Long-term reform of First Nations Child and Family Services and long-term approach for Jordan's Principle

Agreements-in-principle on child and family services compensation and reform and the final settlement agreement on compensation.

On this page

Agreements-in-principle

On January 4, 2022, the Government of Canada and the parties to the complaint before the Canadian Human Rights Tribunal (CHRT) regarding the First Nations Child and Family Services program and Jordan's Principle, and the parties to 2 Federal Court class actions announced that agreements-in-principle were reached on a global resolution for:

Who the parties are

The parties involved in the negotiation of the long-term reform final settlement agreement are:

Amnesty International Canada and the Canadian Human Rights Commission continue to have standing before the CHRT.

The parties involved in the final settlement agreement on compensation are:

Work on final settlement agreements

Since reaching these agreements-in-principle, Canada and the parties have worked towards final and binding settlement agreements on:

The long-term reform final agreement will also support a renewed approach to:

While work on long-term reform continues with the parties, a final settlement agreement on compensation has been reached.

Under the compensation agreement, Canada will fund a package of trauma-informed health and cultural supports for class members and their families. These supports will be modelled after the supports provided in the Indian Residential Schools Resolution Health Support Program. This will be available to class members and include:

Supports for children, youth, and families focused on their particular needs will be available. They will be aligned with the First Nations Mental Wellness Continuum Framework, which is widely endorsed and developed with First Nations partners.

Eligible First Nations seeking immediate emotional support can contact the Hope for Wellness Help Line, toll-free: 1-855-242-3310 or by online chat at www.hopeforwellness.ca.

For more information:

Compensation

Who is eligible?

The final settlement agreement on compensation provides for $20 billion for children who:

  • were removed from their homes under the First Nations Child and Family Services Program between April 1, 1991 and March 31, 2022 (as confirmed by 2022 CHRT 8, issued on March 24, 2022)
  • were impacted by the government's narrow definition of Jordan's Principle between December 12, 2007 and November 2, 2017
  • as children, did not receive or were delayed in receiving an essential public service or product between April 1, 1991 and December 11, 2007

Some caregivers of the children above may also be eligible for compensation.

Now that a final settlement agreement has been reached, the next steps are:

  • asking the CHRT to confirm that the agreement satisfies its compensation orders
  • seeking Federal Court approval of the settlement

The parties are committed to ensuring that the process advances as quickly as possible.

We know that there are a lot of questions about the final settlement agreement on compensation. You may wish to consult the websites of the Assembly of First Nations and of Sotos Class Actions:

Long-term reform

The agreement-in-principle on long-term reform includes approximately $20 billion over the first 5 years for long-term reform of the First Nations Child and Family Services program to ensure that the discrimination found by the CHRT does not happen again. This includes:

Funding for child and family services will go to First Nations and to First Nations child and family service providers to deliver a range of services to children and families in their communities.

First Nations affirming their jurisdiction under the framework provided in the Act respecting First Nations, Inuit and Métis children, youth and families, will not receive less funding than they would have received under the reformed approach. Funding beyond the next 5 years will be determined through an approach set out in the Final Settlement Agreement.

For more information:

Why long-term reform is needed

For child and family services, the goal is to design, test and implement an evidence-informed funding approach to ensure First Nations children, youth and families have access to culturally-based and substantively equal public services that meet their needs and community circumstances.

The new evidence-informed funding approach will provide First Nations and First Nations-authorized service providers non-discriminatory, stable, predictable funding to deliver the services and supports to promote family wellness and address the factors linked to the dramatic over-representation of First Nations children in care.

Examples of these services include culturally appropriate interventions and supports for children and young people with high needs through services such as counselling, respite and youth workers, and supports for parents experiencing multi-generational trauma and/or addictions such as family-based treatment, cultural supports and family reunification.

For Jordan's Principle, the longer term goal is to design, test and implement a long-term approach to ensure there is no discrimination in the provision of health, social services and education supports, services and products for First Nations children and youth. Substantive equality and culturally appropriate interventions that respond to the unique needs of First Nations children and youth must be preserved.

Next steps

Canada and the parties to the agreement-in-principle will continue to work together to reach a final settlement agreement on long-term reform.

Once a final settlement is reached and the necessary CHRT orders are made, measures will be implemented to:

The agreement-in-principle provides for some key elements of the reformed First Nations Child and Family Services program that were implemented on April 1, 2022. These include:

Once a final settlement is reached, other reforms will be implemented more fully starting on April 1, 2023.

Immediate measures

On April 1, 2022, Canada began implementing enhancements to the First Nations Child and Family Services program. These include funding for post-majority support services up to the age of 26, funding for First Nations representative services and increased prevention funding in all provinces and the Yukon.

Learn more:

New funding for on-reserve housing to support prevention initiatives

Subject to the Final Settlement Agreement on long-term reform, Canada has agreed to establish a fund of $2 billion for First Nations to purchase, construct or renovate housing units in their communities in relation to the needs of First Nations children.

This is in addition to the $1.66 billion in housing investments that have been made since 2016 to address housing needs on reserves. We recognize more work needs to be done and we will continue to work in partnership with First Nations so that they have access to adequate, safe and affordable housing.

