Capacity-building funding for An Act respecting First Nations, Inuit and Métis children, youth and families for fiscal year 2021 to 2022

Funding to build capacity in preparation for exercising jurisdiction over child and family services

On this page

About the call for proposals

Through the July 2020 Economic and Fiscal Snapshot, the Government of Canada has committed over $542 million over five years, starting in fiscal year 2020 to 2021, to support the implementation of an Act respecting First Nations, Inuit and Métis children, youth and families, which came into force on January 1, 2020. The act enables Indigenous groups, communities or peoples that hold rights recognized and affirmed by section 35 of the Constitution Act,1982 (thereafter referred to as "Indigenous groups, communities or peoples") to exercise jurisdiction over child and family services.

Indigenous Services Canada (ISC) recognizes that not all Indigenous groups, communities or peoples have the same readiness or resources to exercise jurisdiction under the act. As part of the Government of Canada's funding commitment to support the implementation of the act, funding is available to support Indigenous groups, communities and peoples and their Indigenous governing body wishing to:

All capacity-building proposals/work plans (thereafter referred to as proposals) submitted for fiscal year 2021 to 2022 will be assessed based on the selection criteria and other information provided in this call for proposals. If you have already submitted a capacity-building proposal before this call was issued, you are strongly encouraged to update your proposal.

Future opportunities to access funding will be available regularly over the next 5 years. We are committed to evolving this process over time based on lessons learned and feedback from partners.

Proposals for capacity-building funding will not be interpreted as a notice of intent to exercise jurisdiction as specified under sections 20 (1) or 20 (2) of the act. An Indigenous governing body acting on behalf of Indigenous groups, communities or peoples can submit notices of intent by email to sac.sefreforme-cfsreform.isc@canada.ca.

Who can apply

Deadline

There is currently no deadline to apply. Applications will be accepted on an ongoing basis.

How to apply

  1. Email your proposal (also known as a work plan) and a detailed budget using the Project or Work Plan Funding Application (PDF) to sac.sefreforme-cfsreform.isc@canada.ca. Alternatively, you can use your own proposal template in Microsoft Word or Excel format.
    Help on accessing PDF forms
  2. If you are applying as an Indigenous governing body, you must submit documentation that clearly states you are mandated to act on behalf of an Indigenous group, community or people and clearly defines the scope of the work you are mandated to undertake on their behalf.
    • As part of the mandate validation process, ISC may also communicate with the Indigenous governing body to discuss the mandate or scope, or with the section 35 rights-holding groups to validate the mandate.
  3. If your proposal is multi-year, make sure that your detailed budget includes clear costing for each year. Funding may be allocated on a yearly basis.
  4. ISC will confirm receipt of your proposal via email. ISC may contact you for additional information, as required.

Only proposals submitted electronically will be considered. Please do not send links to files in the Cloud or Internet servers as ISC cannot access them.

Please ensure your proposal clearly describes how the Indigenous group, community or people meet the Selection criteria.

All applicants will be notified whether or not their proposal was selected.

If you have any questions or would like help submitting a proposal, email sac.sefreforme-cfsreform.isc@canada.ca.

Selection criteria

In order to access capacity-building funding, Indigenous groups, communities or peoples will be required to demonstrate:

  1. that they intend to, or will be in a position to, exercise jurisdiction within the next 5 years ("readiness" to exercise jurisdiction)
  2. sound administrative and fiscal management

A number of factors will be used to assess readiness, including whether existing plans, structures and community engagement are in place to support the reform of child and family services and whether there is a strong track record with program management and reporting requirements.

Sound administrative and fiscal management will be determined by a review of any existing financial agreements between the Indigenous groups, communities or peoples and the Government of Canada.

Meeting these criteria does not guarantee funding.

Please note that while this capacity-building funding is intended for communities who will be in a position to exercise jurisdiction under the Act within 5 years. Other communities can access other programs for capacity-building based on their particular situation. Contact your regional ISC or Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada office to discuss further capacity-building funding opportunities.

Eligible activities

  • community self-assessment
  • community engagement, including engaging community stakeholders and community members in the drafting, revision, or finalization of child and family services legislation or culturally appropriate programs
  • planning, including the strategic planning for transition toward and transfer of child and family services jurisdiction
  • research, including research and development of child and family services models and feasibility studies
  • child and family services program development
  • drafting of child and family services legislation and policies
  • data gathering
  • professional consulting fees, including expert advice
  • policy development activities
  • legislation development, including hiring professionals to assist in legislation development
  • travel and accommodations
  • communications
  • IT systems design
  • hardware and software needed to support data collection, analysis and reporting

ISC recognizes the need to support groups wishing to build capacity in their community by providing temporary employment to support their work towards exercising jurisdiction over child and family services and prepare to partake in coordination agreement discussions.

