government of Canada to consider the potential impacts of legislation, budgets, policies, programs and practices on children's rights. When providing services or supports, the Government of Canada is obligated to take all appropriate measures to ensure that a child is protected from discrimination. The best interests of the child right and the non-discrimination right are both "general principles" of the UNCRC and are mutually reinforcing.

Taking into consideration the dehumanizing, colonialist and oppressive legacy faced by First Nations children throughout much of Canada's history, consideration of the best interests of the child is contextual and requires an assessment on a case-by-case basis.

Process used to consider the best interests of a child

Applying the lens of the best interests of a child under Jordan's Principle requires an evaluation of information, considering the specific circumstances of each identified child or group of children, as well as being responsive to each child's particular age, capacity, diagnosis, needs, maturity and circumstance.

Decisions made about the safety and well-being of First Nations children should be guided by the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples and the following principles:

Every First Nations child should:

The term "best interests" broadly describes the well-being of a child, which can be determined by a variety of individual circumstances, such as age, health status, presence or absence of parents, the child's environment, and life experiences.

When Indigenous Services Canada (ISC) receives a request under Jordan's Principle, the department's employees should consider the following factors in order to take into account the best interests of an identified First Nations child:

Other influential factors include:

The following questions guide a holistic best interests of the child approach when assessing a request to the implementation of Jordan's Principle:

  1. Has consideration been given to the whole child and their needs, including their physical, emotional, and spiritual well-being in the context of their right to grow up as a member of their cultural group?
  2. Has consideration been given to respect and protect the rights of the child as a First Nations person?
  3. Will the action preserve a sense of identity, belonging, acceptance, and connection of the child to their community?
  4. Do you understand the child's circumstances and the potential impact on their well-being and development?
  5. Has consideration been given to protect the safety and integrity of the child's care within their family and community?
  6. Have the child's rights relating to education, health, and safety been upheld?
  7. Have the child's views been considered and given due weight in accordance with their age and maturity?
Date modified:

Le principe de Jordan : Lignes directrices sur l’intérêt supérieur de l'enfant

Pour savoir qui est admissible au titre du principe de Jordan, visitez Qui est admissible.

Cet outil fournit des conseils sur l'intérêt supérieur de l'enfant et sur la mise en œuvre du principe de Jordan par le Canada. Il permet de mieux comprendre l'expression « intérêt supérieur de l'enfant ».

Sur cette page

Résumé

Dans le cadre de l'examen des demandes présentées au titre du principe de Jordan au gouvernement du Canada, l'intérêt supérieur de l'enfant doit être pris en considération. Cela signifie que les demandes de produits, de services et de mesures de soutien nécessaires doivent permettre de faire en sorte non seulement que le principe d'égalité réelle soit respecté, mais aussi que la sécurité et le bien‑être de l'enfant soient pris en compte dans le processus décisionnel.

Contexte et définition d'un droit

Les Nations Unies définissent un droit de la personne comme « un droit inaliénable de tous les êtres humains, peu importe leur race, sexe, nationalité, ethnicité, langue, religion ou toute autre condition ».

Le gouvernement du Canada souhaitant favoriser la réconciliation avec les peuples autochtones, un changement de paradigme est nécessaire pour favoriser la reconnaissance des droits, le respect, la collaboration et le partenariat. La mise en œuvre du principe de Jordan conformément aux décisions rendues par le Tribunal canadien des droits de la personne (TCDP) est une part essentielle de ce travail puisque le gouvernement fédéral doit collaborer avec les peuples des Premières Nations pour créer un système de soutien et de services qui tient compte de l'intérêt supérieur de l'enfant.

