Indigenous health care in Canada

Canada's health care system

The organization of Canada's health care system is largely determined by the Canadian Constitution, in which roles and responsibilities are divided between the federal, provincial and territorial governments. Generally, provinces and territories have primary jurisdiction over the administration and delivery of health care services. This includes setting their own priorities, administering their health care budgets and managing their own resources. The federal government exercises a role in health care primarily through the use of the federal spending power. The Canada Health Act, Canada's legislation imposing national standards on provincial health care insurance plans as a condition of accepting a federal contribution to the cost of those plans, is an example of the use of the federal spending power.

In order for provinces and territories to receive their full federal cash contribution under the Canada Health Transfer, provincial and territorial health insurance plans must meet national principles established under the Canada Health Act (such as public administration, comprehensiveness, universality, portability and accessibility). The act requires that all medically necessary hospital, physician and surgical dental services (such as, insurable health services) be covered by provincial or territorial health care insurance plans for all eligible residents of the province or territory, including Indigenous Peoples. Although the act establishes broad, national principles that govern the Canadian health care insurance system as a whole, it does not set standards for the delivery of insured health services, such as timeliness or the quality of care received. It is the responsibility of the provinces and territories to manage the operation of their health care systems. Provinces and territories also provide a wide range of services that fall outside the Canada Health Act’s definition of insured health services, such as dental and vision care services, residential long-term care and chronic home care services. Provinces and territories do so at their discretion, and on their own terms and conditions. As such, the scope of services, level of coverage, and eligibility criteria vary from one province or territory to another.

With respect to health care for Indigenous peoples, which include First Nations, Inuit and Métis, the federal, provincial and territorial levels of government share some degree of jurisdiction. The Canadian health system is a complex patchwork of policies, legislation and relationships. Indigenous peoples are included in the per capita allocations of funding from the federal fiscal transfer and are entitled to access insured provincial and territorial health services as residents of a province or territory. Indigenous Services Canada funds or directly provides services for First Nations and Inuit that supplement those provided by provinces and territories, including primary health care, health promotion and supplementary health benefits.

Indigenous Services Canada also funds or directly provides certain health care services to First Nations communities and funds the provision of certain community health programs for Inuit living in Inuit Nunangat. This is in addition to federal funding provided to territorial governments. Indigenous Services Canada also funds non-insured health care benefits to eligible First Nations and recognized Inuit regardless of where they live in Canada. Health Canada and the Public Health Agency of Canada provide funding for programs that target, in part, Indigenous peoples who live in urban settings or in northern communities. The Public Health Agency of Canada is also responsible for promoting and protecting the health of all Canadians, which includes Indigenous peoples, regardless of where they reside and offers an array of grants and contribution funding aimed at promoting health, as well as preventing and controlling chronic diseases, injuries and infectious diseases. Federal funding for First Nations and Inuit health services is provided through annual appropriations and is subject to discretionary increases or reductions by the federal government. This is in contrast with the main federal transfer to provinces and territories for health (that is, the Canada Health Transfer), which is protected in legislation. For Métis, off-reserve First Nations and non-status First Nations, services and benefits are primarily provided for by provinces and territories.

Provinces have broad powers under the Constitution in relation to the provision of health care to all individuals in the province, and territories enjoy powers of a parallel scope. Acting under these authorities, provinces and territories have enacted legislation governing matters such as the regulation of health care professionals. Provinces and territories provide universally accessible and publicly insured health services to all residents, including First Nations, Inuit and Métis.

A coordinated approach to address the health needs of First Nations, Inuit and Métis, and health care delivery among all levels of government including Indigenous governments, remains an ongoing challenge. Improved clarity and a shared understanding of the role of various levels of government is needed, including for Métis, off-reserve First Nations and urban Inuit populations.

Indigenous health in federal, provincial and territorial legislation and policy

Provincial and territorial legislation

Many provinces and territories have enacted legislative provisions recognizing matters such as the value and role of Indigenous groups in the planning and delivery of health services in their communities or the importance of culture and traditional healing practices. For example, some provincial and territorial legislation:

  • highlights the importance of partnerships with Indigenous groups (YT)
  • seeks to identify and address the health needs of particular groups within the population, including Indigenous peoples (BC)
  • recognizes the values and role of Indigenous groups in the planning and delivery of health services in their communities or notes that the Minister could enter into agreements with Indigenous organizations and bodies (BC, AB, SK, ON, NS, NB, NU)
  • ensures Indigenous representation on various health-related boards, committees and regional health authorities (NB, YT)
  • provides that self-government agreements shall prevail in a conflict (NL, YT)
  • includes provisions related to traditional healing practices (PEI, YT, NU) or recognition that Indigenous midwives should be exempt from control specified under the code of professions (MB, ON, QC, PEI, YT, NU); Ontario further extends this exemption to traditional healers
  • states that culture should be taken into account during mental health assessments, for example, consultation with an Elder or cultural advisor (NWT, NU)
  • exempts traditional Indigenous spiritual, cultural practices or ceremonies from regulations under tobacco control acts (BC, NWT)
  • references role of Indigenous people in health information, privacy and management and/or notes that the province can disclose health information to an Indigenous government for the development of health programs and services (MB, PEI, YT, NWT)
  • includes provisions to negotiate additional jurisdiction (AB, SK, ON, QC, NL, NB) or provisions to make bylaws to promote the health, safety and welfare of the residents within a defined area and to enhance Indigenous control over issues such as health (AB)

Self-governing First Nations, Inuit and Métis governments

Canada recognizes that First Nations, Inuit and Métis have an inherent right of self-government protected by section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982. Canada recognizes that First Nations, Inuit and Métis have the right to govern themselves in relation to matters that are internal to their communities, integral to their unique cultures, identities, traditions, languages and institutions, and with respect to their special relationship to their land and their resources. Canada also recognizes that the inherent right to self-government may find expression in different ways, including through treaties and through agreements with federal and provincial governments.

Negotiated agreements put decision-making power into the hands of First Nations, Inuit and Métis governments who make their own choices about how to deliver programs and services to their communities. Negotiated agreements can also serve to better define the roles and responsibilities for program service and delivery. However, not all self-government agreements include health. For those that do, some examples of health related provisions include:

  • an Indigenous government may make laws and/or has jurisdiction with respect to health services
  • an Indigenous government may make laws and/or has jurisdiction with respect to traditional healing services, including maintenance of the practice and training of persons providing the traditional health services (for example, traditional healers)
  • self-government negotiations shall address, and self-government agreements may include, matters related to health
  • an Indigenous government is responsible for the administration of health services

In Quebec, Yukon, Newfoundland and Labrador, provincial and territorial legislation contains provisions related to existing self-government agreements, thereby clarifying the roles and responsibilities of these provinces and territories in health in the areas included in these self-government agreements.

Promising models and emerging pathways

With the 1979 Indian Health Policy and the 1988 Health Transfer Policy framework, First Nations and Inuit have realized enhanced control of health services. While self-government and land claim agreements have also created unique models and can set out law-making authority in many areas including health, there are many emerging trends in Indigenous health transformation, jurisdictional coordination and collaborative processes, which are helping to provide some coherence to Canada's complex health care system.

In Quebec, the health care needs of Nunavik Inuit and James Bay Cree are served through unique structures under the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement. These are co-funded by federal and provincial governments, managed by First Nations and Inuit authorities (the Cree Board of Health and Social Services of James Bay and the Nunavik Regional Board of Health and Social Services), and linked to the provincial health care system. Quebec legislation (Chapter S-5—An Act respecting health services and social services for Cree Native persons, 1991) gives the health minister the ability to exercise their power to work collaboratively with citizens within the territory of James Bay to improve health services and infrastructure within the territory. The act also ensures the rights of citizens within the territory to receive fair, equitable and, in some cases, specific health services of their choosing.

While more administrative in nature, similar co-funding arrangements by federal and provincial governments also support Indigenous health authorities in Saskatchewan. The Athabasca Health Authority serves several First Nations and Métis communities, and the Northern Inter-Tribal Health Authority serves nearly half of all First Nations within that province.

In British Columbia, a new era in First Nations health was forged in 2011 with the signing of the British Columbia Tripartite Framework Agreement in First Nation Health Governance. This tripartite agreement created a new province-wide First Nations Health Authority in 2013 with a direct leadership role for the design, delivery and management of health programs and services for First Nation communities in British Columbia. The tripartite partners work closely together to improve health outcomes for British Columbia First Nations communities through a First Nations health governance structure that addresses health and other inequities experienced by First Nations and works to identify opportunities for stronger coordination with provincial programs and services.