This funding is not meant to:

  • establish permanent employment
  • establish permanent structures
  • implement the Indigenous law
  • provide training on the Indigenous law

Capacity-building funding is meant to support section 35 rights-holding Indigenous groups and their mandated Indigenous governing body as they work within and across their communities to build strong foundations in preparation for their participation in coordination agreement discussions. Funding for permanent structures for the implementation of Indigenous laws, models, programs and service delivery will be discussed through the coordination agreement discussion process.

Funding

Funding will be:

  • comparable for all groups and distinctions
  • based on distinct circumstances of each Indigenous community or Indigenous governing body, including geographic location (remoteness) and the number of section 35 rights-holding communities the Indigenous governing body represents

The funding amounts will be subject to:

  • yearly maximum funding as per the funding chart below

or

  • the number of proposals received and the total funding available

Multi-year proposals will be reviewed every year. Funding for the subsequent year will be dependent on funding recipients achieving their objectives and the availability of funds.

The maximum level of total government assistance (including federal, provincial, and municipal assistance for the same eligible expenditures) for the same purpose and eligible expenditures will not exceed 100% of eligible expenditures.

Where applicable, funding ceilings may be higher to allow for travel costs in remote regions of the country. Temporarily for the purpose of this funding process, remote shall be defined as a place with no year-round road access to a service centre.

The manner in which ISC will assess remoteness will be in line with CIRNAC's Contributions to Support the Negotiation and Implementation of Treaties, Claims and Self-Government Agreements or Initiatives. This is an interim measure to allow ISC to allocate capacity-building funding in a timely manner to Indigenous groups that wish to exercise their jurisdiction over child and family services, until a longer-term funding approach can be concluded with Indigenous partners.

Maximum funding levels per year
  Geographic location
Urban Remote
Indigenous communities
(typically under 1,500 people)
$250,000 $300,000
Indigenous communities
(typically over 1,500 people)
$550,000 $650,000
Indigenous groups representing multiple communities, council of the band, etc. $1,000,000 $1,200,000
Large organizations on a Treaty or a regional or provincial scale, Inuit Land Claims Organization, Métis Federation, etc. $1,750,000 $2,000,000

Terms and conditions

ISC will be co-developing terms and conditions for this program with Indigenous partners. In the meantime, in order to get funding to applicants as soon as possible, ISC will use terms and conditions from other programs:

Reporting requirements

Funding recipients will be required to submit an annual financial report to account for the use of funding, in accordance with the terms of their funding arrangement.

Contact us

By email: sac.sefreforme-cfsreform.isc@canada.ca

Related links

Date modified:

Financement du renforcement des capacités pour la Loi concernant les enfants, les jeunes et les familles des Premières Nations, des Inuits et des Métis pour l'exercice de 2021 à 2022

Financement pour renforcer les capacités en vue de l'exercice de la compétence sur les services à l'enfance et à la famille.

Sur cette page

À propos de l'appel de propositions

Dans son Portrait économique et budgétaire de juillet 2020, le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à verser plus de 542 millions de dollars sur une période de 5 ans, à compter de l'exercice de 2020 à 2021, afin d'appuyer la mise en œuvre de la Loi concernant les enfants, les jeunes et les familles des Premières Nations, des Inuits et des Métis, qui est entrée en vigueur le 1er janvier 2020. La Loi permet aux groupes, communautés ou peuples autochtones qui détiennent des droits reconnus et confirmés par l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 (ci-après appelés « groupes, communautés ou peuples autochtones ») d'exercer leur compétence sur les services à l'enfance et à la famille.

Services aux Autochtones Canada (SAC) reconnaît que les groupes, les communautés et les peuples autochtones n'ont pas tous la même capacité ou les mêmes ressources pour exercer leur compétence en vertu de la Loi. Dans le cadre de l'engagement financier du gouvernement du Canada visant à appuyer la mise en œuvre de la Loi, des fonds sont disponibles pour appuyer les groupes, les communautés et les peuples autochtones et leur corps dirigeant autochtone qui souhaitent :

Les propositions ou plans de travail en matière de renforcement des capacités (ci-après appelés propositions) présentés pour l'exercice de 2021 à 2022 seront évalués en fonction des critères de sélection et des autres renseignements fournis dans le présent appel de propositions. Si vous avez déjà envoyé une proposition de renforcement des capacités avant la publication de cet appel, nous vous encourageons fortement à mettre à jour votre proposition.