Le principe de Jordan est un principe juridique conçu pour lutter contre la discrimination et combler les lacunes dans les services financés par le gouvernement susceptibles d'entraîner un retard, une interruption ou un refus des services aux enfants des Premières Nations. En 2017, le TCDP a tranché que lorsqu'un service financé par le gouvernement n'est pas nécessairement offert à tous les autres enfants ou qu'il excède la norme en matière de soins, le ministère contacté en premier évaluera les besoins de l'enfant pour déterminer si le service demandé doit être fourni afin d'accomplir ce qui suit :

L'évaluation des demandes doit également tenir compte des besoins de l'enfant découlant du désavantage historique de même que des inégalités et des lacunes quant à l'accessibilité à des services publics adaptés sur le plan culturel.

Le principe de Jordan reconnaît aussi ce qui suit :

Pour appliquer le principe de Jordan, le gouvernement doit se rappeler et reconnaître que nombre des désavantages historiques et des répercussions intergénérationnelles liés à la colonisation se fondaient sur un concept colonial de l'intérêt supérieur de l'enfant. Par exemple, selon le « Règlement de 1894 relatif à l'éducation des enfants Sauvages », si un agent des affaires indiennes était d'avis que les parents « étaient incapables ou ne voulaient pas pourvoir à l'éducation de l'enfant » ou qu'un enfant des Premières Nations « ne recevait pas les soins nécessaires », il pouvait délivrer un mandat aux termes duquel l'enfant était placé dans un pensionnat.

Des justifications similaires ont été utilisées pour expliquer la transformation des pensionnats en établissements de protection de l'enfance, transformation qui se fondait sur le principe selon lequel certains parents des Premières Nations n'étaient pas en mesure de prendre soin de leur enfant. Comme l'a souligné la Commission royale sur les peuples autochtones en 1996, ces évaluations se faisaient « bien entendu, en fonction de critères non autochtones ». De plus, pendant la rafle des années 1960, qui a laissé des cicatrices psychologiques profondes et durables sur les enfants et les communautés des Premières Nations, les intervenants du gouvernement qui ont placé des milliers d'enfants des Premières Nations dans des familles non autochtones ont pris des décisions qui, selon eux, étaient dans l'intérêt supérieur de ces enfants.

La mise en œuvre du principe de Jordan permet de veiller à ce que tous les enfants des Premières Nations puissent obtenir les produits, les services et les mesures de soutien dont ils ont besoin, au moment où ils en ont besoin. Afin de tenir compte de l'intérêt supérieur de l'enfant, le principe de Jordan reconnaît qu'il faut comprendre l'incidence des traumatismes intergénérationnels ainsi que le rôle de l'enfant dans la famille et la communauté pour prendre toutes les mesures qui s'imposent afin de s'assurer que chaque enfant des Premières Nations puisse réaliser son plein potentiel dans le respect de sa propre culture.

Application de l'intérêt supérieur de l'enfant

Le TCDP a ordonné au Canada de tenir compte de l'intérêt supérieur de l'enfant lors de son évaluation des demandes présentées aux termes du principe de Jordan.

La Convention relative aux droits de l'enfant (CDENU) de 1989 est le principal traité sur les droits de la personne des Nations Unies portant sur la protection de l'enfant. Il compte 4 grands principes :

Comme le Canada a ratifié cette convention en 1991, il doit tenir compte de l'intérêt supérieur de l'enfant en tant que pierre angulaire de l'application du principe de Jordan.

La protection de l'intérêt supérieur de l'enfant est un des grands principes fondés sur les droits de l'enfant dont il est fait état au paragraphe 3(1) de la CDENU :

« Dans toutes les décisions qui concernent les enfants, qu'elles soient le fait des institutions publiques ou privées de protection sociale, des tribunaux, des autorités administratives ou des organes législatifs, l'intérêt supérieur de l'enfant doit être une considération primordiale. »

De plus, en ce qui concerne les enfants autochtones, l'article 30 de la CDENU précise que l'enfant :

« ne peut être privé du droit d'avoir sa propre vie culturelle, de professer et de pratiquer sa propre religion ou d'employer sa propre langue en commun avec les autres membres de son groupe ».

