First Nations On-Reserve Housing Program

The First Nations On-Reserve Housing Program helps provide more and better quality housing in First Nations communities in most of Canada. In British Columbia, support for better quality housing is provided through the Housing Support Program (formerly known as New Approach for Housing Support).

On this page

About the program

From 2015-2016 to 2019-2020, Indigenous Services Canada (ISC) provided an average of $149.5 million per year to improve First Nations on-reserve housing. First Nations can use these funds to build and renovate houses as well as contribute towards costs such as maintenance, insurance, debt servicing and the planning and management of a housing portfolio.

ISC does not cover the full cost of housing. First Nations communities and their residents are also expected to secure funding from other sources for their housing needs including shelter charges and private-sector loans.

The On-Reserve Housing Program and the B.C. Housing Support Program are part of ISC's Capital Facilities and Maintenance Program.

The Government of Canada also invests annually in other housing programs including Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation's On-Reserve Non-Profit Housing Program (Section 95) and the Residential Rehabilitation Assistance Program (RRAP).

Who can apply

First Nations in all provinces and Yukon that receive annual housing funding allocations through ISC’s 1996 On-Reserve Housing Policy do not need to apply.

Information on eligibility for applicants to the B.C. Housing Support Program.

Deadline

Annual funding allocations received under ISC's 1996 On-Reserve Housing Policy are provided to First Nations at the beginning of the fiscal year (April 1).

There is no deadline to submit an application under the B.C. Housing Support Program. Proposals can be submitted throughout the year.

How to apply

First Nations that receive annual housing funding allocations through ISC's 1996 On-Reserve Housing Policy do not need to apply.

To apply to the B.C. Housing Support Program, please contact the ISC British Columbia regional office at 1-800-567-9604 or 604-775-5100 and ask to speak to the Housing Officer assigned to your community. They will provide you with the appropriate application templates and answer any questions you may have about this program.

On-Reserve Housing Policy

In 1996, the Government of Canada introduced the On-Reserve Housing Policy. It allows First Nations to play a key role in how, where and when housing funds are invested.

The 1996 policy's principles are:

The 1996 On-Reserve Housing Policy applies to First Nations in all provinces and Yukon, except for approximately 200 First Nations in British Columbia who did not opt into the Policy. In British Columbia, First Nations can apply for housing funding through the Housing Support Program, which allows smaller First Nations in British Columbia to receive fair access to funding.

Success stories

Date modified:

Programme de logement dans les réserves des Premières Nations

Le Programme de logement dans les réserves des Premières Nations contribue à fournir un plus grand nombre de logements et des logements de meilleure qualité dans les communautés des Premières Nations presque partout au Canada. En Colombie-Britannique, le soutien à l'accès à des logements de meilleure qualité est fourni par l'entremise du programme d'aide au logement (anciennement appelé Nouvelle approche d'aide au logement).

Sur cette page

Au sujet du programme

De l'exercice de 2015 à 2016 à l'exercice de 2019 à 2020, Services aux Autochtones Canada (SAC) a fourni une moyenne de 149,5 millions de dollars par an pour améliorer le logement des Premières Nations dans les réserves. Les Premières Nations peuvent utiliser ces fonds pour construire ou rénover des logements, ou pour payer pour leur entretien, les assurances, le service de la dette ou la planification et la gestion d'un portefeuille de logements.

SAC n'assume pas la totalité du coût des logements. On s'attend à ce que les communautés des Premières Nations et leurs résidants trouvent d'autres sources de financement pour combler leurs besoins en matière de logement, y compris les frais des logements et les prêts du secteur privé.

Le Programme de logement dans les réserves et le programme d'aide au logement en Colombie Britannique font partie du Programme d'immobilisations et d'entretien de SAC.

Le gouvernement du Canada investit également chaque année dans d'autres programmes de logement, notamment le Programme de logement sans but lucratif dans les réserves (article 95) de la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement et le Programme d'aide à la remise en état des logements (PAREL).

Qui peut présenter une demande

Les Premières Nations de toutes les provinces et du Yukon qui reçoivent déjà des allocations annuelles de fonds dans le cadre de la Politique de SAC sur le logement dans les réserves (1996) n'ont pas besoin de présenter une demande.

Information sur l'admissibilité des demandeurs au programme d'aide au logement en Colombie-Britannique

Date limite

Les allocations annuelles de financement reçues en vertu de la Politique de SAC sur le logement dans les réserves de 1996 sont versées aux Premières Nations au début de l'exercice financier (1er avril).

Il n'y a pas de date limite pour soumettre une demande dans le cadre du programme d'aide au logement en Colombie-Britannique. Les propositions peuvent être soumises tout au long de l'année.

Comment présenter une demande

Les Premières Nations qui reçoivent des allocations annuelles de financement du logement en vertu de la Politique de SAC sur le logement dans les réserves de 1996 n'ont pas besoin de présenter une demande.

Pour présenter une demande dans le cadre du programme d'aide au logement en Colombie-Britannique, communiquez avec le bureau régional de SAC en Colombie-Britannique au 1-800-567-9604 ou au 604-775-5100 et demandez à parler à l'agent du logement affecté à votre communauté. Il vous fournira les modèles de demande appropriés et répondra à toutes vos questions concernant ce programme.

Politique sur le logement dans les réserves

En 1996, le gouvernement du Canada a établi la Politique sur le logement dans les réserves. Elle permet aux Premières Nations de décider comment, où et quand les fonds affectés au logement seront investis.

Principes de la politique de 1996 :

La Politique sur le logement dans les réserves de 1996 s'applique aux Premières Nations de toutes les provinces et du Yukon, à l'exception d'environ 200 Premières Nations en Colombie-Britannique qui ont décidé de ne pas souscrire à la politique. En Colombie-Britannique, les Premières Nations peuvent présenter une demande de financement aux termes du programme d'aide au logement, qui permet à de plus petites Premières Nations en Colombie-Britannique d'avoir un accès équitable à du financement.

Histoires de réussite

Date de modification :