Family Violence Prevention Program

COVID-19: Additional $10 million for shelters

Due to the coronavirus outbreak, the Government of Canada is investing an additional $10 million to support shelters in First Nations communities. There is no need to apply, the funding will be distributed through existing agreements.

Consult:

Indigenous Services Canada (ISC)'s Family Violence Prevention Program (FVPP) supports the day-to-day operations of 46 shelters, as well as funding for community-driven proposals for family violence prevention projects on and off reserve.

On this page

About the program

The goal of the program is to improve the safety and security of Indigenous women, children and families. It has 2 components for funding:

Shelters serving First Nations communities across Canada provide vital refuge for women and their children, help them escape violent situations and provide education and support to prevent future violence.

The program supports activities that increase awareness of family violence and provide families and communities with:

Over 300 family violence prevention projects are supported each year.

The program also provides core funding to the National Aboriginal Circle Against Family Violence to act as a national coordinator by supporting shelters and their staff through training forums, prevention activities, research and collaboration with key partners.

Additional funding

As part of the COVID-19 Economic Response Plan, the government of Canada will provide up to $10 million to ISC's network of shelters on reserve and in Yukon to help them manage or prevent an outbreak in their facilities. The funding is being distributed through ISC's regional offices through existing contribution agreements and using FVPP authorities.

Eligible recipients are the 46 shelters currently receiving operational funding through the FVPP. The amount for each shelter was determined using a formula that includes factors such as on-reserve population, remoteness and number of beds.

In addition, $44.8 million is also being allocated to Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation over 5 years to build 10 new shelters in First Nations communities on reserve across the country and 2 in the territories, to support Indigenous women and children escaping violence. Indigenous Services Canada will invest $40.8 million in operational funding for these new shelters over 5 years and $10.2 million annually thereafter. This will bring the total number of ISC's network of shelters to 58.

Also, as part of the Government of Canada's response to the Final Report of the National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls, Indigenous Services Canada will provide $1 million a year ongoing, starting in 2020, to support engagement with Métis leaders and service providers on shelter provision and community-led violence prevention projects for Métis women, girls, LGBTQ and Two-Spirit people.

The FVPP has an annual budget of $39.3 million on an ongoing basis to support shelters and family violence prevention activities on and off reserve.

In 2017 to 2018, 3,763 women and 1,803 children accessed shelter services, not including Yukon. Some 329 First Nations communities (55%) are served by the ISC-funded shelters.

The Government of Canada takes the issue of violence against Indigenous women very seriously and will continue to work in partnership with provincial and territorial governments, Indigenous peoples and other partners to develop effective and appropriate solutions. The FVPP is part of Government of Canada efforts to end violence against women and girls and stop family violence.

For more information on Government of Canada initiatives to end violence against Indigenous women and girls, consult:

Who can apply?

Eligible recipients Shelter operations Shelter capacity Prevention and awareness
First Nations in Canada (such as communities, bands, district, tribal councils and associations) Yes Yes Yes
Indigenous organizations located in the territories Yes Yes Yes
Indigenous organizations located on and off reserve** Yes* Yes* Yes
National Indigenous Organizations No Yes Yes
Provincial and territorial governments Yes No No
Non-governmental and voluntary associations and organizations, including non-profit corporations No No Yes
Educational or research institutions and associations No No Yes

*With support such as Band, Tribal Council, land claim organizations or self government.

**First Nations shelters may be managed by an off-reserve entity but shelters must primarily serve women, children, and families ordinarily resident on reserve.

On an exceptional basis, individuals deemed capable of conducting family violence prevention activities with support from an Indigenous organization can be considered for funding.

A recipient must have the legal capacity to enter into a funding agreement.

Deadline

Shelters receive annual operational funding on an ongoing basis in April of each year.

There was a call for proposals for off reserve projects with a deadline of March 8, 2019 at 11:59 pm Eastern time.

How to apply?

Prevention activities on reserve

In some regions, First Nations regional boards are authorized by Chiefs to administer prevention funds by collecting, reviewing and approving proposals for projects. The First Nations regional boards also take on a strategic visioning and coordinating role by targeting specific needs (such as an annual youth conference) in the area of family violence.

