Accessing COVID-19 public health supports for the territories, Nunavik and Nunatsiavut

Find out the government that leads the COVID-19 public health response in your Northern region, and access its support. Find out how Indigenous Services Canada supports the response in your region.

On this page

About COVID-19 public health supports

Each territory has a universal health care system that provides services for all its residents, including Indigenous peoples. As a result, addressing COVID-19 is the responsibility of territorial governments with their public health systems leading the response across Indigenous and non-Indigenous communities.

Territorial governments are responsible for primary care and public health for all residents of the territories. The Government of Quebec is responsible for Nunavik. The Nunatsiavut Government delivers public health whereas the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador is responsible for primary care.

First Nations communities in the North should consult: Accessing COVID-19 public health support for First Nations communities

Supporting partners in the territories in responding to COVID-19

The Government of Canada has been responding to requests from Indigenous governments, communities and organizations, and territorial governments for increased public health measures to respond to COVID-19. Indigenous Services Canada (ISC) coordinates between federal departments and territorial governments to provide solutions, such as surge capacity and isolation structures, and is in regular communication through various working groups to address other issues such as food security, transport and medivacs.

The support focuses on following 3 areas:

1. Federal funding

ISC continues to work with Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada and other federal departments to support funding to territorial governments and Indigenous governments and communities for both their COVID-19 response and for ongoing funding arrangements, including the:

2. Supplies and equipment

How to submit a request for Personal Protective Equipment (PPE), health, medical or social services:

  • Yukon: contact covid19info@gov.yk.ca
  • Northwest Territories:
  • Nunavut: contact Susan Noseworthy at Community and Government Services: SNoseworthy@GOV.NU.CA. PPE requests should specify if they are health or social services related or if they are general in nature.

If territorial PPE stockpiles are low, territorial governments can reach out to the Public Health Agency of Canada, to access the National Emergency Strategic Stockpile for urgent health care needs.

If the territorial government denies a request or has not responded in over 48 hours, ISC can assist Indigenous communities in the territories with their requests for PPEs through the national ISC stockpile. Contact: sac.regiondunord-northernregion.isc@canada.ca.

3. Targeted territorial working groups

ISC works closely with territorial and Indigenous partners through a number of working groups to support Northern communities and facilitate the release of federal funding in response to COVID-19.

ISC will continue to collaborate with territorial governments and Indigenous partners to help respond to COVID-19. Contact information for the ISC Northern Region is Heather MacPhail: heather.macphail@sac-isc.gc.ca.

Supporting the Nunatsiavut government response to COVID-19

The Nunatsiavut Government is leading the response to COVID-19 in Nunatsiavut. By supporting linkage with provincial public health, as well as providing funding and information, ISC Atlantic region is assisting the Nunatsiavut Government with its response. ISC has also invited the Nunatsiavut Government to identify any additional supports that might be available for unique needs.

Supporting the Nunavik response to COVID-19

The Nunavik Regional Board of Health and Social Services, as an integral part of the Quebec health network, has the responsibility for public health and the pandemic response in Nunavik. ISC collaborates with the Board and with Makivik Corporation to help respond to COVID-19.

Specific requests related to the COVID-19 response can be addressed to: sac.covid-19dgspni-fnihbqc.isc@canada.ca or by telephone: 1-833-978-2331.

Related links

Date modified:

Préparation et intervention liées à la COVID-19 dans les territoires, au Nunavik et au Nunatsiavut

Chaque territoire dispose de son propre système de santé universel qui offre des services à l'ensemble des résidants du territoire, y compris aux Autochtones. Il revient donc aux gouvernements des territoires de gérer la COVID-19 et à leur système de santé de diriger l'intervention à cet égard dans les communautés autochtones et non autochtones.

Les gouvernements territoriaux sont responsables de la prestation de soins de santé primaire et de santé publique à l'ensemble des résidants des territoires. Le gouvernement du Québec est responsable pour le Nunavik. Le gouvernement du Nunatsiavut offre des services de santé publique tandis que le gouvernement de Terre‑Neuve‑et‑Labrador est responsable de la prestation des soins primaires.