De nouvelles possibilités de financement seront offertes régulièrement au cours des 5 prochaines années. Nous sommes déterminés à faire évoluer ce processus d'appel de propositions au fil du temps en fonction des leçons apprises et des commentaires formulés par des partenaires.

Les propositions de financement du renforcement des capacités ne seront pas interprétées comme un avis d'intention d'exercer la compétence prévue aux paragraphes 20(1) ou 20(2) de la Loi. Un corps dirigeant autochtone agissant au nom des groupes, des communautés ou des peuples autochtones peut soumettre des avis d'intention par courriel à sac.sefreforme-cfsreform.isc@canada.ca.

Qui peut présenter une demande

Date limite

Il n'y a actuellement aucune date limite pour soumettre une proposition. Les propositions seront acceptées de manière continue.

Comment présenter une demande

  1. Envoyez votre proposition (aussi appelée plan de travail) accompagnée d'un budget détaillé à l'aide du document Demande de financement de projet ou de plan de travail (PDF) à sac.sefreforme-cfsreform.isc@canada.ca. Vous pouvez également utiliser votre propre modèle de proposition en format Microsoft Word ou Excel.
    Aide en vue d'ouvrir les formulaires en format PDF
  2. Si vous présentez une demande à titre de corps dirigeant autochtone, vous devez présenter les documents qui indiquent clairement que vous êtes mandaté pour agir au nom d'un groupe, d'une communauté ou d'un peuple autochtone et qui définit clairement la portée du travail que vous pouvez entreprendre en leur nom.
    • Dans le cadre du processus de validation du mandat, SAC peut également communiquer avec le corps dirigeant autochtone pour discuter du mandat ou de la portée, ou communiquer avec les groupes titulaires de droits en vertu de l'article 35 afin de valider le mandat.
  3. Si votre proposition est pluriannuelle, assurez-vous que votre budget détaillé comprend des coûts clairs pour chaque année. Le financement peut être attribué chaque année.
  4. SAC confirmera la réception de votre proposition par courriel et pourrait communiquer avec vous pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires, au besoin.

Seules les propositions envoyées par voie électronique seront prises en considération. Veuillez ne pas envoyer de liens vers des fichiers dans le nuage ou vers des serveurs Internet, car SAC ne peut pas y avoir accès.

Assurez-vous que votre proposition décrit clairement comment le groupe, la communauté ou les personnes autochtones répondent aux critères de sélection.

Les demandeurs seront tous avisés du résultat de leur proposition (acceptée ou non).

Si vous avez des questions ou souhaitez obtenir de l'aide pour soumettre une proposition, envoyez un courriel à l'adresse sac.sefreforme-cfsreform.isc@canada.ca.

Critères de sélection

Pour avoir accès au financement du renforcement des capacités, les groupes, communautés ou peuples autochtones devront démontrer :

  1. qu'ils ont l'intention ou seront en mesure d'exercer leur compétence au cours des 5 prochaines années (« capacité » à exercer leur compétence);
  2. qu'ils assurent une bonne gestion administrative et financière.

Un certain nombre de facteurs seront utilisés pour évaluer l'état de préparation, notamment la question de savoir si les plans, les structures et l'engagement communautaire existants sont en place pour appuyer la réforme des services à l'enfance et à la famille et s'il y a une solide expérience en matière de gestion de programmes et d'exigences en matière d'élaboration de rapports.

La bonne gestion administrative et financière sera déterminée par un examen des accords financiers existant entre les groupes, les communautés ou les peuples autochtones et le gouvernement du Canada.

Toutefois, le fait de répondre à ces critères ne garantit pas l'obtention du financement.

Veuillez noter que même si ce financement pour le renforcement des capacités est destiné aux communautés qui seront en mesure d'exercer leur compétence en vertu de la Loi d'ici 5 ans. D'autres communautés peuvent avoir accès à d'autres programmes de renforcement des capacités en fonction de leur situation particulière. Communiquez avec votre bureau régional de SAC ou de Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada pour discuter d'autres possibilités de financement pour le renforcement des capacités.

