Co-developing distinctions-based Indigenous health legislation

Together with Indigenous partners and the provinces and territories, we are co-developing new distinctions-based Indigenous health legislation to improve access to high-quality, culturally relevant health services.

Current status: Open

The Minister of Indigenous Services publically launched the engagement on January 28, 2021.

On this page

Why

As indicated in the September 2020 Speech from the Throne, the Government of Canada is committed to walking a shared path of reconciliation with Indigenous peoples and remains focused on implementing the commitments made in 2019.

The Government of Canada acknowledges the challenges faced by Indigenous peoples, including First Nations, Inuit and Métis in accessing culturally safe care. Canada is committed to working in partnership to advance the priorities Indigenous peoples put forward when it comes to health care. The mandate letter for the Minister of Indigenous Services commits to undertaking this work, in addition to "a distinctions-based mental health and wellness strategy, and work with partners to address anti-Indigenous racism in the healthcare system." It is part of the Government of Canada's commitment to address the social determinants of health and advance self-determination in alignment with the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous peoples.

The co-development of distinctions-based Indigenous health legislation is an opportunity to:

What co-development means

Co-development is a collaborative approach that acknowledges the distinct nature and lived experience of First Nations, Inuit and Métis. This approach is guided by:

Co-development will happen in 2 stages:

  1. broad engagement with First Nations, Inuit, Métis, provinces and territories, subject matter experts and other groups to determine the co-development pathway
  2. co-development of legislative options

Learn more about how legislation is developed:

Who

The Government of Canada will engage:

What

We will work together with Indigenous partners to:

We will also work with the provinces and territories to make sure potential federal legislation:

About Indigenous health care in Canada

The organization of Canada's healthcare system is largely determined by the Canadian Constitution. Roles and responsibilities are divided between the federal, provincial and territorial governments. Generally, provinces and territories have primary jurisdiction over the administration and delivery of healthcare services. Indigenous communities also play an important role in the delivery of health services and programming.

The federal government exercises a role in health care primarily through the use of the federal spending power. For example, the Canada Health Act is Canada's legislation that imposes national standards on provincial healthcare insurance plans as a condition of accepting a federal contribution to the cost of those plans.

With respect to health care for Indigenous peoples, which include First Nations, Inuit and Métis, the federal, provincial and territorial levels of government share some degree of jurisdiction. Indigenous peoples are included in the per capita allocations of funding from the federal fiscal transfer and are entitled to access insured provincial and territorial health services as residents of a province or territory. Indigenous Services Canada funds or directly provides services for First Nations and Inuit that supplement those provided by provinces and territories, including primary health care, health promotion and supplementary health benefits. The federal role is guided by the 1979 Indian Health Policy's 3 pillars:

  1. special relationship with "Indians"
  2. inter-relationships with provincial and territorial health systems
  3. community development

The term "Indian" is only used when referring to or citing the 1979 Indian Health Policy.

Any federal legislation in the area of health care must be developed in consultation with provincial and territorial governments and with careful attention to the constitutional division of powers.

Learn more:

How to participate

There are 2 ways to participate:

  1. attend an engagement session. Please contact us to learn more
  2. send comments directly by email or mail to the address listed in contact us

Indigenous Services Canada has developed an engagement guide designed for individuals, Indigenous governments, organizations or communities to help guide their engagement sessions and personal reflections regarding the co-development of distinctions-based Indigenous health legislation. You may wish to consult the guide to inform your participation in an engagement session or your direct comments via correspondence. It is not meant to be a restrictive tool and can be used or disregarded at your discretion. Please share your thoughts however you prefer.

This engagement guide contains:

Contact us

Indigenous Services Canada
Distinctions-based Indigenous Health Legislation
10 Rue Wellington Suite 1455
Mail Stop 1921C
Gatineau QC K1A 0H4
Email: lsa-ihl@sac-isc.gc.ca

Related links

Date modified:

Élaboration conjointe de dispositions législatives sur la santé des Autochtones fondées sur les distinctions

En collaboration avec nos partenaires autochtones et les provinces et territoires, nous élaborons de nouvelles dispositions législatives sur la santé des Autochtones fondées sur les distinctions visant à faciliter l'accès à des services de santé de haute qualité, culturellement adaptés.

Situation actuelle : ouvert

Le ministère des Services aux Autochtones a lancé publiquement le processus de mobilisation le 28 janvier 2021.

Sur cette page

Pourquoi

Comme il a été mentionné dans le discours du Trône de septembre 2020, le gouvernement du Canada est déterminé à emprunter la voie commune de la réconciliation avec les peuples autochtones et reste concentré sur la mise en œuvre des engagements pris en 2019.

Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît les défis auxquels sont confrontées les communautés autochtones, y compris les Premières Nations, les Inuit et les Métis, pour avoir accès à des soins culturellement sûrs. Le Canada s'engage à travailler en partenariat pour faire avancer les priorités que les peuples autochtones mettent en place en matière de soins de santé. Dans sa lettre de mandat, le ministre des Services aux Autochtones du Canada à entreprendre ce travail, en plus « d'une stratégie de santé mentale et de bien-être fondée sur les distinctions, et à travailler avec des partenaires pour lutter contre le racisme anti-autochtone dans le système de santé ». Cet engagement s'inscrit dans la volonté du gouvernement du Canada de s'attaquer aux déterminants sociaux de la santé et de faire progresser l'autodétermination, conformément à la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones.

L'élaboration conjointe de dispositions législatives sur la santé des Autochtones fondées sur les distinctions constitue une occasion :

Ce que signifie l'élaboration conjointe

L'élaboration conjointe est une approche collaborative qui reconnaît la nature et le vécu distincts des Premières Nations, des Inuit et des Métis. Cette approche est orientée par :

L'élaboration conjointe se déroulera en 2 étapes :

  1. un vaste processus de mobilisation auprès des Premières Nations, des Inuit, des Métis, des provinces et les territoires, des experts en la matière et d'autres groupes en vue de déterminer la voie à suivre pour l'élaboration conjointe;
  2. l'élaboration conjointe des options législatives.

Pour en savoir plus au sujet de la manière dont les dispositions législatives sont élaborées, consultez :

Qui

Le gouvernement du Canada collaborera avec :

Quoi

Nous collaborerons avec les partenaires autochtones afin :

Nous travaillerons également avec les provinces et les territoires pour nous assurer que les éventuelles dispositions législatives fédérales qui seront adoptées :

À propos des soins de santé autochtones au Canada

L'organisation du système de santé canadien est largement déterminée par la Constitution canadienne. Les rôles et les responsabilités sont répartis entre les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux. En général, les provinces et les territoires sont les premiers responsables de l'administration et de la prestation des services de soins de santé. Les communautés autochtones jouent également un rôle important dans la prestation des services de santé et l'exécution des programmes de santé.

Le gouvernement fédéral joue un rôle dans les soins de santé principalement par l'utilisation du pouvoir fédéral de dépenser. Par exemple, la Loi canadienne sur la santé est une loi canadienne qui impose des normes nationales aux régimes provinciaux d'assurance-maladie comme condition pour accepter une contribution fédérale au coût de ces régimes.

En ce qui concerne les soins de santé pour les peuples autochtones, qui comprennent les Premières nations, les Inuit et les Métis, les paliers de gouvernement fédéral, provincial et territorial partagent un certain degré de compétence. Les peuples autochtones sont inclus dans les allocations de financement par habitant provenant du transfert fiscal fédéral et ont le droit d'avoir accès aux services de santé provinciaux et territoriaux assurés en tant que résidents d'une province ou d'un territoire. Actuellement, Services aux Autochtones Canada finance ou fournit directement des services aux Premières Nations et aux Inuit qui complètent les services offerts par les provinces et les territoires, notamment les soins de santé primaires, la promotion de la santé et les prestations de santé supplémentaires. Le rôle du gouvernement fédéral est guidé par les 3 piliers de la Politique sur la santé des Indiens de 1979 :

  1. la relation spéciale avec les « Indiens »;
  2. les interrelations avec les systèmes de santé provinciaux et territoriaux;
  3. le développement communautaire.

Le terme « Indien » n'est utilisé que lorsqu'il s'agit de faire référence à la Politique de santé des Indiens de 1979 ou de citer celle-ci.

Toute disposition législative fédérale dans le domaine des soins de santé doit être élaborée en consultation avec les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux et tenir compte de la répartition constitutionnelle des pouvoirs.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez les documents suivants :

Comment participer

Il y a 2 façons de participer :

  1. assister à une séance de mobilisation. Veuillez communiquer avec nous pour en savoir plus;
  2. envoyer des commentaires directement par courriel ou par la poste à l'adresse indiquée dans la section Communiquez avec nous.

Services aux Autochtones Canada a élaboré un guide de la mobilisation qui a été conçu pour des particuliers, des gouvernements autochtones, des organisations ou des communautés, afin de les aider à orienter leurs séances de mobilisation et leurs réflexions personnelles en ce qui concerne l'élaboration conjointe de dispositions législatives en sur la santé des Autochtones fondées sur les distinctions. Vous pouvez consulter le guide pour orienter votre participation à une séance de mobilisation ou guider vos commentaires directs par correspondance. Il ne s'agit pas d'un outil restrictif et vous pouvez l'utiliser ou l'ignorer à votre gré. N'hésitez pas à partager vos réflexions de la manière que vous préférez le faire.

Ce guide renferme :

Communiquez avec nous

Services aux Autochtones Canada
Dispositions législatives sur la santé des Autochtones fondées sur les distinctions
10 rue Wellington, bureau 1455
No d'arrêt postal 1921C
Gatineau QC K1A 0H4
Courriel : lsa-ihl@sac-isc.gc.ca

Liens connexes

Date de modification :