To find out more, please contact your ISC regional office.

ISC-funded shelters wishing to apply for prevention funding should contact their ISC regional office.

Prevention activities off reserve (proposal-based)

The 2019-2020 call for proposals is now closed. The deadline to submit a proposal was March 8, 2019 at 11:59 pm Eastern time.

The 2018-2019 call for proposals is now closed. The deadline to submit a proposal was April 19, 2018 at 11:59 pm Eastern time.

The 2017-2018 call for proposals is now closed. The deadline to submit a proposal was March 10, 2017 at 11:59 pm Eastern time.

The 2016-2017 call for proposals is now closed.

For any questions relating to prevention activities off reserve, please send an email to aadnc.ppvf-fvpp.aandc@canada.ca.

Feature stories

Related links

Date modified:

Programme pour la prévention de la violence familiale

COVID-19 : 10 millions de dollars supplémentaires pour les refuges

En raison de l'éclosion de coronavirus, le gouvernement du Canada investit 10 millions de dollars supplémentaires en aide aux refuges des communautés des Premières Nations. Il n'est pas nécessaire de faire une demande, le financement sera distribué par l'entremise des ententes existantes.

Consultez :

Le programme pour la prévention de la violence familiale (PPVF) de Services aux Autochtones Canada (SAC) soutient 46 refuges dans leurs activités courantes, ainsi que le financement de propositions pour des projets de prévention de la violence familiale pour les communautés vivant à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur des réserves.

Sur cette page

À propos du programme

Le programme a pour but d'améliorer la protection et la sécurité des femmes, des filles et des familles autochtones. Il comporte 2 volets de financement pour :

Les refuges desservant les communautés des Premières Nations dans tout le Canada offrent un lieu de refuge essentiel pour les femmes et leurs enfants et leur permettent de fuir les situations de violence. Ils offrent aussi des services d'éducation et de soutien visant à prévenir les situations de violence.

Le programme appuie les activités de sensibilisation à la violence familiale et fournit aux familles et aux communautés :

Plus de 300 projets de prévention de la violence familiale sont appuyés chaque année.

Le programme offre aussi un financement de base au Cercle national autochtone contre la violence familiale pour l'aider à assurer la coordination nationale en soutenant les refuges et leurs employés au moyen de forums de formation et d'activités de prévention, ainsi que par la recherche et la collaboration auprès des partenaires clés.

Financement supplémentaire

Dans le cadre du plan d'intervention économique du Canada pour répondre à la COVID-19, le gouvernement du Canada accorde 10 millions de dollars supplémentaires au réseau de refuges de SAC, dans les réserves et au Yukon. Ces fonds leur permettront de gérer ou d'empêcher une éclosion du virus dans leurs locaux. Les bureaux régionaux de SAC distribuent ces fonds dans le cadre des ententes de financement déjà en place et selon les modalités du PPVF.

Les 46 refuges qui reçoivent déjà du financement du PPVF pour leurs activités courantes sont les organismes admissibles à recevoir ces fonds supplémentaires. Le montant versé à chaque refuge a été déterminé en utilisant une formule qui tient compte de différents facteurs comme la densité de population dans la réserve, l'éloignement géographique et le nombre de lits.

De plus, 44,8 millions de dollars sont alloués à la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement sur 5 ans pour construire 10 nouveaux refuges dans les communautés des Premières Nations dans les réserves de partout au pays et 2 dans les territoires, afin de soutenir les femmes et les enfants autochtones qui fuient la violence. Services aux Autochtones Canada investira 40,8 millions de dollars en fonds opérationnels pour ces nouveaux refuges sur 5 ans et 10,2 millions de dollars par année par la suite. Cela portera à 58 le nombre total de refuges du réseau de SAC.

De plus, dans le cadre de la réponse du gouvernement du Canada au rapport final de l'Enquête nationale sur les femmes et les filles autochtones disparues et assassinées, Services aux Autochtones Canada fournira 1 million de dollars par an, à compter de 2020, pour soutenir l'engagement auprès des dirigeants et des fournisseurs de services métis pour la mise en place de refuges et de projets communautaires de prévention de la violence pour les femmes, les filles, les personnes LGBTQ et les personnes bispirituelles métisses.