Appuyer l'intervention du gouvernement territorial à l'égard de la COVID-19

Services aux Autochtones Canada (SAC) répond aux besoins des communautés et des gouvernements territoriaux en ce qui a trait à la nécessité de prendre des mesures de santé publique accrues pour lutter contre la COVID-19. SAC assure la coordination entre les ministères fédéraux afin de trouver des solutions aux besoins cernés, comme une capacité d'appoint et des structures d'isolement, et communique régulièrement par l'entremise de divers groupes de travail afin de régler d'autres questions, comme celles relatives à la sécurité alimentaire, au transport et aux évacuations médicales.

Jusqu'à présent, le soutien fourni a mis l'accent sur 3 grands domaines.

Financement fédéral

SAC travaille avec Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada et d'autres ministères fédéraux pour assurer le financement des gouvernements et des communautés territoriales pour appuyer leur intervention à l'égard de la COVID-19 ainsi que les ententes de financement continu, comme :

Fournitures et équipement

Comment soumettre une demande d'équipement de protection individuelle (EPI) ou de services de santé, médicaux ou sociaux :

  • Yukon : envoyez un courriel à covid19info@gov.yk.ca
  • Territoires du Nord-Ouest :
    • Pour les besoins en services de santé ou sociaux, communiquez avec Carolyn Ridgley à Carolyn_Ridgley@gov.nt.ca
    • Pour les demandes qui ne sont pas liées à la prestation de services de santé et sociaux de première ligne, communiquez avec l'organisation de gestion des urgences (OGU) des T. N.‑O à l'adresse suivante : NWTEMO_Logistics@gov.nt.ca, à l'attention du Sudhir Jha
  • Nunavut : communiquez avec Susan Noseworthy des services communautaires et gouvernementaux, à SNoseworthy@GOV.NU.CA. Il doit être précisé dans les demandes d'EPI s'il existe des services de santé ou sociaux connexes ou si ces derniers sont de nature générale.

Si les réserves territoriales d'EPI sont presque épuisées, les gouvernements territoriaux peuvent communiquer avec l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada, par l'entremise de la Réserve nationale stratégique d'urgence, pour répondre à leurs besoins urgents en santé.

Si le gouvernement territorial refuse une demande ou n'a pas fourni de réponse dans les 48 heures, SAC peut aider les communautés autochtones des territoires à présenter leurs demandes d'EPI à la réserve nationale de SAC. Envoyez un courriel à : sac.regiondunord-northernregion.isc@canada.ca.

Groupes de travail territoriaux ciblés

SAC travaille en étroite collaboration avec les partenaires territoriaux et autochtones des territoires par l'entremise de divers groupes de travail pour appuyer les communautés du Nord et faciliter la distribution de financement fédéral pour lutter contre la COVID-19.

SAC continuera de collaborer avec les gouvernements territoriaux et ses partenaires autochtones pour lutter contre la COVID-19. La personne‑ressource du bureau de la région du Nord de SAC est Louis Dumulon : louis.dumulon@canada.ca.

Appuyer l'intervention du gouvernement du Nunatsiavut à l'égard de la COVID-19

Le gouvernement du Nunatsiavut dirige l'intervention pour lutter contre la COVID-19 au sein du Nunatsiavut. En appuyant les liens avec les autorités de santé publique provinciales et en fournissant du financement et de l'information, SAC aide le gouvernement du Nunatsiavut dans le cadre de son intervention. SAC a également invité le gouvernement du Nunatsiavut à dresser la liste de tout service de soutien supplémentaire pouvant être utilisé pour répondre aux besoins uniques.

Appuyer l'intervention du Nunavik à l'égard de la COVID-19

La Régie régionale de la santé et des services sociaux du Nunavik, qui fait partie intégrante du réseau de santé du Québec, est responsable de la santé publique et de l'intervention à l'égard de la pandémie au Nunavik. SAC collabore avec le conseil et la Société Makivik pour appuyer l'intervention à l'égard de la COVID-19. Les demandes liées à cette intervention peuvent être communiquées par courriel à sac.covid-19dgspni-fnihbqc.isc@canada.ca ou par téléphone au 1-833-978-2331.

Date de modification :