Federal Indian Day Schools health support services

Find health support services for individuals affected by the trauma associated with their attendance at an historic Federal Indian Day School.

To find out more or access supports near you, please call the number in your province or territory:

Mental health counselling

Mental health counselling is provided by professionals such as psychologists and social workers who are registered in their province or territory and enrolled with Indigenous Services Canada. Mental health counsellors will work with their clients to develop a wellness plan and provide ongoing individual or family counselling to support healing as determined with the client.

Emotional support

Community-based Indigenous health workers are hired by Indigenous organizations to provide trauma-informed, culturally grounded support to people affected by unresolved trauma associated with attending Indian Day Schools. They provide emotional support and comfort by listening, talking and providing referrals to other services.

Cultural supports

Elders and traditional healers provide cultural supports through local Indigenous organizations to assist clients on their healing journeys. Specific services are determined by the needs of the individuals and may include dialogue, ceremonies, prayers, Elder services or traditional healing.

Transportation

Wherever possible, assistance with transportation is offered when professional counselling and cultural support services are not locally available. Assistance with transportation costs to see Elders and traditional healers away from home is also available.

Date modified:

Services de soutien en santé aux anciens élèves des externats indiens fédéraux

Trouvez des services de soutien en santé pour les personnes qui ont subi les effets des traumatismes liés à leur fréquentation d'un externat indien fédéral historique.

Pour en savoir plus ou pour accéder aux services près de chez vous, appelez le numéro correspondant à votre province ou territoire :

Counseling en santé mentale

Des services de counseling professionnels en santé mentale sont offerts par des psychologues et des travailleurs sociaux agréés dans leur province ou territoire et engagés par Services aux Autochtones Canada. Les conseillers en santé mentale travaillent avec leurs clients à élaborer un plan de mieux-être et fournissent un soutien continu individuellement ou en famille en vue d'appuyer les mesures de guérison prises par les clients.

Soutien émotionnel

Des travailleurs de la santé communautaires autochtones sont embauchés par des organisations autochtones pour fournir un soutien fondé sur le plan culturel et tenant compte des traumatismes aux personnes touchées par des traumatismes non résolus associés à la fréquentation d'un externat indien. Ils offrent un soutien affectif et un réconfort en écoutant, en parlant et en aiguillant les clients vers d'autres services.

Soutien culturel

Les Aînés et les guérisseurs traditionnels offrent des services de soutien culturel par l'entremise d'organisations autochtones locales en vue d'aider les clients dans leur processus de guérison. Les services spécifiques sont déterminés en fonction des besoins des personnes et peuvent inclure le dialogue, les cérémonies, les prières, les services d'Aînés ou la guérison traditionnelle.

Transport

Dans la mesure du possible, de l'assistance au transport est offerte lorsque les services en matière de counseling et de soutien culturel ne sont pas disponibles localement. Une aide pour couvrir les frais de transport visant à rendre visite à des Aînés ou à des guérisseurs traditionnels loin de chez soi est également disponible.

Date de modification :