Capital assets funding

On November 16, 2021, the Canadian Human Rights Tribunal issued 2021 CHRT 41, which was amended on January 18, 2022. This decision contains orders for Canada to fund the purchase and construction of capital assets for the delivery of First Nations child and family services on reserve and in the Yukon or for the delivery of services under Jordan's Principle to First Nations children on-reserve, in the Northwest Territories and in the Yukon.

To learn more, including who is eligible and how to apply, consult:

Funding for capital assets: Jordan's Principle and First Nations child and family services

Related programs

Latest news

Date modified:

Réforme à long terme des Services à l'enfance et à la famille des Premières Nations et approche à long terme à l'égard du principe de Jordan

Ententes de principe sur l'indemnisation et la réforme des services à l'enfance et à la famille et accord de règlement final sur l'indemnisation.

Sur cette page

Ententes de principe

Le 4 janvier 2022, le gouvernement du Canada et les parties à la plainte déposée devant le Tribunal canadien des droits de la personne (TCDP) concernant le programme des Services à l'enfance et à la famille des Premières Nations et le principe de Jordan, ainsi que les parties à 2 recours collectifs devant la Cour fédérale, ont annoncé que des ententes de principe avaient été conclues en vue d'une résolution globale pour :

Qui sont les parties

Les parties impliquées dans la négociation de l'accord de règlement final de la réforme à long terme sont les suivantes :

Amnistie internationale Canada et la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne ont toujours qualité pour agir devant le TCDP.

Les parties impliquées dans l'accord de règlement final sur l'indemnisation sont :

Travail sur les accords de règlement finals

Depuis la conclusion de ces ententes de principe, le Canada et les parties ont travaillé à la conclusion d'accords de règlement définitifs et exécutoires sur les points suivants :

L'accord final sur la réforme à long terme appuiera également une approche renouvelée à l'égard :

Alors que le travail sur la réforme à long terme se poursuit avec les parties, un accord de règlement final sur l'indemnisation a été conclu.

En vertu de l'accord d'indemnisation, le Canada financera un ensemble de mesures de santé et de soutien culturel tenant compte des traumatismes pour les membres du groupe et leurs familles. Ces soutiens s'inspireront de ceux offerts dans le cadre du Programme de soutien en santé - résolution des questions des pensionnats indiens. Il sera mis à la disposition des membres du groupe et comprendra les éléments suivants :

Des mesures de soutien pour les enfants, les jeunes et les familles adaptés à leurs besoins particuliers seront disponibles. Ils seront alignés sur le cadre du continuum du mieux-être mental des Premières Nations, qui est largement approuvé et élaboré avec les partenaires des Premières Nations.

Les Premières Nations admissibles qui recherchent un soutien émotionnel immédiat peuvent contacter la ligne d'aide Espoir pour le mieux-être, sans frais : 1‑855‑242‑3310 ou par clavardage en ligne sur www.espoirpourlemieuxetre.ca.

Pour plus d'informations :

Indemnisation

Qui est admissible

L'accord de règlement final sur l'indemnisation prévoit 20 milliards de dollars pour les enfants qui :

  • ont été retirés de leur foyer en vertu du programme des Services à l'enfance et à la famille des Premières Nations entre le 1er avril 1991 et le 31 mars 2022 (comme le confirme le TCDP 8 de 2022, publié le 24 mars 2022);
  • ont été touchés par la définition étroite du principe de Jordan adoptée par le gouvernement entre le 12 décembre 2007 et le 2 novembre 2017;
  • en tant qu'enfants, n'ont pas reçu ou ont reçu avec retard un service ou un produit public essentiel entre le 1er avril 1991 et le 11 décembre 2007.

Certaines personnes s'occupant des enfants susmentionnés peuvent également être admissibles à une indemnisation.

Maintenant qu'un accord de règlement définitif a été conclu, les prochaines étapes consistent à :

  • demander au TCDP de confirmer que l'accord satisfait à ses ordonnances d'indemnisation;
  • demander à la Cour fédérale d'approuver le règlement.

Les parties se sont engagées à faire en sorte que le processus avance le plus rapidement possible.

Nous sommes conscients qu'il y a beaucoup de questions au sujet de l'accord de règlement final sur l'indemnisation. Vous pouvez consulter les sites Internet de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations et de Sotos Class Actions :

Réforme à long terme

L'entente de principe sur la réforme à long terme comprend environ 20 milliards de dollars sur les 5 premières années pour la réforme à long terme du programme des Services à l'enfance et à la famille des Premières Nations afin de s'assurer que la discrimination constatée par le TCDP ne se reproduise pas. Cela comprend :

Le financement des services à l'enfance et à la famille sera versé aux Premières Nations et aux fournisseurs de services à l'enfance et à la famille des Premières Nations afin qu'ils puissent offrir une gamme de services aux enfants et aux familles dans leurs communautés.

Les Premières Nations qui affirment leur compétence en vertu du cadre prévu par la Loi concernant les enfants, les jeunes et les familles des Premières Nations, des Inuits et des Métis ne recevront pas moins de fonds que ceux qu'elles auraient reçus en vertu de l'approche réformée. Le financement au-delà des 5 prochaines années sera déterminé selon une approche énoncée dans l'accord de règlement définitif.