In other parts of Canada, including Manitoba, Ontario and Quebec, the Government of Canada is supporting First Nations-led institutions and organizations to increase their control over the design and delivery of First Nations health services and to advance Indigenous cultural safety and self-determination in health care. These health transformation projects aim to improve health outcomes and access to services for First Nations. Each project is unfolding in a unique way depending on the priorities of First Nations communities. With federal funding support and guidance, efforts are underway to create organizational capacity, engage community members to identify health priorities, create provincial and federal partnerships, explore and develop governance and service models, and work towards service delivery improvements on the path to a full transfer of control. This work has resulted in some promising developments:

  • A tripartite Memorandum of Understanding was signed in 2019 by the First Nations of Quebec and Labrador Health and Social Services Commission, Canada and the province of Quebec that committed the partners to work towards a new health and social services governance model.
  • In 2021, the Nishnawbe Aski Nation (NAN) signed a trilateral statement with Canada and the province of Ontario, committing to work together in partnership to support the establishment of a First Nations health services delivery system in NAN Territory. NAN has actively worked with their communities to identify key health priorities requiring immediate action in conjunction with exploring new models of health service delivery that will bring services closer to home and build capacity in northern communities to access and deliver more culturally responsive services.
  • The Manitoba Keewatinowi Okimakanak has established the Keewatinohk Inniniw Minoayawin, which is an aggregated northern First Nations led-health entity, who are exploring new innovative primary care services models tailored specifically for northern communities and preparing to assume the responsibility for service delivery of programming.
  • The Southern Chiefs' Organization and Canada signed a Memorandum of Understanding to establish a new health governance model focused on equitable and culturally appropriate health care for First Nations in southern Manitoba.
Date modified:

Soins de santé pour les Autochtones au Canada

Le système de soins de santé du Canada

L'organisation du système de soins de santé du Canada est largement déterminée par la Constitution canadienne, en vertu de laquelle les rôles et responsabilités sont répartis entre le gouvernement fédéral et les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux. En général, les provinces et territoires ont la compétence principale sur l'administration et la prestation des services de soins de santé. Cela inclut l'établissement de leurs propres priorités, l'administration de leurs budgets de soins de santé et la gestion de leurs propres ressources. Le gouvernement fédéral joue un rôle en matière de soins de santé principalement par l'utilisation du pouvoir fédéral de dépenser. La Loi canadienne sur la santé, la législation canadienne imposant des normes nationales sur les régimes d'assurance-maladie provinciaux à titre de condition de l'acceptation d'une contribution fédérale aux coûts de ces régimes, est un exemple de l'utilisation du pouvoir fédéral de dépenser.

Pour que les provinces et territoires reçoivent la totalité de la contribution fédérale en espèces au titre du Transfert canadien en matière de santé, les régimes d'assurance-maladie provinciaux-territoriaux doivent respecter les principes nationaux établis en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la santé (c'est-à-dire administration publique, intégralité, universalité, transférabilité et accessibilité). La loi exige que tous les services hospitaliers, médicaux et chirurgicaux dentaires médicalement nécessaires (c'est-à-dire les services de santé assurables) soient couverts par les régimes d'assurance maladie provinciaux-territoriaux pour tous les résidents admissibles de la province ou du territoire, y compris les peuples autochtones. Bien que la Loi canadienne sur la santé établisse des principes généraux et nationaux qui régissent l'ensemble du système canadien d'assurance-maladie, elle ne fixe pas de normes pour la prestation des services de santé assurés, comme la rapidité ou la qualité des soins reçus. Il incombe aux provinces et territoires de gérer le fonctionnement de leurs systèmes de soins de santé. Les provinces et territoires fournissent également, à leur discrétion et selon leurs propres conditions, un large éventail de services qui ne font pas partie de la définition des services de santé assurés de la Loi canadienne sur la santé, tels que les services de soins dentaires et visuels, les soins de longue durée en établissement et les services de soins à domicile pour malades chroniques. Ainsi, la portée des services, le niveau de couverture et les critères d'admissibilité varient d'une province ou d'un territoire à l'autre.

En ce qui concerne les soins de santé pour les peuples autochtones, ce qui comprend les Premières Nations, les Inuit et les Métis, les paliers de gouvernement fédéral, provincial et territorial partagent un certain degré de compétence. Le système de santé canadien est un ensemble disparate complexe de politiques, de lois et de relations. Les peuples autochtones sont inclus dans les allocations de financement par habitant provenant du transfert fiscal fédéral et ont le droit d'avoir accès aux services de santé provinciaux et territoriaux assurés en tant que résidents d'une province ou d'un territoire. Services aux Autochtones Canada finance ou fournit directement des services aux Premières Nations et aux Inuit qui complètent ceux offerts par les provinces et les territoires, notamment les soins de santé primaires, la promotion de la santé et les prestations de santé supplémentaires.

