Trust moneys

Find out how First Nations can manage their band moneys. Learn about Indigenous Services Canada's (ISC) responsibility to manage moneys held in trust for First Nations and their members.

On this page

What trust moneys are

Trust moneys are all moneys collected, received or held in trust by ISC for the use and benefit of First Nations and their members. Trust moneys are held in the Consolidated Revenue Fund, where public moneys are deposited, as defined under the Financial Administration Act.

There are 2 types of trust moneys:

Individual moneys

Individual moneys are managed by ISC on behalf of Status Indian minors, dependent adults (based on a provincial designation as such), and estates of certain deceased individuals. These moneys are administered and accessed through the Estates Program according to sections 42 to 52 of the Indian Act.

Status Indian minors

An individual trust account holds certain moneys belonging to a minor until that minor reaches the age of majority in the province where they live, at which time the account balance is paid to them and then the account is closed. Individual trust accounts are usually established in one of 2 situations:

  • when the Minister exercises jurisdiction over property of a minor
  • when a First Nation asks ISC to retain a minor's share of per capita distributions

Trust accounts administered by ISC on behalf of minors accrue interest until the account is paid out. To learn more, visit Who is a minor?

The Minors Account Payout Initiative was established to pay individuals who have a trust account with ISC and have now reached the age of majority in their province of residence. To learn more, visit Minors Account Payout Initiative.

Dependent adults

Where a First Nation member, who ordinarily lives on reserve, is found to be incapable of handling their own financial affairs, ISC may establish an account for the individual and manage their day-to-day income and expenditures. These accounts accrue interest.

Estates

Where a First Nation member, who ordinarily lives on reserve, dies, the Minister has exclusive jurisdiction over the estate. ISC may appoint an outside administrator (provincial officer, family member, etc.) or, as a last resort, appoint an ISC employee to administer the estate. Estate trust accounts are established by ISC as required in order to administer the estate. Estate trust accounts are entitled to interest, with the exception of accounts established for missing heirs.

For more information, visit Estate services for First Nations.

Band moneys

Band moneys are managed by ISC on behalf of First Nations according to sections 61 to 69 of the Indian Act, which outline ISC's responsibilities for the collection, maintenance, disbursement and accounting of these moneys.

There are 2 types of band moneys:

Capital moneys

Capital moneys are trust moneys that come from the sale of the First Nation's surrendered lands, from an interest in the land, or from the sale of the First Nation's non-renewable resources.

Examples of capital moneys include proceeds from:

  • oil and gas revenues
  • sale of a First Nation's reserve lands
  • sale of timber without a reforestation program
  • sale of gravel

Revenue moneys

Revenue moneys include all other band moneys other than capital moneys.

Examples of revenue moneys include proceeds from:

  • the sale of renewable resources
  • reserve land activities such as leases, permits and rights-of-way
  • fines
  • interest earned on capital and revenue moneys held by ISC

How First Nations can access and manage their band moneys

There are various methods for First Nations to access band moneys, including exercising more access than the Indian Act alone currently provides:

Visit the various acts or the Manual for the administration of band moneys to learn more.

Related links

Date modified:

Fonds en fiducie

Découvrez comment les Premières Nations peuvent gérer leurs fonds des bandes, ainsi que sur les responsabilités de Services aux Autochtones Canada (SAC) relativement à la gestion de l'argent détenu en fiducie pour les Premières Nations et leurs membres.

Sur cette page

Que sont les fonds en fiducie

Les fonds en fiducie correspondent aux sommes d'argent perçues, reçues ou détenues par SAC à l'usage et au profit des Premières Nations et de leurs membres. Les fonds en fiducie sont détenus dans le Trésor, où sont déposés les fonds publics, comme on le définit dans la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques.