Le PPVF compte sur un budget annuel de 39,3 millions de dollars de façon permanente pour soutenir les refuges et les activités de prévention de la violence familiale à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur des réserves.

De 2017 à 2018 et sans compter le Yukon, 3 763 femmes et 1 803 enfants ont eu accès aux services d'un refuge. Quelque 329 communautés des Premières Nations (55 %) sont desservies par les refuges financés par SAC.

Le gouvernement du Canada prend très au sérieux le problème de la violence faite aux femmes autochtones et continuera à chercher des solutions efficaces et appropriées, en collaboration avec les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, les Autochtones et d'autres partenaires. Le programme fait partie des mesures prises par le gouvernement du Canada pour mettre un terme à la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles et à la violence familiale.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les initiatives du gouvernement du Canada pour mettre fin à la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles autochtones, consultez :

Qui peut présenter une demande?

Bénéficiaires admissibles Activités des refuges Capacité des refuges Prévention et sensibilisation
Premières Nations au Canada (soit les communautés, les bandes, les districts, les conseils tribaux et les associations) Oui Oui Oui
Organismes autochtones situés dans les territoires Oui Oui Oui
Organismes autochtones situés sur une réserve ou hors réserve** Oui* Oui* Oui
Organismes autochtones nationaux Non Oui Oui
Gouvernements provinciaux ou territoriaux Oui Non Non
Associations et organismes non gouvernementaux et bénévoles, y compris les sociétés sans but lucratif Non Non Oui
Établissements d'enseignement ou institutions et organismes de recherche Non Non Oui

*Avec le soutien d'une bande, d'un conseil tribal, d'organismes de revendication territoriale ou d'autonomie gouvernementale.

**Les refuges des Premières Nations peuvent être gérés par une entité hors réserve mais les refuges doivent principalement desservir les femmes, les enfants et les familles résidant habituellement sur réserve.

À titre exceptionnel, des personnes considérées comme capables de mener des activités de prévention de la violence familiale avec le soutien d'un organisme autochtone peuvent être admissibles à un financement.

Un bénéficiaire doit avoir la capacité juridique de conclure une entente de financement.

Date limite

Les refuges admissibles reçoivent un financement sur une base continue en avril de chaque année.

Le nouvel appel de propositions de projets hors réserve a pris fin le 8 mars 2019, à 23 h 59 (heure de l'Est).

Comment présenter une demande?

Activités de prévention dans les réserves

Dans certaines régions, les conseils régionaux des Premières Nations ont l'autorisation de leur chef d'administrer les fonds dédiés à la prévention. À cette fin, ils recueillent, révisent et approuvent les propositions de projets. Les conseils régionaux des Premières Nations exercent également un rôle de vision stratégique et de coordination en ciblant les besoins particuliers (comme une conférence annuelle des jeunes) dans le domaine de la violence familiale.

Pour plus d'information, communiquez avec votre bureau régional de SAC.

Les refuges financés par SAC qui veulent présenter une demande pour des activités de prévention doivent communiquer avec leur bureau régional de SAC.

Activités de prévention hors réserve (axées sur les propositions)

L'appel de propositions pour 2019-2020 est maintenant fermé. La date limite pour soumettre une proposition était le 8 mars 2019, à 23 h 59 (heure de l'Est).

L'appel de propositions pour 2018-2019 est maintenant fermé. La date limite pour soumettre une proposition était le 19 avril 2018, à 23 h 59 (heure de l'Est).

L'appel de propositions pour 2017-2018 est maintenant fermé. La date limite pour soumettre une proposition était le 10 mars 2017, à 23 h 59 (heure de l'Est).

L'appel de propositions pour 2016-2017 est maintenant fermé.

Pour toute question concernant les activités de prévention hors réserve, veuillez envoyer un message à l'adresse courriel aadnc.ppvf-fvpp.aandc@canada.ca.

Articles vedettes

Liens connexes

Date de modification :