Services aux Autochtones Canada finance ou fournit directement des services de soins de santé aux communautés des Premières Nations, et finance la prestation de certains programmes communautaires en soins de santé aux Inuit qui habitent dans l'Inuit Nunangat, en plus du financement fédéral fournis aux gouvernements des territoires. Services aux Autochtones Canada finance également des prestations de soins de santé non assurées aux Premières Nations admissibles et aux Inuit reconnus, indépendamment de leur lieu de résidence au Canada. Santé Canada et l'Agence de santé publique du Canada financent également des programmes qui ciblent, en partie, les populations autochtones qui habitent en milieu urbain ou dans les communautés du Nord. L'Agence de la santé publique du Canada est également responsable de la promotion et de la protection de la santé de tous les Canadiens, y compris les peuples autochtones, quel que soit leur lieu de résidence. Elle offre un éventail de subventions et de contributions visant à promouvoir la santé, ainsi qu'à prévenir et à contrôler les maladies chroniques, les blessures et les maladies infectieuses. Le financement fédéral des services de santé des Premières Nations et des Inuit est assuré par des crédits annuels et fait l'objet d'augmentations ou de réductions discrétionnaires par le gouvernement fédéral. Cela contraste avec le principal transfert fédéral aux provinces et territoires pour la santé (c'est-à-dire le Transfert canadien en matière de santé), qui est protégé par la loi.

Pour les Métis, les Premières Nations vivant hors-réserves et les Premières Nations non inscrites, les services et les avantages sont principalement fournis par les provinces et les territoires. Les provinces ont des pouvoirs étendus en vertu de la Constitution en ce qui concerne la prestation de soins de santé à tous les citoyens de la province; les territoires jouissent de pouvoirs d'une portée parallèle. En vertu de ces pouvoirs, les provinces et territoires ont adopté des lois régissant des questions telles que la réglementation des professionnels de la santé. Les provinces et territoires fournissent des services de santé universellement accessibles et assurés par l'État à tous les résidents, y compris les Premières Nations, les Inuit et es Métis.

L’adoption d’une approche coordonnée visant à répondre aux besoins de santé des Premières Nations, des Inuit et des Métis et la prestation de soins de santé à tous les niveaux de gouvernement, y compris les gouvernements autochtones, reste un défi permanent. Il est nécessaire d'améliorer la clarté et la compréhension commune du rôle des différents paliers de gouvernement, y compris pour les Métis, les Premières Nations vivant hors-réserve, et pour les Inuit qui habitent en milieu urbain.

La santé des Autochtones dans la législation et les politiques fédérales, provinciales et territoriales

Législation provinciale-territoriale

Bon nombre de provinces et de territoires ont adopté des dispositions législatives visant à connaître des questions telles que la valeur et le rôle des groupes autochtones dans la planification et la prestation des services de santé dans leurs communautés ou l'importance de la culture et des pratiques de guérison traditionnelles. Ainsi, certaines lois provinciales territoriales :

