Reducing the number of Indigenous children in care

The Government of Canada has co-developed, with Indigenous peoples, provinces and territories, new legislation to reduce the number of Indigenous children and youth in care and improve child and family services.

The Act respecting First Nations, Inuit and Métis children, youth and families came into force on January 1, 2020.

On July 7 the Assembly of First Nations and Government of Canada signed a protocol co-developed by both organizations to establish a new structure to support discussions on the implementation of the Act respecting First Nations, Inuit and Métis children, youth and families.

Protocol regarding An Act Respecting First Nations, Inuit and Métis children, youth and families in relation to the Assembly of First Nations

About the act

Co-developed with Indigenous, provincial and territorial partners, the act:

On June 21, 2019, the Act respecting First Nations, Inuit and Métis children, youth and families became an official law, and on January 1, 2020, its provisions came into force.

What will happen on January 1, 2020

Indigenous groups who wish to do so can design and deliver child and family services solutions that best suit their needs. Just as the act was co-developed with our partners, we will continue to work with them through the transition and implementation phases of the act.

As of January 1, 2020:

ISC will continue to work with Indigenous groups who wish to exercise their jurisdiction as they decide which option they prefer to use.

To access a list of service providers consult the First Nations Child and Family Services interactive map.

If you need more information please contact us by:

A technical information package is also available in PDF format.

Co-development of federal legislation on Indigenous child and family services

During the summer and fall of 2018, the Government of Canada engaged with national, regional and community organizations representing First Nations, Inuit and Métis as well as Treaty Nations, self-governing First Nations and Inuit, provinces and territories, experts and people with lived experience, including Elders, youth and women. 65 engagement sessions were held across the country, with nearly 2,000 participants. These sessions were part of the co-development of legislation that contributes to comprehensive reform of Indigenous child and family services.

Indigenous children in foster care

In Canada, 52.2% of children in foster care are Indigenous, but account for only 7.7% of the child population according to Census 2016. This means 14,970 out of 28,665 foster children in private homes under the age of 15 are Indigenous.

Results from the 2011 National Household Survey also show that 38% of Indigenous children in Canada live in poverty, compared to 7% for non-Indigenous children.

Related links

Date modified:

Réduire le nombre d'enfants autochtones pris en charge

Le gouvernement du Canada a élaboré, de concert avec les peuples autochtones, les provinces et les territoires, une nouvelle loi visant à réduire le nombre d'enfants et de jeunes Autochtones pris en charge et à améliorer les services à l'enfance et à la famille.

La Loi concernant les enfants, les jeunes et les familles des Premières Nations, des Inuits et des Métis est entrée en vigueur le 1er janvier 2020.

Le 7 juillet, l'Assemblée des Premières Nations et le gouvernement du Canada ont signé un protocole élaboré conjointement par les 2 organisations afin d'établir une nouvelle structure visant à appuyer les discussions sur la mise en œuvre de la Loi concernant les enfants, les jeunes et les familles des Premières Nations, des Inuits et des Métis.

Protocole relatif à la Loi concernant les enfants, les jeunes et les familles des Premières Nations, des Inuits et des Métis en ce qui a trait à l'Assemblée des Premières Nations

À propos de la loi

Élaborée conjointement avec les partenaires autochtones, provinciaux et territoriaux, la loi :

Le 21 juin 2019, la Loi concernant les enfants, les jeunes et les familles des Premières Nations, des Inuits et des Métis est devenue une loi officielle et le 1er janvier 2020, ses dispositions sont entrées en vigueur.

À partir du 1er janvier 2020

Les groupes autochtones qui le souhaitent peuvent concevoir et offrir des solutions en matière de services à l'enfance et à la famille qui répondent mieux à leurs besoins. Comme la loi a été élaborée conjointement avec nos partenaires, nous continuerons de travailler avec eux pendant les étapes de transition et de mise en œuvre de celle-ci.

Après le 1er janvier 2020 :

SAC continuera de collaborer avec les groupes autochtones qui souhaitent exercer leur compétence lorsqu'ils décideront de l'option qu'ils préfèrent utiliser.

Pour obtenir la liste des fournisseurs de services, consultez la Carte interactive des services à l'enfance et à la famille des Premières Nations.

Pour plus de renseignements, contactez-nous par :

Un guide d'information technique en format PDF est également disponible.

L'élaboration conjointe d'une loi fédérale sur les services à l'enfance et à la famille autochtones

Durant l'été et l'automne 2018, le gouvernement du Canada a entrepris un processus de mobilisation auprès d'organisations nationales, régionales et communautaires représentant les Premières Nations, les Inuits et les Métis, ainsi qu'auprès de nations signataires de traités, de Premières Nations autogérées et des Inuits, des provinces et des territoires, d'experts et de personnes ayant vécu l'expérience, y compris des Aînés, des jeunes et des femmes. Au total, 65 séances de mobilisation ont été tenues dans tout le pays et près de 2 000 personnes y ont participé. Ces séances faisaient partie du processus d'élaboration conjointe d'une loi qui contribue à une réforme globale des services à l'enfance et à la famille autochtones.

Enfants autochtones en famille d'accueil

Au Canada, 52,2 % des enfants en famille d'accueil sont autochtones, malgré le fait que les enfants autochtones représentent seulement 7,7 % de la population d'enfants au pays selon le Recensement de 2016. Cela veut dire que des 28 665 enfants de moins de 15 ans en foyer d'accueil privé, 14 970 sont autochtones.

Les résultats de l'Enquête nationale auprès des ménages de 2011 indiquent que 38 % des enfants autochtones au Canada vivent dans la pauvreté, comparativement à un taux de 7 % chez les enfants non autochtones.

Liens connexes

Date de modification :