Creating innovative homes in Tla-o-qui-aht First Nations

Photo Credit: Tla-o-qui-aht First Nations

Faced with a growing population and limited housing options, Tla-o-qui-aht First Nations in British Columbia, turned shipping containers into rental homes.

"Our Tla-o-qui-aht workforce developed the capacity to successfully build these beautiful homes, and we are very proud of their achievements," said Acting Chief Terry Dorward. Situated on the west coast of Vancouver Island, in Tofino, British Columbia, the Tla-o-qui-aht First Nations has approximately 1,200 members, of which less than 400 live on reserve. With an ever-growing population and limited housing options, Tla-o-qui-aht First Nations identified an innovative solution. The community partnered with Indigenous Services Canada (ISC) and repurposed several shipping containers, turning them into 21 rental homes (16 studio suites and five family homes). The new homes will provide housing for First Nations members and seasonal workers in the community.

In addition to housing, this project created jobs and economic development opportunities for the First Nation. Tla-o-qui-aht First Nations developed its own workforce and trained members through a carpentry program at North Island College that was sponsored by ISC and the Canada Mortgage Housing Corporation (CMHC). "This new housing complex is a part of our Tla-o-qui-aht First Nations economic strategic plan to both provide homes to our workers and create much-needed revenue," explains Chief Dorward.

Tla-o-qui-aht First Nations' innovative container housing complex has been shared as a success story with other communities and has garnered significant media coverage for its unique approach to solving on-reserve housing issues.

Reliable infrastructure, such as housing, is one of the Government of Canada's key priorities. The Government of Canada is making significant investments and working with First Nations to improve housing and reduce overcrowding on reserve. In British Columbia, First Nations can apply for housing funds through ISC's New Approach for Housing Support Program. For this housing complex, ISC contributed $1.5 million and CMHC provided $905,000.

Date modified:

Création de logements innovateurs dans la Première Nation des Tla-o-qui-aht

Photo : Première Nation des Tla-o-qui-aht

La Première Nation des Tla-o-qui-aht en Colombie-Britannique, dont la population ne cesse de croître et les options sont limitées en matière de logement, ont transformé des conteneurs d'expédition en logement locatifs.

« Notre main-d'œuvre Tla-o-qui-aht a acquis la capacité de construire avec succès ces magnifiques maisons, et nous sommes très fiers de leurs réalisations », a déclaré le chef par intérim, Terry Dorward. Située sur la côte ouest de l'île de Vancouver, à Tofino, en Colombie-Britannique, la Première Nation des Tla-o-qui-aht compte environ 1 200 membres, dont moins de 400 vivent dans la réserve. La Première Nation des Tla-o-qui-aht, dont la population ne cesse de croître et les options sont limitées en matière de logement, ont trouvé une solution novatrice. La communauté s'est associée à Services aux Autochtones Canada (SAC) pour transformer plusieurs conteneurs d'expédition en 21 logements locatifs (16 studios et 5 maisons familiales). Ces nouvelles habitations pourront loger des membres de la Première Nation et des travailleurs saisonniers au sein de la communauté.

En plus du logement, ce projet a créé des emplois et des possibilités de développement économique pour la Première Nation. La Première Nation des Tla-o-qui-aht a formé sa propre main-d'œuvre et ses membres dans le cadre d'un programme de menuiserie au Collège North Island, parrainé par SAC et la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement (SCHL). « Ce nouveau complexe domiciliaire s'inscrit dans la planification stratégique économique de la Première Nation des Tla-o-qui-aht visant à fournir des logements à nos travailleurs et à produire les revenus dont nous avons tant besoin, » a expliqué le chef Dorward.

Le complexe domiciliaire novateur de logements-conteneurs de la Première Nation des Tla-o-qui-aht a été présenté comme un exemple de réussite à d'autres communautés et a fait l'objet d'une importante couverture médiatique en raison de son approche unique pour résoudre les problèmes de logement dans les réserves.

Une infrastructure fiable, comme le logement, est l'une des principales priorités du gouvernement du Canada. Le gouvernement du Canada fait des investissements importants et collabore avec les Premières Nations pour améliorer le logement et réduire le surpeuplement dans les réserves. En Colombie-Britannique, les Premières Nations peuvent présenter une demande de financement du logement dans le cadre de la Nouvelle approche à l'égard du soutien au logement de SAC. Pour ce complexe domiciliaire, SAC a versé 1,5 million de dollars et la SCHL, 905 000 $.

Date de modification :