En tant que droit substantiel et principe directeur visant à assurer l'entière jouissance de l'ensemble des droits établis dans la CDENU, l'intérêt supérieur de l'enfant est directement lié au développement général de ce dernier et demande l'adoption d'une approche fondée sur les droits qui fait la promotion de la dignité humaine de l'enfant. Comme il est reconnu dans l'observation générale 11 du Comité des droits de l'enfant des Nations Unies sur les enfants autochtones et leurs droits au titre de la convention, les enfants autochtones « ont besoin de mesures spéciales pour exercer pleinement leurs droits ».

La CDENU est un traité international relatif aux droits de la personne juridiquement contraignant que le Canada a ratifié afin que tous les gouvernements soient tenus de prendre toutes les mesures qui s'imposent pour assurer que les enfants profitent pleinement de leurs droits aux termes de la Convention. Pour respecter ses obligations au titre de la CDENU, il est important que le gouvernement du Canada tienne compte des possibles répercussions des lois, des budgets, des politiques, des programmes et des pratiques sur les droits des enfants. Lorsqu'il offre des services et des mesures de soutien, le gouvernement du Canada est tenu de prendre toutes les mesures qui s'imposent pour assurer la protection de l'enfant contre la discrimination. L'intérêt supérieur de l'enfant ainsi que son droit à la non-discrimination sont tous deux des « principes généraux » de la CDENU et se renforcent mutuellement.

Compte tenu de l'héritage reposant sur la déshumanisation, le colonialisme et l'oppression auquel les enfants des Premières Nations ont fait face pendant une bonne partie de l'histoire du Canada, la prise en considération de l'intérêt supérieur de l'enfant est contextuelle et nécessite une évaluation au cas par cas.

Processus utilisé pour prendre en compte l'intérêt supérieur de l'enfant

La mise en application de la perspective de l'intérêt supérieur de l'enfant au titre du principe de Jordan exige une évaluation de l'information et la prise en compte des circonstances de chaque enfant ou groupe d'enfants d'une façon qui soit adaptée à l'âge de l'enfant, à sa capacité, à son diagnostic, à ses besoins, à sa maturité et à ses circonstances.

Les décisions rendues au sujet de la sécurité et du bien‑être des enfants des Premières Nations devraient se fonder sur la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones et les principes ci-après :

Chaque enfant des Premières Nations a le droit :

Le terme « intérêt supérieur » décrit en mots généraux le bien‑être d'un enfant, qui peut être déterminé par diverses circonstances individuelles, comme l'âge, l'état de santé, la présence ou l'absence de parents, l'environnement de l'enfant et les expériences de vie.

Lorsque Services aux Autochtones Canada (SAC) reçoit une demande au titre du principe de Jordan, les employés du ministère doivent tenir compte des facteurs suivants afin de dûment prendre en considération l'intérêt supérieur d'un enfant des Premières Nations :

D'autres facteurs peuvent aussi avoir une influence :

Les questions suivantes orientent une approche globale de l'intérêt supérieur de l'enfant au moment d'évaluer une demande d'application du principe de Jordan :

  1. A‑t‑on pris en considération l'ensemble de la situation de l'enfant et ses besoins, y compris son bien‑être physique, émotionnel et spirituel en ce qui a trait à son droit de grandir en tant que membre de son groupe culturel?
  2. A-t-on pris en considération le respect et la protection des droits de l'enfant en tant que membre des Premières Nations?
  3. Les mesures prises permettront‑elles à l'enfant de conserver un sens de l'identité, d'appartenance, d'acceptation et de connexion au sein de sa communauté?
  4. Comprenez‑vous les circonstances de l'enfant et l'incidence possible sur son bien‑être et son développement?
  5. A‑t‑on pris en considération la protection de la sécurité et de l'intégrité des soins offerts à l'enfant au sein de sa famille et de sa communauté?
  6. Les droits de l'enfant relatifs à l'éducation, à la santé et à la sécurité ont‑ils été respectés?
  7. Les points de vue de l'enfant ont‑ils été pris en compte et une importance leur a‑t‑elle été accordée en fonction de l'âge et du degré de maturité de ce dernier?
Date de modification :