  • soulignent l'importance des partenariats avec les groupes autochtones (Yukon);
  • cherchent à déterminer les besoins de santé de groupes particuliers au sein de la population, y compris les peuples autochtones ( Colombie-Britannique), et à y répondre;
  • reconnaissent les valeurs et le rôle des groupes autochtones dans la planification et la prestation des services de santé dans leurs communautés ou indiquent que le ministre pourrait conclure des ententes avec des organisations et organismes autochtones (N.-É,, N.-B., Ontario, Saskatchewan, Alberta, Colombie-Britannique, Nunavut);
  • assurent une représentation autochtone au sein des divers conseils et comités liés à la santé, des autorités sanitaires régionales (Nouveau-Brunswick, Yukon);
  • prévoit que l’entente sur l'autonomie gouvernementale prévaut en cas de conflit (Terre-Neuve, Yukon);
  • comprennent des dispositions relatives aux pratiques de guérison traditionnelle (Île-du-Prince-Édouard, Yukon, Nunavut) ou la reconnaissance que les sages-femmes autochtones devraient être exemptées du contrôle spécifié dans le Code des professions (Île-du-Prince-Édouard, Ontario, Manitoba, Yukon, Nunavut, Québec), l'Ontario étend cette exemption aux guérisseurs traditionnels;
  • indiquent que la culture doit être prise en compte lors de l'évaluation de la santé mentale (par exemple, la consultation d'un Aîné ou d'un conseiller culturel) (Nunavut, Territoires du Nord-Ouest);
  • exemptent les pratiques ou cérémonies spirituelles ou culturelles autochtones traditionnelles des règlements d'application des lois sur le contrôle du tabac (Colombie-Britannique, Territoires du Nord-Ouest);
  • renvoient au rôle des autochtones en ce qui concerne l'information, la confidentialité et la gestion de la santé et/ou indiquent que la province peut divulguer des renseignements sur la santé à un gouvernement autochtone en vue de l'élaboration de programmes et de services de santé (Île-du-Prince-Édouard, Manitoba, Yukon, Territoires du Nord-Ouest);
  • comprennent des dispositions permettant de négocier des compétences supplémentaires (Terre-Neuve, Nouveau-Brunswick, Ontario, Saskatchewan, Alberta, Québec), ou des dispositions permettant d'adopter des règlements pour promouvoir la santé, la sécurité et le bien-être des résidents dans une zone définie et de renforcer le contrôle autochtone sur des questions telles que la santé (Alberta).

Autonomie gouvernementale des gouvernements des Premières Nations, des Inuit et des Métis

Le Canada reconnaît que les Premières Nations, les Inuit et les Métis ont un droit inhérent à l'autonomie gouvernementale garanti par l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982. Le Canada reconnaît que les Premières Nations, les Inuit et les Métis ont le droit de se gouverner eux-mêmes en ce qui concerne les questions internes à leurs communautés, qui font partie intégrante de leur culture, de leur identité, de leurs traditions, de leur langue et de leurs institutions uniques, et en ce qui concerne leur relation spéciale avec leurs terres et leurs ressources. Le Canada reconnaît également que le droit inhérent à l'autonomie gouvernementale peut s'exprimer de différentes façons, notamment par des traités et des ententes avec les gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux.

Les ententes négociées remettent le pouvoir de décision entre les mains des gouvernements des Premières Nations, des Inuit et des Métis, qui font leurs propres choix sur la manière de fournir des programmes et des services à leurs communautés. Les ententes négociées peuvent aussi permettre de mieux définir les rôles et les responsabilités en matière de services et de prestation de programmes. Toutefois, la santé n'est pas toujours incluse dans les ententes d'autonomie gouvernementale mais, lorsqu'elle l'est, voici quelques exemples de dispositions relatives à la santé :

  • un gouvernement autochtone peut adopter des lois ou être compétent en matière de services de santé;
  • un gouvernement autochtone peut adopter des lois ou a compétence en ce qui concerne les services de guérison traditionnelle, y compris le maintien de la pratique et la formation des personnes fournissant les services de santé traditionnels (par exemple, les guérisseurs traditionnels);
  • les négociations sur l'autonomie gouvernementale doivent aborder, et les ententes d'autonomie gouvernementale peuvent inclure, les questions liées à la santé;
  • un gouvernement autochtone est responsable de l'administration des services de santé.

Au Yukon, au Québec et à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, la législation provinciale-territoriale contient des dispositions relatives aux ententes d'autonomie gouvernementale existantes, ce qui clarifie les rôles et les responsabilités de ces provinces et territoires en matière de santé uniquement dans les domaines inclus dans ces ententes d'autonomie gouvernementale.

Modèles prometteurs et voies émergentes

Avec la politique de santé des Indiens de 1979 et le cadre de la politique de transfert de santé de 1988, les Premières Nations et les Inuit ont obtenu un contrôle accru des services de santé. Bien que les ententes d'autonomie gouvernementale et les accords de revendication territoriale aient également créé des modèles uniques et puissent établir des pouvoirs législatifs dans de nombreux domaines, y compris la santé, de nombreuses tendances émergentes en matière de transformation de la santé autochtone, de coordination des compétences et de processus de collaboration contribuent à donner une certaine cohérence au système complexe de soins de santé du Canada.

