Elementary and Secondary Education Program

This program provides eligible students ordinarily living on reserve with elementary and secondary education programs comparable to those in provincial schools.

Following Budget 2016 investments to improve elementary and secondary education on reserves, a new funding and policy approach was co‑developed to better meet the needs of First Nations students on reserves.

The new approach replaces proposal-based programs with a formula-based funding model, based on provincially-comparable funding, and provides funding for expanded language and culture programming and other initiatives.

The new approach provides greater predictability and sustainability to make sure First Nations have the means to achieve their education goals and ambitions. It also equips First Nations with greater flexibility to shape their education programming to meet local or regional priorities.

On this page

About the program

The Elementary and Secondary Education Program supports elementary and secondary education for First Nations students, schools and communities by working in partnership with First Nations to help close the education outcome gaps between First Nations peoples and other Canadians.

By providing a more stable funding environment for First Nations education systems, the program aims to create better and more consistent support for:

The program is transitioning away from proposal-based programming. A new funding approach has been created based on provincial funding models, with changes to meet the unique needs of First Nations. The new funding approach provides predictable and flexible funding that's more directly comparable to what students enrolled in provincial education systems get.

ISC will provide funding through interim regional funding formulas and transformative education agreements, such as regional education agreements, education authority agreements or other transformative education agreements.

Special education

The Elementary and Secondary Education Program also includes funding for services provided to First Nations students identified as having mild to profound learning disabilities.

Students assessed with moderate to profound learning disabilities are also eligible for funding under the High-Cost Special Education Program.

Families of a First Nations child who isn't receiving the services and support that they need may contact a Jordan's Principle regional focal point for assistance.

Find a Jordan's Principle regional focal point in your area: Who to contact.

Who can apply

Funding is given directly to band councils, or to organizations designated by band councils, based on the number of students listed in the nominal roll.

Deadline

To be included on the nominal roll, a student must be eligible, registered for school, and be in regular attendance on the last school day of September in a school year.

How to apply

There is no formal application process for the Elementary and Secondary Education Program, as funding is given directly to band councils or to organizations designated by band councils, based on the number of students listed on the nominal roll. To receive funding, recipients must show that a student meets the requirements to be included on the nominal roll.

To determine if a student is eligible to be included on the nominal roll and to receive department funding, consult: Elementary and Secondary Education Program: National Program Guidelines 2020 to 2021.

Previous guidelines

To find out more, contact ISC by email at aadnc.education-education.aandc@canada.ca or by telephone at 1-800-567-9604 and ask to speak to an education officer.

Related links

Date modified:

Programme d’enseignement primaire et secondaire

Ce programme fournit aux élèves admissibles résidant habituellement dans les réserves des programmes d'enseignement de niveau primaire et secondaire comparables à ceux offerts dans les écoles provinciales.

À la suite des investissements prévus dans le budget de 2016 en vue d'améliorer l'éducation primaire et secondaire dans les réserves, une nouvelle approche de financement et de politique a été élaborée pour mieux répondre aux besoins des élèves des Premières Nations résidant dans les réserves.

La nouvelle approche remplace les programmes fondés sur les propositions par un modèle de financement fondé sur une formule et comparable au financement provincial, et permet de fournir du financement pour des programmes linguistiques et culturels élargis et d'autres initiatives.

Elle offre un financement plus prévisible et durable qui vise à assurer que les Premières Nations ont les moyens de réaliser leurs objectifs et leurs ambitions en matière d'éducation. Elle donne également plus de souplesse aux Premières Nations pour adapter leurs programmes d'éducation à leurs besoins locaux ou régionaux.

Sur cette page

À propos du programme

Le Programme d'éducation primaire et secondaire permet d'appuyer l'éducation primaire et secondaire des élèves, des écoles et des communautés des Premières Nations en travaillant avec les Premières Nations pour combler les écarts de scolarisation entre les peuples des Premières Nations et les autres Canadiennes et Canadiens.

En créant un environnement de financement plus stable pour les systèmes d'éducation des Premières Nations, le Programme vise à assurer un soutien de meilleure qualité et plus uniforme pour :

Le Programme s'éloigne des programmes basés sur des propositions. Une nouvelle approche de financement a été créée en se fondant sur les modèles de financement provinciaux, avec des ajustements pour répondre aux besoins uniques des Premières Nations. Cette nouvelle approche offre du financement prévisible et souple qui se compare plus directement à ce que reçoivent les élèves inscrits dans les systèmes d'éducation provinciaux.

SAC fournira du financement au moyen de formules provisoires de financement régional et d'ententes de transformation en matière d'éducation, comme les ententes régionales en matière d'éducation, les ententes sur l'autorité en éducation ou toute autre entente de transformation de l'éducation.

Éducation spécialisée

Le Programme d'enseignement primaire et secondaire inclut aussi le financement des services fournis aux élèves des Premières Nations chez qui on a décelé des difficultés d'apprentissage légères à profondes.

Les élèves ayant des difficultés d'apprentissage modérées à profondes sont également admissibles à des fonds dans le cadre du Programme d'éducation spécialisée à coûts élevés.

Les familles d'élèves des Premières Nations qui ne reçoivent pas les services ou l'appui dont elles ont besoin peuvent communiquer avec le point de contact régional du Principe de Jordan pour obtenir de l'aide.

Trouvez un point de contact régional pour le Principe de Jordan dans votre région : À qui s'adresser.

Qui peut présenter une demande

Les fonds sont directement versés aux conseils de bande ou aux organismes désignés par eux, selon le nombre d'élèves inscrits sur la liste nominative.

Date limite

Pour être inscrit sur la liste nominative, un élève doit être admissible, inscrit à l'école et fréquenter régulièrement l'école le dernier jour de septembre de l'année scolaire.

Comment présenter une demande

Il n'y a pas de processus formel de présentation de demande pour le Programme d'enseignement primaire et secondaire, étant donné que le financement est versé directement aux conseils de bande ou aux organisations désignées par les conseils de bande, en fonction du nombre d'élèves figurant sur la liste nominative. Pour recevoir du financement, les bénéficiaires doivent démontrer que les élèves satisfont aux exigences pour être inscrits sur la liste nominative.

Pour déterminer si un élève est admissible à figurer sur la liste nominative et à recevoir du financement du ministère, consultez le Programme d'enseignement primaire et secondaire : Lignes directrices nationales du programme de 2020 à 2021.

Lignes directrices de l'année précédente

Pour de plus amples renseignements, communiquez avec SAC par courriel à aadnc.education-education.aandc@canada.ca ou par téléphone au 1-800-567-9604 et demandez à parler à un agent en matière d'éducation.

Liens connexes

Date de modification :