Pour plus d'information :

Résumé de l'entente de principe sur la réforme à long terme

Pourquoi une réforme à long terme est nécessaire

En ce qui concerne les services à l'enfance et à la famille, l'objectif est de concevoir, de mettre à l'essai et de mettre en œuvre une méthode de financement fondée sur des données probantes afin de s'assurer que les enfants, les jeunes et les familles des Premières Nations ont accès à des services publics fondés sur la culture et l'égalité des chances qui répondent à leurs besoins et à la situation de leur communauté.

La nouvelle approche de financement fondée sur des données probantes fournira aux fournisseurs de services des Premières Nations et aux fournisseurs de services autorisés par les Premières Nations un financement non discriminatoire, stable et prévisible pour offrir des services et des mesures de soutien visant à promouvoir le bien-être des familles et à s'attaquer aux facteurs liés à la surreprésentation dramatique des enfants des Premières Nations pris en charge.

Ces services comprennent, par exemple, des interventions et des mesures de soutien culturellement appropriés pour les enfants et les jeunes ayant des besoins élevés, par le biais de services tels que du counseling, le répit et des travailleurs jeunesse, et des mesures de soutien pour les parents subissant des traumatismes multigénérationnels et/ou des dépendances, tels que le traitement familial, les mesures de soutien culturelles et la réunification familiale.

Pour le principe de Jordan, l'objectif à long terme est de concevoir, de tester et de mettre en œuvre une approche à long terme pour s'assurer qu'il n'y a pas de discrimination dans la prestation de services de santé, de services sociaux et de soutien à l'éducation, de services et de produits pour les enfants et les jeunes des Premières Nations. L'égalité réelle et les interventions culturellement appropriées qui répondent aux besoins uniques des enfants et des jeunes des Premières Nations doivent être préservées.

Prochaines étapes

Le Canada et les parties à l'entente de principe continueront de travailler ensemble pour parvenir à un accord de règlement final sur la réforme à long terme.

Une fois qu'un règlement final aura été conclu et que les ordonnances nécessaires du TCDP auront été rendues, des mesures seront mises en œuvre pour :

  • mieux répondre aux besoins des enfants, des jeunes et des familles des Premières Nations;
  • empêcher que le sous-financement discriminatoire du Canada et l'application étroite du principe de Jordan ne se reproduisent.

L'entente de principe prévoit certains éléments clés du programme réformé des Services à l'enfance et à la famille des Premières Nations qui ont été mis en œuvre le 1er avril 2022. Ces éléments comprennent :

  • un financement pour soutenir les jeunes adultes des Premières Nations qui sortent du système de protection de l'enfance et qui étaient auparavant pris en charge (jusqu'à leur 26e anniversaire);
  • des services de prévention qui s'appuient sur les forces culturelles multigénérationnelles pour aider les enfants et les familles à rester ensemble en toute sécurité;
  • des services de représentation des Premières Nations dans toutes les provinces et au Yukon.

Une fois qu'un règlement final aura été conclu, les autres réformes seront mises en œuvre de manière plus complète à partir du 1er avril 2023.

Mesures immédiates

Le 1er avril 2022, le Canada a commencé à mettre en œuvre des améliorations au programme des Services à l'enfance et à la famille des Premières Nations. Celles-ci comprennent le financement des soins post-majorité jusqu'à l'âge de 26 ans, le financement des services de représentation des Premières Nations et l'augmentation du financement de la prévention dans toutes les provinces et au Yukon.

Pour en savoir plus :

Nouveau financement pour le logement dans les réserves afin de soutenir les initiatives de prévention

Sous réserve de l'accord de règlement définitif sur la réforme à long terme, le Canada a accepté de créer un fonds de 2 milliards de dollars pour que les Premières Nations puissent acheter, construire ou rénover des unités de logement dans leurs communautés en fonction des besoins des enfants des Premières Nations.

Cette somme s'ajoute aux 1,66 milliard de dollars d'investissements dans le logement qui ont été faits depuis 2016 pour répondre aux besoins en matière de logement dans les réserves. Nous reconnaissons qu'il reste du travail à faire et nous continuerons à travailler en partenariat avec les Premières Nations afin qu'elles aient accès à des logements adéquats, sécuritaires et abordables.

Financement des immobilisations

Le 16 novembre 2021, le Tribunal canadien des droits de la personne a rendu la décision 2021 TCDP 41, qui a été modifiée le 18 janvier 2022. Cette décision contient des ordonnances pour que le Canada finance l'achat et la construction d'immobilisations pour la prestation de services à l'enfance et à la famille des Premières Nations dans les réserves et au Yukon ou pour la prestation de services en vertu du principe de Jordan aux enfants des Premières Nations dans les réserves, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et au Yukon.

Pour en savoir plus, notamment sur les personnes admissibles et la façon de présenter une demande, consultez :

Financement des immobilisations : Le principe de Jordan et les services à l'enfance et à la famille des Premières Nations

Programmes connexes

Dernières nouvelles

Date de modification :