Activités admissibles

  • Auto-évaluation de la communauté
  • Participation de la communauté, y compris les intervenants communautaires et les membres de la communauté, à la rédaction, à la révision ou à la mise au point des lois sur les services à l'enfance et à la famille ou de programmes adaptés à la culture
  • Planification, y compris la planification stratégique de la transition vers la compétence en matière de services à l'enfance et à la famille et le transfert de cette compétence
  • Recherche, y compris la recherche et le développement de modèles de services à l'enfance et à la famille et des études de faisabilité
  • Établissement de programmes de services à l'enfance et à la famille
  • Rédaction de lois et de politiques sur les services à l'enfance et à la famille
  • Collecte de données
  • Honoraires de consultation professionnelle, y compris les conseils d'experts
  • Activités liées à l'élaboration de la politique
  • Élaboration de lois, y compris l'embauche de professionnels pour aider à l'élaboration de lois
  • Déplacements et hébergement
  • Communications
  • Conception des systèmes de TI.
  • Matériel et logiciels nécessaires à la collecte et à l'analyse de données et à la production de rapports

SAC reconnaît la nécessité d'appuyer les groupes qui souhaitent renforcer la capacité de leur communauté en leur offrant un emploi temporaire pour les aider à exercer leur compétence en matière de services à l'enfance et à la famille et de se préparer à participer aux discussions sur les accords de coordination.

Ce financement ne vise pas à :

  • offrir des emplois permanents;
  • établir de structures permanentes;
  • mettre en œuvre les lois autochtones;
  • offrir de la formation sur les lois autochtones.

Le financement pour le renforcement des capacités vise à appuyer les groupes autochtones titulaires de droits en vertu de l'article 35 et leur corps dirigeant autochtone mandaté alors qu'ils travaillent au sein de leurs communautés et dans l'ensemble de celles-ci à établir des bases solides en vue de leur participation aux discussions sur les ententes de coordination. Le financement des structures permanentes pour l'application des lois, des modèles, et des programmes et pour la prestation de services autochtones sera abordé dans le cadre du processus de discussion des accords de coordination.

Financement

Le financement :

  • sera comparable pour tous les groupes et toutes les distinctions;
  • sera fondé sur la situation particulière de chaque communauté autochtone ou corps dirigeant autochtone, y compris l'emplacement géographique (éloignement) et le nombre de communautés titulaires de droits en vertu de l'article 35 représentés par le corps dirigeant autochtone.

Les montants de financement seront assujettis à ce qui suit :

  • le financement annuel maximal conformément au tableau de financement ci-dessous;

ou

  • le nombre de propositions reçues et le financement total disponible.

Les propositions pluriannuelles seront examinées chaque année. Le financement pour l'année suivante dépendra de l'atteinte des objectifs des bénéficiaires et de la disponibilité des fonds.

Le niveau maximum de l'aide gouvernementale totale (aide fédérale, provinciale, territoriale et municipale pour les mêmes dépenses admissibles) octroyée aux mêmes fins et dépenses admissibles ne doit pas excéder 100 % des dépenses admissibles.

Le cas échéant, les plafonds de financement peuvent être plus élevés pour tenir compte des frais de déplacement dans les régions éloignées du pays. Temporairement aux fins de ce processus de financement, terme « éloigné » désigne un endroit sans accès routier à longueur d'année à un centre de service.

La façon dont SAC évaluera l'éloignement sera conforme aux contributions à l'appui de la négociation et de la mise en œuvre des traités, des revendications et des ententes ou initiatives d'autonomie gouvernementale de RCAANC. Il s'agit d'une mesure provisoire qui permettra à SAC d'allouer en temps opportun du financement pour le renforcement des capacités aux groupes autochtones qui souhaitent exercer leur compétence en matière de services à l'enfance et à la famille, jusqu'à ce qu'une approche de financement à plus long terme puisse être adoptée avec les partenaires autochtones.

Niveaux de financement maximal par année
  Lieu géographique
Milieu urbain Région éloignée
Communautés autochtones
(généralement moins de 1 500 personnes)
250 000 $ 300 000 $
Communautés autochtones
(généralement plus de 1 500 personnes)
550 000 $ 650 000 $
Groupes autochtones représentant plusieurs communautés, conseil de bande, etc. 1 000 000 $ 1 200 000 $
Grandes organisations visées par un traité ou à l'échelle régionale ou provinciale, organisme inuit de revendications territoriales, Fédération des Métis, etc. 1 750 000 $ 2 000 000 $

Modalités

SAC élaborera conjointement les modalités de ce programme avec des partenaires autochtones. Entre-temps, afin de fournir le financement aux demandeurs le plus tôt possible, SAC utilisera les modalités d'autres programmes :

Exigences en matière de rapports

Les bénéficiaires de financement devront présenter un rapport financier annuel faisant état de l'utilisation des fonds conformément aux conditions de l'entente de financement.

Communiquez avec nous

Par courriel : sac.sefreforme-cfsreform.isc@canada.ca

Liens connexes

Date de modification :