Il y a 2 catégories de fonds en fiducie :

Fonds des particuliers

Services aux Autochtones Canada (SAC) administre les fonds des particuliers au nom des Indiens inscrits qui sont d'âge mineur ou qui sont des adultes à charge (compte tenu d'une désignation provinciale), ainsi que les successions de certaines personnes décédées. L'administration des fonds et l'accès à ceux‑ci s'effectuent par le truchement du Programme d'administration des successions et du patrimoine, en conformité avec les articles 42 à 52 de la Loi sur les Indiens.

Indiens inscrits d'âge mineur

Un compte en fiducie d'un particulier détient les fonds d'un mineur jusqu'à ce que celui-ci atteigne l'âge de la majorité dans sa province de résidence, moment où le solde du compte doit lui être versé et le compte est fermé. Les comptes en fiducie des particuliers sont habituellement établis dans l'une de 2 situations :

  • lorsque le ministre exerce sa compétence discrétionnaire sur les biens d'un mineur;
  • lorsqu'une Première Nation demande à SAC de retenir la part de distribution par personne du mineur.

Les comptes en fiducie administrés par SAC au nom de mineurs accumulent de l'intérêt jusqu'à ce qu'ils soient payés. Pour en apprendre davantage, visitez Qu'est-ce qu'on entend par un mineur?

L'Initiative de liquidation des comptes des mineurs a été créée pour verser les fonds aux personnes qui ont un compte en fiducie auprès de SAC et qui ont atteint l'âge de la majorité dans leur province de résidence. Pour en apprendre davantage, visitez l'Initiative de liquidation des comptes des mineurs.

Adultes à charge

Lorsqu'il a été déterminé qu'un membre d'une Première Nation, qui habite habituellement dans une réserve, est incapable de gérer ses propres affaires, SAC peut créer un compte pour la personne et gérer ses revenus et dépenses au jour le jour. Ces comptes accumulent de l'intérêt.

Successions

Lorsqu'un membre d'une Première Nation, qui habite habituellement dans une réserve, décède, le ministre a la compétence exclusive sur la succession. SAC peut nommer un administrateur externe (agent provincial, membre de la famille, etc.) ou, en dernier recours, un employé de SAC pour administrer la succession. SAC établit, au besoin, des comptes en fiducie pour administrer la succession. Ces comptes accumulent de l'intérêt, à l'exception des comptes établis pour des héritiers manquants.

Pour obtenir plus d'information, visitez Services d'administration des successions et du patrimoine pour les membres des Premières Nations.

Fonds des bandes

SAC administre les fonds des bandes au nom des Premières Nations en vertu des articles 61 à 69 de la Loi sur les Indiens, où sont exposés les responsabilités du ministère relativement à la perception, à la tenue, à la dépense et à la comptabilité de ces fonds.

Il y a 2 types de fonds des bandes :

Capital

Le capital, qui constitue des fonds en fiducie, provient de la vente de terres cédées, d'un intérêt foncier, ou de la vente de ressources non renouvelables d'une Première Nation.

Exemples de capital incluent les recettes tirées :

  • des revenus provenant de l'exploitation du pétrole et du gaz;
  • des recettes de la vente de terres de réserve d'une Première Nation;
  • des recettes de la vente de bois d'œuvre sans programme de reboisement;
  • des recettes de la vente de gravier.

Revenu

Les fonds des bandes qui ne sont pas du capital sont considérés comme du revenu.

Exemples de revenu incluent les recettes tirées des éléments suivants :

  • Vente de ressources renouvelables
  • Baux, permis, droits de passage, etc. sur les terres de réserve
  • Amendes
  • Intérêts sur le capital et le revenu détenu par SAC

Comment les Premières Nations peuvent‑elles avoir accès aux fonds des bandes et les gérer?

Les Premières Nations ont divers moyens d'avoir accès aux fonds des bandes, y compris d'offrir un plus grand accès que ce qui est actuellement prévu dans la Loi sur les Indiens :

Consultez les diverses lois ou le Guide d'administration des fonds des bandes.

Liens connexes

Date de modification :