Drugs and pharmacy benefits

Find information about coverage for prescription drugs and over-the-counter products under the Non-Insured Health Benefits (NIHB) program.

On this page

About drugs and pharmacy benefits

The program covers prescription and over-the-counter medications that are:

Exception drugs are not listed in the drug benefit list but may be approved in special circumstances.

The program provides eligible clients with coverage for benefits not otherwise available under federal, provincial, territorial or private health insurance.

Drug benefit list

The Drug Benefit List is a listing of the drugs provided as a benefit by the Non-Insured Health Benefits (NIHB) Program. The listed drugs are those primarily used in a home or ambulatory setting.

The NIHB Drug Benefit list is available online by visiting Express Scripts Canada's NIHB claims processing site. Once at the page, select  EN : English or  FR : French at the top of the page to select the language. Express Scripts Canada provides claims processing and related services under contract to Indigenous Services Canada.

The purpose of the Drug Benefit List is to:

The online Drug Benefit List is updated daily. It is easy to search using the brand or chemical name of the medication.

The PDF version of the Drug Benefit List, which links from this page, does not contain the most recent information, and will be archived. In its place, Express Scripts Canada will be making a printable version available on their website as a companion to the online version.

The information contained in the Non-Insured Health Benefits Drug Benefit List requires knowledgeable interpretation and is intended primarily for professional health care practitioners, pharmacies, hospitals and organizations associated with the manufacture, distribution and use of pharmaceutical preparations.

How to access drugs and pharmacy benefits

You can access the drugs and pharmacy benefits from a licensed pharmacy.

A prescription from a licensed practitioner is required for any listed drug to be processed as a benefit. Practitioners are those people authorized to prescribe drugs within the scope of practice in their province or territory.

Providers who are enrolled in the program generally send in claims to bill the program directly. This means you do not have to pay a deductible or co-payment. You will need to show client identification in order for providers to bill the program directly.

Express Scripts Canada administers claims on behalf of the program.

Related links

Date modified:

Prestations pour médicaments et prestations pharmaceutiques

Renseignez-vous sur les médicaments sur ordonnance et les produits en vente libre qui sont couverts par le programme des services de santé non assurés (SSNA).

Sur cette page

À propos des prestations pour médicaments et pharmaceutiques

Le programme couvre les médicaments sur ordonnance et en vente libre qui sont :

Les médicaments d'exception ne figurent pas sur la Liste des médicaments, mais ils peuvent être approuvés dans des circonstances spéciales.

Ce programme offre aux clients admissibles une couverture pour les prestations qui ne sont pas prévues dans d'autres régimes d'assurance-maladie fédéraux, provinciaux, territoriaux ou privés.

Liste des médicaments

La Liste des médicaments contient les médicaments couverts par le programme des services de santé non assurés (SSNA). Les médicaments répertoriés sur cette liste sont des médicaments surtout utilisés à domicile ou dans un environnement de soins ambulatoires.

Afin de connaître la Liste des médicaments couverts par le programme des SSNA, consultez la page de traitement des demandes de paiement au titre du programme des SSNA d'Express Scripts Canada. Une fois sur la page, sélectionnez  FR : français ou  EN : anglais en haut de la page pour choisir la langue. Express Scripts Canada fournit des services de traitement des demandes de paiement et des services connexes en vertu d'un contrat conclu avec Services aux Autochtones Canada.

Les objectifs de la Liste des médicaments sont les suivants :

La Liste des médicaments du programme des SSNA est mise à jour quotidiennement. La recherche est facile si vous utilisez le nom commercial ou le nom chimique du médicament.

La version PDF de la Liste des médicaments, dont le lien se trouve sur cette page, ne contient pas les informations les plus récentes, et sera archivée. À sa place, Express Scripts Canada ajoutera une version imprimable à la version en ligne.

Les renseignements contenus dans la Liste des médicaments du programme des SSNA nécessitent une interprétation avertie et sont uniquement destinés aux professionnels de la santé, pharmacies, hôpitaux et organisations impliquées dans la fabrication, la distribution et l'utilisation de préparations pharmaceutiques.

Comment obtenir les prestations pour médicaments et pharmaceutiques

Vous pouvez toucher aux prestations pour médicaments et aux prestations pharmaceutiques d'une pharmacie autorisée.

Pour qu'un médicament répertorié soit admissible, il faut qu'il ait été prescrit par un praticien autorisé, c'est-à-dire une personne autorisée à prescrire des médicaments dans le cadre de sa pratique, dans sa province ou son territoire.

En règle générale, les fournisseurs qui sont inscrits auprès du programme envoient directement leurs factures au programme. Cela signifie que vous n'avez pas à payer une franchise ou quote-part. Toutefois, vous serez tenu de présenter des renseignements d'identification des bénéficiaires afin que les fournisseurs puissent envoyer leurs factures directement au programme.

Express Scripts Canada gère les demandes de paiement pour le compte du programme.

Liens connexes

Date de modification :