Au Québec, les besoins en soins de santé des Inuit du Nunavik et des Cris de la Baie James sont satisfaits par des structures uniques en vertu de la Convention de la Baie James et du Nord québécois. Ils sont cofinancés par les gouvernements fédéral et provincial, gérés par les autorités des Premières Nations et des Inuit (le Conseil cri de la santé et des services sociaux de la Baie James et le Conseil régional de la santé et des services sociaux du Nunavik) et liés au système de santé provincial. La législation québécoise (chapitre S-5 -Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux pour les autochtones cris, 1991) donne au ministre de la Santé la possibilité d'exercer son pouvoir de collaborer avec les citoyens du territoire de la Baie James pour améliorer les services et les infrastructures de santé sur le territoire. La loi garantit également le droit des citoyens du territoire à recevoir des services de santé justes, équitables et, dans certains cas, spécifiques, de leur choix, malgré les difficultés qui peuvent survenir.

Bien que de nature plus administrative, des accords de cofinancement similaires conclus par les gouvernements fédéral ou provincial soutiennent également les autorités sanitaires autochtones en Saskatchewan. L'autorité sanitaire d'Athabasca dessert plusieurs communautés des Premières Nations et des Métis, et l'autorité sanitaire intertribale du Nord qui dessert près de la moitié des Premières Nations de cette province.

En Colombie-Britannique, une nouvelle ère dans le domaine de la santé des Premières Nations s'est ouverte en 2011 avec la signature de l'accord-cadre tripartite de la Colombie-Britannique sur la gouvernance de la santé des Premières Nations. Cet accord tripartite a permis de créer une nouvelle autorité sanitaire des Premières Nations à l'échelle de la province, qui a assumé la responsabilité directe en 2013 pour la conception, la prestation et la gestion des programmes et services de santé pour les communautés et le personnel des Premières Nations en Colombie-Britannique. Les partenaires tripartites travaillent en étroite collaboration pour améliorer les résultats en matière de santé des communautés des Premières Nations de la Colombie-Britannique par le biais d'une structure de gouvernance de la santé des Premières Nations qui s'attaque aux inégalités en matière de santé et autres dont souffrent les Premières Nations et s'efforce de déterminer les possibilités de renforcer la coordination avec les programmes et services provinciaux.

Dans d'autres régions du Canada, dont le Québec, l'Ontario et le Manitoba, le gouvernement du Canada soutient les institutions et les organisations dirigées par les Premières Nations afin d'accroître leur contrôle sur la conception et la prestation des services de santé des Premières Nations et de faire progresser la sécurité culturelle et l'autodétermination des Autochtones en matière de soins de santé. Ces projets de transformation de la santé visent à améliorer les résultats en matière de santé et l'accès aux services pour les Premières Nations. Chaque projet se déroule de manière unique en fonction des priorités des communautés des Premières Nations. Grâce au soutien financier et à l’orientation du gouvernement fédéral, es efforts sont en cours pour créer une capacité organisationnelle, faire participer les membres de la communauté à l'identification des priorités en matière de santé, créer des partenariats provinciaux et fédéraux, explorer et développer des modèles de gouvernance et de service, et travailler à l'amélioration de la prestation des services sur la voie du transfert complet du contrôle. Ces travaux ont donné lieu à des développements prometteurs :

  • Un protocole d'entente tripartite a été signé en 2019 par la Commission de la santé et des services sociaux des Premières Nations du Québec et du Labrador, le Canada et la province de Québec, qui engageait les partenaires à travailler à un nouveau modèle de gouvernance des services de santé et des services sociaux.
  • En 2021, la Nation Nishnawbe Aski (NAN) a signé une déclaration trilatérale avec le Canada et la province de l’Ontario, s’engageant à travailler en partenariat pour appuyer l’établissement d’un système de prestation de services de santé des Premières Nations sur le territoire de la NAN. La NAN a travaillé activement avec ses communautés pour identifier les principales priorités en matière de santé nécessitant une action immédiate, tout en explorant de nouveaux modèles de prestation de services de santé qui rapprocheront les services des foyers et renforceront la capacité des communautés du Nord à avoir accès à des services mieux adaptés à leur culture et à les fournir.
  • Le Manitoba Keewatinowi Okimakanak a créé le Keewatinohk Inniniw Minoayawin, une entité sanitaire regroupant les Premières Nations du Nord, qui explore de nouveaux modèles de services de soins primaires novateurs adaptés aux communautés du Nord et se prépare à assumer la responsabilité de la prestation des programmes.
  • La Southern Chiefs Organization et le Canada ont signé un protocole d'entente visant à établir un nouveau modèle de gouvernance de la santé axé sur des soins de santé équitables et adaptés à la culture des Premières Nations du sud du Manitoba.
Date de modification :